We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Salisbury, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I don't know how the health department hasn't shut this place down yet! We were in our room for 10 min before going downstairs to immediately check out. The lobby is pretty but DECEIVING! Upon walking in, it smells damp and dirty. As we walked the hall toward our room, we noticed that EVERY SINGLE door plate lock was broken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bcsinger25
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 26 September 2016

My family and I have stayed at this hotel several times---so, while it certainly is not the newest or best hotel in town, it definitely serves its purpose at an outstanding price...clearly, we've like it enough to returned here on multiple occasions. The hotel has been around for quite some time (it was once a very fancy Ramada back in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMB1209
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

On Behalf of the entire staff here at Point Plaza I would like to that you for that awesome review. As the hotel is an older property we do take pride in keeping rooms and walk ways clean and safe for all guest. This help the staff feel as if their hard work is noticed and this will be a...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I arrived with a party of 5 and was downgraded to a double due to a water leak. We were never notified prior to arrival about the issue. There was no space for a roll out bed so we just made do for 4 nights. The hotel was dirty and rundown. It resembled more of a motel. They have roaches...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth A
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Newport News as we brought a student back to CNU late at night. When we arrived we were given vague directions on how to get to our room. The lighting is so poor on the outside we had to go back to front desk to find our room. The outside rooms are for long staying customers. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

I booked a suite for my family of 5. Got there to be assigned a double room on the first floor near the lobby. I was told that the hotel had a flooding that resulted in a low number of suites available and that someone was suppose to contact me prior to my arrival, but they never did. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maddy D
Reviewed 8 August 2016

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend as we were in the area for a large Softball tournament. We arrived late Friday evening and when we got to our room it was not the cleanest and smelled. The cabinet that held the TV was broken so the TV kept sliding out in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslie M
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Very nice hotel with a very customer service staff that will accommodate the guest in a very professional manner. I enjoyed the first floor room with easy access to the front lobby and the side door to enter my room. Free breakfast is always good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allen M
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My family and i stayed for a week Pool pictures are very deceiving housekeeping sucks breakfast was OK loved the banana but muffins front desk staff was very nice they seem to have long term residents but there is one that was very very creepy!! He lives in the first apartment on second level facing front parking lot He kept...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dahniyah H
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you had while being here. We take pride in our property and I will definitely look into these issues you have addressed. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention.

Reviewed 11 July 2016

First and foremost, I will say that the stay for two nights was relatively inexpensive but this was a case that you really get what you pay for (or rather, don't pay for). I selected this hotel based on the price and the 3.5 rating I read on Tripadvisor and also the photos. I was looking for a hotel for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valerie S
Kelli L, General Manager at Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize about the issues you faced at check in. We take pride in our hotel and I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention so they can be addressed. Thank you again for taking the time out to write the...

Reviewed 30 June 2016

Besides sharing space with roaches and waterbugs, our TV was messed up for half our stay which caused us to move to another room. HUGE INCONVENIENCE!!!! The indoor "heated" pool is NOT heated at all and was actually really cold and even their maitenance man admitted it to me saying it was a LIE!!!!!! Last but definitly not least, I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alicia L

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport News hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
2.1 km away
Jameson Inn & Suites
Jameson Inn & Suites
#13 of 40 in Newport News
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
4.8 km away
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Courtyard Newport News Airport
#5 of 40 in Newport News
226 reviews
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
Comfort Inn Hotel Newport News
#7 of 40 in Newport News
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel

Address: 950 J Clyde Morris Blvd, Newport News, VA 23601-1004
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Price Range: ₹ 3,452 - ₹ 5,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Plaza Hotel Newport News
Point Plaza Hotel And Conference
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Point Plaza Suites and Conference Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is a very good choice”
 of 5 bubbles AllenM540, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Is there any?”
 of 5 bubbles L2212ILvaleries, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles KatNMan223, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“4th floor is where all the king beds are”
  • Picture of the window frame broken
 of 5 bubbles gingerannlanier, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“1st floor pool, exercise room, and laundry.”
 of 5 bubbles BLParker, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay