We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Colonial

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Colonial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

637 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Showing 474: English reviews
New York City
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The room was large, lovely and well air condition, The staff was helpful and friendly, the pools cool and refreshing. The breakfast was the best we had in Nicaragua. The paintings in the lobby and public areas were so good we are trying to track down the artis

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynBoomer
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Brooklyn, Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate you choosing us above other Hotels in Granada and hope you can return and stay here again. Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Reviewed 2 January 2017

My fiance and I stayed here for five days through the new year. It was a really pleasant and nice place to be! The room was spacious, and we had a nice patio balcony above the courtyard. The hotel is right off Central Park and in a great location near many landmarks and restaurants. The hotel service is very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flgator8
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment here in TripAdvisor. We work hard to make our guests happy and knowing we have done our job is the best feeling! Thank you for choosing us above all other hotels and we hope you can stay with us again in the future! Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This hotel is clean and very nice. it is located in the plaza. The breakfast in excellent. The pool side drinks at the bar are also very nice. There are 2 pools. The rooms are large and the beds were comfy. The management and staff were extremely attentive. I really enjoyed my stay here. I would book it again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Sharon , Thank you so much for making a comment about your stay. We are happy to hear you liked your room and our beds, delicious breakfast and all our Colonial Team. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. Please come back to Granada soon! Regards, Laura Acevedo

North Saanich, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I have stayed here several times and I am never disappointed. Close to the central square,the colourful decor, quiet ambience and friendly staff make it a pleasure to return. Choose a back room if possible as it is away from any street noise and they are also located around a lovely pool. Breakfast is an option but is not included...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary G
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Mary, Thank you very much for writing us a comment, it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us again. Hopefully you can return to Granada soon! Regards, Laura Acevedi

Reviewed 3 December 2016

When checking out at 530 am to fly home we were unable to use a major credit card! Even after a call to the bank that issued the credit card( and a$ 10 long distance fee from the hotel) and assurances there was no problem with the card the hotel staff merely shrugged and indicated they had a machine but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Brenda, Thank you very much for your comment we very much evaluated this situation. First we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that occurred at check out, we understand completely going to the ATM at this hour is a real hassle. Our Hotel of course accepts all mayor credit cards, all hotel guests pay with card as...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 23 November 2016

My mom and I walked into Hotel Colonial with no reservation after a bad experience at another hotel, and the woman at the front desk was very helpful in getting us a room. She also helped us book a taxi to the airport for very early the next morning. We stayed in Room 12, which had two queen beds, air...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristi K
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Kristi, thank you very much for making a comment about us in Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that we where able to offer you the great experience of visiting our beautiful city. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience somewhere else, but we are happy that it led you to us! Thank you and...

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with our two children. Excellent location for all things to do in Granada. The staff was always there to help and work with you for any tour needed. We chose the night volcano tour. Julian, our tour guide, was very informative and educated us on all the Granada history. Definitely stay here again when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob n
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rob, Thank you very much sir for staying in Hotel Colonial, we are happy to hear you liked our location and staff most of all. We hope you can return and visit our wonderful country again and of course stay with us! Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel was a last minute booking and was in a great location just off the main square. Despite that it was quiet inside and had two pools plus comfortable rooms with air con. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to major attractions in the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank yo so much for your comment! We are glad that you stayed with us and liked our Hotel and kind staff. You must come back to Granada and stay more nights with us :) . Thank you again and we hope you return soon. Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I was in Managua for two weeks on business, and wanted to spend my weekend in Granada. I chose to stay at Hotel Colonial because it was close to the Central Park, and to La Calzada (the strip with the bars) and the online pictures looked pretty. To be honest, I didn't expect much from a hotel where the nicest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alyssa W
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Allyssa, Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations in a very positive way! Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you can return again and stay with us soon. Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

3 of us stayed in Granada on our way back from San Juan del Sur to Managua. We only stayed the one night but next time will stay longer for sure. The Colonial is located right near shops and the square where there are lots of vendors and just a great atmosphere. The staff let us keep our bags in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
hotelcolonialgranada, Director de Recepción at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Cheryl, Thank you for your comment, you definitely have to come back and stay more nights to Enjoy the full Granada experience! We are glad to hear you liked your room and out staff, please come back soon! Regards, Laura Acevedo

256 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (226)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Price Range: ₹ 5,635 - ₹ 9,716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Colonial staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Colonial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cannot comment as we didn't visit the other rooms but all look AOK”
W1139NYpaulk, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 27 has a larger outdoor balcony area but is 3 flights of stairs.”
livingtheo, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I upgraded to a king bed and got a room in the back which is quieter and on the 2nd floor. There are no elevators.”
808josephg, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Third floor has great views but steep stairs to climb”
BeachFront2015, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor was great for us but no views our of windows available.”
macraw4d13, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5