We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Colonial

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Colonial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel Colonial is a great place to stay in Granada. Julian, who works for the hotel as a driver and guide, is fantastic! He drove us all over Granada and had tons of expertise on great places to see and when to see them. A hurricane his Nicaragua when I was visiting and that altered my plans to go from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is very nice. It includes an a la carte breakfast that is nice. Service is good and place is very clean. The surrounding is not as clean. It is next to La Calzada, were there is a lot of night life. However we found hard to find good food around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
New York City
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was large, lovely and well air condition, The staff was helpful and friendly, the pools cool and refreshing. The breakfast was the best we had in Nicaragua. The paintings in the lobby and public areas were so good we are trying to track down the artis

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynBoomer
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Brooklyn, Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate you choosing us above other Hotels in Granada and hope you can return and stay here again. Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiance and I stayed here for five days through the new year. It was a really pleasant and nice place to be! The room was spacious, and we had a nice patio balcony above the courtyard. The hotel is right off Central Park and in a great location near many landmarks and restaurants. The hotel service is very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flgator8
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment here in TripAdvisor. We work hard to make our guests happy and knowing we have done our job is the best feeling! Thank you for choosing us above all other hotels and we hope you can stay with us again in the future! Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is clean and very nice. it is located in the plaza. The breakfast in excellent. The pool side drinks at the bar are also very nice. There are 2 pools. The rooms are large and the beds were comfy. The management and staff were extremely attentive. I really enjoyed my stay here. I would book it again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Sharon , Thank you so much for making a comment about your stay. We are happy to hear you liked your room and our beds, delicious breakfast and all our Colonial Team. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. Please come back to Granada soon! Regards, Laura Acevedo

North Saanich, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I have stayed here several times and I am never disappointed. Close to the central square,the colourful decor, quiet ambience and friendly staff make it a pleasure to return. Choose a back room if possible as it is away from any street noise and they are also located around a lovely pool. Breakfast is an option but is not included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Mary, Thank you very much for writing us a comment, it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us again. Hopefully you can return to Granada soon! Regards, Laura Acevedi

Reviewed 3 December 2016

When checking out at 530 am to fly home we were unable to use a major credit card! Even after a call to the bank that issued the credit card( and a$ 10 long distance fee from the hotel) and assurances there was no problem with the card the hotel staff merely shrugged and indicated they had a machine but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Brenda, Thank you very much for your comment we very much evaluated this situation. First we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that occurred at check out, we understand completely going to the ATM at this hour is a real hassle. Our Hotel of course accepts all mayor credit cards, all hotel guests pay with card as...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 23 November 2016

My mom and I walked into Hotel Colonial with no reservation after a bad experience at another hotel, and the woman at the front desk was very helpful in getting us a room. She also helped us book a taxi to the airport for very early the next morning. We stayed in Room 12, which had two queen beds, air...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristi K
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Hello Mrs. Kristi, thank you very much for making a comment about us in Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that we where able to offer you the great experience of visiting our beautiful city. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience somewhere else, but we are happy that it led you to us! Thank you and...

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with our two children. Excellent location for all things to do in Granada. The staff was always there to help and work with you for any tour needed. We chose the night volcano tour. Julian, our tour guide, was very informative and educated us on all the Granada history. Definitely stay here again when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob n
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rob, Thank you very much sir for staying in Hotel Colonial, we are happy to hear you liked our location and staff most of all. We hope you can return and visit our wonderful country again and of course stay with us! Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel was a last minute booking and was in a great location just off the main square. Despite that it was quiet inside and had two pools plus comfortable rooms with air con. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to major attractions in the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gh67
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank yo so much for your comment! We are glad that you stayed with us and liked our Hotel and kind staff. You must come back to Granada and stay more nights with us :) . Thank you again and we hope you return soon. Best Regards, Laura Acevedo

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#5 of 43 in Granada
961 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
637 reviews
0.7 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 43 in Granada
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#3 of 43 in Granada
629 reviews
7.6 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Parque Central 25 varas al Oeste, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Price Range: ₹ 6,758 - ₹ 10,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Colonial staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Colonial staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in the back are very quiet ..”
 of 5 bubbles 554MaryG, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room, location is Awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My room had a view of the cathedral so i felt the presence of the city while staying there.”
 of 5 bubbles jomichellegarcia, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Mine was on the upper level and four-poster bed at a cheap price!”
 of 5 bubbles john6001, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Low level near the restaurant so you can be the first one for breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 532maricelat, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay