We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Orbitz.comUS$ 161*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 518: English reviews
Start your review of Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
 Click to rate
Williamsburg, VA
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location on corner of Monticello and St. Paul. Free wifi. I was upgraded to a king suite which was nice. Was disappointed that they charge for parking now, (I think it was $10) and that the rates vary depending on the month. Room in April was about $30 more expensive than the same room in February.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaspardRueben
Texas
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This is an older hotel (formerly The Golden Triangle in the 70s & 80s) .... I work long hours at a hospital in the city, & I come & go at weird hours when on call. I've been here several months now; Ms. Kathryn - the house keeper on my hall is awesome! Mr. Eric & the front desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grambo123
About Hotel's Favourite Review
EricWP2, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

We genuinely appreciate your loyalty and for acknowledging our staff. You are a guest that every hotel staff loves to serve. We work hard as a team to provide the changes and service that you experience each day. Thank you for recognizing our efforts. You are always welcome here at Wyndham Garden.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I checked in to my room, and found that my bedsheets and pillow cases were dirty. Called front desk, was transferred to manager, who suggested sending up someone to change the sheets for me. I requested a new room, as at that point I doubted that any other part of the room was even cleaned. They eventually changed my room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mananik90
Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for location - graduation at the Scope which is across the street. Rented one room and my son and wife stayed in another. First the good things - Staff had decent attitude and tried to be helpful, but there did not seem to have been given the tools. WiFi seemed functional. Waitress at breakfast (the only staffer seen) had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
EricWP2, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

I do apologize that we didn't meet your level of expectation; however, we will use your feedback to make the necessary improvements to satisfy future guests. Thank you for you feedback and congratulations on your graduation.

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel as a whole looks old. From the wallpapper to the carpet, everything is old. Our room has not been kept up. The beds were VERY OLD and uncomfortable. The bathroom was falling apart, sink counter coming off the wall. Were there just 1 night (thankfully). Will not.go back.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James N
EricWP2, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

We do take it personally that you didn't feel comfortable because we strive to provide comfort. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected. We will use your feedback to strive harder to make a more comfortable experience for other guests. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 weeks on business and had no wifi on the 9th floor.. It was a serious problem for the first 3 days and i almost gave up until Geneva at the front desk worked with me on a slow day to move me to another floor with wonderful access. It took several rooms but she was patient and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony Q
EricWP2, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are constantly striving to make the total experience better for each. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an CPOA event here last night. The staff from the bartender Amber to the service staff in the kitchen were awesome. Angelo from the management team was flexible and helped with the event from start to finish. We would to host another event here. Signed A very happy MCPO

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jumont s
EricWP2, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

We enjoy planning events and making sure every element comes together to produce a joyous event for you. Angelo works with exuberance to make sure our staff is prepared and informed to make sure your guests have great memories. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you when it's time to plan your next event.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a room and was told that my bank card would not be charged until my visit, which is next month. Of course, my card was charged. I wasn't aware of it and a check bounced! When we called to speak to the manager, they were always in a meeting and our calls were never returned.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
EricWP2, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

There are certain reservations that permit us to charge in advance. I am the front office manager and I don't recall receiving a message to give you a call. I would be glad to discuss this with you. My name is Eric Powell, and my extension is 7187

Cypress_Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mold on window sill and where carpet met the wall. Door opens into bathroom in CLOSE proximity to the toilet. Television was small and had poor reception. If you NEED hotel provided WIFI don't stay at this hotel. The name has changed since my last visit. The Dr Seuss styled lobby is still there and still garish. The pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CypressTX_Traveler
EricWP2, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

I do apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations; however, we are consistently trying to improve. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Upon my stay I encounterd a lady in a burgundy shirt whos name was Neva and when I arrived neva asked me was I checking in and for me to enjoy my stay. Each day I saw Neva she Gave me an a inviting smile, asked me.if I was OK and if I needed anything let her know. Upon leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tiaswift17
EricWP2, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us. Neva is a true gem, and we sincerely appreciate all of her hard work and service. We look forward to greeting you with open arms again on your next visit.

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
1.2 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
1.0 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
8.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
10.9 km away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thank you for visiting our TripAdvisor page! Our hotel was renovated in 2008 and we are located in the wonderful heart of Downtown Norfolk's famous Art District, with convenient access to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. We are accessible to the highway and located just 5 miles from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). Our rooms are newly furnished with refrigerators and microwaves in every room! We are delighted that you would take the time to visit us or if you have already stayed with our property, we invite you to tell us about your experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Address: 700 Monticello Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-2517 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: ₹ 8,110 - ₹ 14,338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was happy to have a room near the elevator, and it was quiet to boot.”
GaspardRueben, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Do not come”
thomaspY5734QY, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“one of the best places to be”
ricoayala37, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I've stayed at this hotel on 5-6 previous occasions and every room I stayed in was excellent”
eugenearmstrongusn, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“11th Floor...Beautiful view!!!”
dwhevy, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 161* /night
View Deal
CheapTicketsUS$ 161
Booking.comUS$ 161
Expedia.comUS$ 161
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates