We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort

Save
Share
26/3 Moo 4 Klong Prao Beach, Ko Chang 23170 Thailand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 67
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/03/22
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$ 67
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1594)
Pool & Beach (407)
Room & Suite (387)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 90 hotels in Ko Chang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Found on Klong Prao Beach - Koh Chang's west coast, Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort is framed by lofty green palm trees and the deep blue waters of the seascape. The natural surroundings of the resort and its rustic-styled cabanas ooze tranquillity yet you will enjoy a wealth of facilities and activities including an oceanfront swimming pool, a swimming pool with children’s pool and waterslide tucked into the gardens, a spa, a fitness centre, beach sports, kayaking, and water sports. Snorkelling and diving are available on request. Families and younger guests are well taken care of, with two aged specific kids’ clubs, a games area with table tennis, and family-friendly rooms and cabanas with ample living space (37-67 sqm.). The cabanas use natural materials and thatched roofs to blend seamlessly with the surroundings. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the resort. The resort is easily reached from the pier via the island's ring road (approximately 30 minutes).
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Charming
Languages Spoken
Thai
1315Reviews79Q+A74Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 731
  • 370
  • 145
  • 47
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DenBJr wrote a review Nov 2021
19 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife and I decided to go to Koh Chang for our 9-year anniversary. Since it was our first time to the island, we decided to try out several hotels there and one of them was Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort. We were excited because 9 years ago, my wife and I had our wedding at the fantastic Centara Grand Ladprao Bangkok and this was a way for us to relive our wedding again. After taking a tour of the place, we wanted to book a Superior room with a high floor balcony since we did not want to stay in a Cabana (which according to their fact sheet, these wooded huts were built in 2005) and the superior rooms were located close to the Splash pool which we wanted to enjoy. Due to low occupancy at that time, the front desk manager, Ton, informed us that this was not possible, but if we booked it with him, he would upgrade us to a garden view cabana. OK fine, that was a nice gesture but not our first choice. We even cancelled a cheaper priced Agoda booking for this "upgrade" as per his suggestion. Even after mentioning it was our anniversary, we were put in a cabana with twin beds since that was "what was available" which does not make sense because of the low occupancy. OK fine. The location is wonderful, very peaceful, and the trees are filled with exotic birds that fly around in the morning. Sitting out on the Cabana terrace with a cup of coffee in the morning or with a cold drink in the evening was quite relaxing. Housekeeping and pool staff are very friendly and they make you feel at home. Breakfast was delicious but be careful of the birds that want to steal your piece of bread! The place has a "rustic feel" that might not be for everyone but I enjoyed the ambience. The rooms are expectedly old but clean and comfortable. The outdoor shower was fun but my cabana did not have any place to put the soap and shampoo and I had to put them on the wooden steps instead. It might just be me but the mosquitos seldom bothered me. Maybe it is the ponds that run through the resort with fish that keeps their population down. However, we were disappointed with this entire experience. I will not go into detail in this public forum but additional miscommunication with the front desk staff, Mr. Ton, ruined it. We ended up leaving early and moving on to other similar hotels in Kai Bae and White Sand beach which gave us a more romantic experience for the rest of our trip. It is partly my fault because I should have read the fine print but none of it would have happened if Mr. Ton was clear and clarified our agreement from the very beginning, and it came off as an obvious and clear deception from my point of view. I have never been treated this way in any other Centara locations. We still love the Centara brand, but I will never waste my money or stay in this resort again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you can, take a tour of the place before you book the rooms to make sure it fits your...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pius Luechinger, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear DenBJr Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your stay while on Koh Chang and for your constructive feedback regarding your stay. We are happy to know that you consider the location is wonderful and very peaceful, the Housekeeping and pool staff are very friendly and they make you feel at home and Breakfast was delicious. You were interested in a Superior Room. All our Superior have two single beds. Khun Ton assumed that you prefer two single beds as well for the Room Upgrade as this room category was your preferred one. Khun Ton informed you that the Flash Sale Promotion which you referring was only available via the Hotel and not through Agoda and applicable for a minimum of 2 nights stay was required. As you asked a stay for only 1 night, Khun Ton offered you a lower rate than would have been applicable for the special Flash Deal. Khun Ton informed me that there was not much discussion at check out, just showing you again the condition of the Flash Deal and you just mentioned you would rather stay somewhere else. As I know Khun Ton, I am sure that Khun Ton was not rude or treat you you badly. We apologize if you felt this way. If I can be any further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly (gmckc@chr.co.th). We thank you for your kind understanding. Best regards Pius M. Luechinger General Manager
Read more
14 contributions
Good vibes sea so good I love to sleep near da beach I love this bed so good soft and completely sleep till morning this place good for family coupple someone need to rest pool is good too Not far from 7-11 you can walk
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Pius Luechinger, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Timetotravelthailand, Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay while on Koh Chang. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the vacation a lot. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the Centara Koh Chang Tropicana in the near future. Best regards Pornpak Sirisurak Front Office Manager
Read more
Tanz wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions15 helpful votes
I love the atmosphere inside the resort. I feel relax and really like staying in an island. Nature, trees and light delighted me a lot. Staffs are enough for the serving service inside the big resort and they all are so kind and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I love the bungalow
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pius Luechinger, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear tanztalot Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your recent stay while on Koh Chang. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the Tropical Feeling and Atmosphere and the nature and that you were able to relax and that you enjoy. Also appreciate your nice comments towards our kind and helpful staff. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the Centara Koh Chang Tropicana in the near future. Best regards Pius M. Luechinger General Manager
Read more
Russell B wrote a review Oct 2021
Bangkok, Thailand107 contributions28 helpful votes
Given all the problems of this year we were not disappointed with our stay here. We had one of the larger bungalows with 2 double beds and they're well decorated, have good facilities, and all you'd expect from a Centara resort. The minor problem we had was fixed quickly, though we never did get back one of our umbrellas that another guest must have taken to deal with the daily downpours. Some suggestions for the rooms: 1. Better lighting. Gets pretty dark in the evenings and while you might prefer the romantic aspect of dim lights, when you're looking for stuff it can be a pain. 2. Shower - they're outside. Yes, you can shower in the bath, but you have to hold the shower hose. I'd suggest putting in a proper shower attachment above the bath and a curtain. It's all very well having a shower outside but when it's pouring down it's not fun and the wooden floors are very slippy. I won't comment too much on the overall state of the resort. We all know that times have been difficult but there are some areas that really need attention. These are firstly the furniture around the restaurant. It's falling apart and needs replacing. Secondly, we know that Koh Chang is renowned for its rainfall so parts of the garden tend to flood quickly. Perhaps some upgrade to the drainage there. And finally we were a little disappointed with the lack of cleaning of the bigger pool with the slide and poolside bar. Every morning the water was full of leaves and bits of foliage that had blown in. I appreciate it's an endless task but it only took us about 10 minutes each morning to gather up all the leaves and stuff and take them out. Not a big job but one that no one seems to have responsibility for. If we have one major criticism it's to do with the menu options and straws. If you order at the restaurant and sit next to the pool at one of the restaurant tables, the menu (QR code scan) is larger and prices include service and tax. If you move 2 meters and sit next to the pool, it's a different menu and doesn't include service and tax. But the food is exactly the same. We ordered a meal from the children's menu at the restaurant on one day and paid about 150 baht. The next day we ordered the same food sitting by the pool and were charged 295 baht as the children's menu is not available there. But it was exactly the same meal - we have photos to show that. That is pretty unfair by any standards and we did mention it. So, you have been warned. Also, when you order a drink it comes with a plastic wrapped straw. All well and good except that it's often windy and removing the plastic from a straw in a high wind means it will end up on the floor or somewhere else. Suggestions - either stop serving plastic-wrapped straws or have the waiting staff take them back immediately. We found far too many discarded bits of plastic around the pool and on the floors and again no one seemed to bothered to collect it up. Overall, it's still a good place to stay. As more visitors arrive perhaps these minor quibbles will be dealt with. But they do need to sort out the menus and plastic waste now.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Thoroughly check the wooden decking on outdoor showers as some of it seems to be coming loose.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pius Luechinger, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Responded 26 Oct 2021
Dear Russell B. Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your stay while on Koh Chang and many thanks for your constructive feedback you have given us. As you mentioned, we had some 2 difficult years behind us and we finally see some positive signs coming up. We are now in the process of re-open all the facilities, some outlets, activities and rooms were closed. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the menu. Pool and Restaurant menu have the same prices. Only difference was that the Kids Menu was only shown in the Restaurant QR. code. Of course, the children menu should be also available around the pool, we will make sure that this will be adjusted ASAP. Our group policy is to provide straws only on request. Regarding the lighting in the room, we are in the process of adding more lights. Regarding the shower in the bathroom, each room is different but we will have a look what can be done. Our two swimming pools are cleaned daily early in the morning. Once again, many thanks for having chosen our resort for your stay and your feedback. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon to the Centara Koh Chang Tropicana. Best regards Pius M. Luechinger General Manager
Read more
Natjayne wrote a review Oct 2021
Bangkok, Thailand435 contributions204 helpful votes
+1
I was a little disappointed by this hotel going by other reviews. At the moment (I expect due to Covid) they just do not have enough staff for the large number of guests. Breakfast ranges from crowded to chaos; it’s often hard to find a clean place to sit, food runs out frequently and there are long queues for the coffee machine. The machines in the gym had cobwebs hanging off the handles and felt grubby, and there is green slippery slime on the paths which makes walking hazardous when rainy and needs pressure washing off. The room is not as nice as it looks in the photos online; it’s dark and the bathroom is old, damp and dirty. Also, the beach outside is nothing special and is not cared for by the hotel. I saw the same cigarette ends in the sand right outside for days in a row. Positives are that the location is walking distance to some good restaurants/shops, the resort gardens are nice, food in the Centara’s restaurant is good and reasonably priced (although they don’t always have everything on the menu available) and the 2 swimming pools are nice and big with many sun-beds and big towels. Also there is a half-price happy hour 4-6pm as well as a scheme where you are awarded 150 baht “green” credit if you skip having your room made up. Staff are friendly but seem run off their feet a lot of the time, which means service is inconsistent. Currently this hotel has super discounted rates so it’s pretty full (packed on weekends). Therefore it seems like it’s time to hire more staff, do some training and upkeep.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pius Luechinger, General Manager at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Dear Natjayne1 Many thanks for having chosen our resort for your stay while on Koh Chang and for your constructive feedback. As you can understand, the last two years were not easy and we had to work with a limited number of staff, which worked quite well due to not so high occupancy. However, since most of the restriction were removed and the "Travel Together" Promotion by the Thai government has started, everyone wants to travel again and the occupancy jumped in October. We are hiring new staff, but hiring good staff is not that easy and we not hire anyone. All our staff work very hard to provide the best possible service during this very difficult time. We thank you very much for your kind understanding. Best regards Pius M. Luechinger General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
koh chang tropicana hotel koh chang, koh chang tropicana resort and spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Koh Chang Tropicana Resort & Spa
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo Chang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort?
Nearby attractions include Berlin Bar (1.1 km), Koh Chang Thai Navy Shrine (0.7 km), and Susy Bar (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Greco Greek Restaurant Cocktail bar, THAI DUTCH Restaurant Koh Chang, and Chantara Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.