We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Residence InnUS$ 217*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 249*
US$ 217*
Great Deal
US$ 249*
US$ 240*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 313: English reviews
Start your review of Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
 Click to rate
North Babylon, New York
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room was clean, neat and comfortable. A couple of minor issues that were quickly corrected. The self parking is across the street, but you should unload and load your car by the hotel. The main entrance to the hotel and access to the garage is from the back door. The breakfast is edible, but if your there for leisure,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Amsterdam, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the same day. Reasonable rate. Cost for parking was $18.00 in a parking lot across the street and to be honest, did not feel too safe leaving the car there as there were a group of guys drinking in the parking lot. Diagonal to the Chrysler Art and Glass Museum (very nice museum to visit). Breakfast was average and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelsa B
Theresa T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank You for taking time to comment on your stay. I am glad to know that it was comfortable and reasonable for you. Please join us again, when your travels bring you back to Norfolk.

Burlington, NJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made reservations for the weekend of the International Tatoo in February. We chose this hotel in particular because it was within walking distance to the Scope Center. Unfortunately we ran into a problem of our own which forced us to drive much later than expected. We called the hotel in advance and let them know we would be arriving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank newjerseyfamily
Eric C, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. I am sorry we ran into the situation but I am glad we were able to take care of you. The Residence Inn Downtown strives for excellent service. Thank you for your business.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was just OK. It had all of the conveniences of a Residence Inn, however, my hotel room smelled very musty and wet. Parking was in the garage across the street for $18 per night. Overall, I was not very impressed with this hotel. I would definitely choose another hotel next time I'm in town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hope W
Eric C, General Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In all aspects the people working the hotel are fantastic. Lawanda and Robert in Food and Beverage are amazing, Meghan and Wences behind the desk, Cheryle and Leteaka do an amazing job taking care of room service. Thank you to all those people! They are making my 3-month stay feel like I'm at home :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cameron D
Theresa T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay. Our staff is happy to help make your stay as pleasant as possible, during your home away from home stay. We appreciate having you as our guest. Thank You Again -

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tonights Mix was Great! The hamburgers were done just right. Lawanda did a wonderful job as she always does taking care of all of us. She works hard to make the mix look so very nice. All the hotel staff does a great job of making us feel like it's our home being away from home for so long. Special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip M
Theresa T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to you staying with us again. I will pass your comments on to our staff. Looking forward to seeing you in the near future. Thanks Again for staying with us

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been staying at the hotel long term and the staff have been incredible!! The free breakfast and free appetizers and goodies during the weeknight are awesome! Lawanda keeps us taken care of and makes us feel at home. If we ever need anything all of the staff are friendly and so accommodating! Room is awesome!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meand3feb99
Theresa T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Great comments like yours is what helps motivate us to be the best we can be for our guest. I appreciate you sending such good comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass them along for all to see. Thank You

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great social, food was excellent. Ms Lawanda was an excellent host, very attentive to everyone's needs. The hotel rooms are very nice, and clean first time at this location. Cant wait to see what tomorrow will bring.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin D
Theresa T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the wonderful experience you had while staying with us. Join us again in the near future to see more of what we have to offer. I will pass your nice comments on to our staff.

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Great stay! In town to see the Broadway musical Motown at Chrysler Hall. The hotel was within walking distance of the venue. The room/bathroom was nice and clean. Checked in via Marriott's Mobil app, check in/check out were quick and easy. Teresa at the front desk is definitely an asset to the hotel! Her warm welcoming personality made our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelly J
Theresa T, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the hotel. We pride ourselves on making your stay as pleasurable as it was for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Norfolk. Regards -

Moneta, Virginia
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

I usually really like Marriott hotels, but this one needs a bit of help. The good part: Location is great. Rooms are what one would expect. Staff was excellent and friendly. The Not So Good: The breakfast bar was too small and running out of food. This is a large facility and seating was also peaked. Parking is high priced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MonetaMan
Theresa T, Manager at Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. As you mentioned, we are /Will be going through a soft upgrade/renovation starting with the replacement of the chairs. Please join us to see our new upgrades coming soon.

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.9 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
1.0 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.5 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
1.2 km away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
7.7 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Brambleton Ave in Downtown Norfolk, VA, the Residence Inn by Marriott Norfolk Downtown offers ideal accommodations for short or long stays in Norfolk. Guests will be at ease when relocating or traveling for a long-term project in Norfolk. The Norfolk hotel's studio, one, and two bedroom suites offer separate living, eating and sleeping areas with full kitchens. Plug in your laptop and enjoy free wireless Internet while watching the Flat screen TV in your suite. Enjoy free breakfast daily, evening "Mix" various nights of the week, a grocery shopping service, a heated indoor pool and on-site fitness center. Residence Inn is close to Sentara Norfolk General Hospital, Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, EVMS, Dominion Enterprises, and Norfolk Southern. You'll be blocks from Norfolk's top eateries, nightlife, culture, and shopping. The Spirit of Norfolk, Chrysler Hall, Scope, the Norva, Ted Constant Convocation Center and MacArthur Center Mall are all located a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown

Address: 227 W Brambleton Ave, Norfolk, VA 23510-1555
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: ₹ 9,537 - ₹ 14,467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Norfolk
#7 Family Hotel in Norfolk
#8 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
South Chesterfield, United States
2 months ago
11 months ago
Manama, Bahrain

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They allow pets in certain rooms for an extra fee.”
nelsab2015, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have a nice view.”
newjerseyfamily, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a water facing suite.”
RosemarySnead, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room close to the York St., Boush St. corner.”
billmU6932NM, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Odd numbered rooms are on the York Street side, a little quieter in my opinion.”
TallDogs, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Residence Inn
US$ 217* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 249
Orbitz.comUS$ 240
Hotwire.comUS$ 240
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates