We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Tides Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Tides Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

525 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 524: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Outstanding customer service. Breathtaking views. Excellent food at the restaurante.We stayed in one of the "old" homes, the cleaning crew needs to apply themselves. Perhaps due to the old structure, you could definitely smell the musty odor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty A
Delaware
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful place to go to relax and unwind. Away from the crowds and stress for sure. The staff is outstanding, friendly and there to assist in anyway. Rooms are comfortable and roomy. Restaurant has a great menu to accommodate any diet needs. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are great. Room service is excellent, if you want to eat in your room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DELAWHERE58
Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewed 31 December 2016

As we only live about 90 minutes from Irvington, we did not stay at The Tides Inn but it was our first visit to it for any reason. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary on Thanksgiving so we wanted to treat ourselves to some place new and with a good reputation. It was a pretty and sunny day so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DONNAandJANET
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Thanksgiving. This is one of our busier days and I guess we all just get used to working on Holidays, we then get time off when places are traditionally busiest so it has its compensations. Glad you enjoyed the food , sorry about the Pecan Pie but one item out of 100 or so...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Stayed here for three days and two nights for my companies management retreat just after Thanksgiving. The resort was build in the mid-40's and retains a lot of the charm of that era. The grounds are very well maintained and while the resort does show it's age, it has certainly been well kept and modernized without losing it's charm. All...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KenS9
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a great visit but if you were working all the time I think a revisit to enjoy all of our activities would be a good idea. Send me an email when you are coming and I can ensure you get to experience the full leisure side of the Tides. I...

Clifton, VA
Reviewed 28 November 2016

"With Koko" is key for this review. Koko is our little Morkie and this is the first time we took her with us on a trip. Being a brief getaway and being that the Tides Inn is Pet Friendly, it was a real good opportunity. The Tides Inn is indeed pet friendly. Starting with a bowl of water and another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 69dude
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Nice view, but... Not all rooms have a balcony, despite the GM's false assertion in another message. He is either lying or ignorant. Room 211 certainly does not have a balcony. The bed is nice but barely fits inside the room. The bathroom is inferior to an Econolodge. Front desk clerk was rude. We tried to check in at 2:50...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay c
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Oh dear. I do wish I had had the opportunity to speak with you wile you were here, I am sure we could have resolved matters. As your comments are at polar extremes to our other reviews I had a look at your review profile and you have been equally disparaging about each place you have visited. Your insults to...

Wytheville, Virginia
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

This is our get a way the week prior to the Thanksgiving holiday. Lovely. Incredible service. Delicious menu. Wonderful water views. They have a warm and welcoming staff. Great spa experience. Perfect for couples getting away from the businesses of work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatFarrellCoach
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Beautiful location. Stunning sunset views. Attentive staff. Northern Neck was a wonderful fall destination. Excellent meal with exception service by waiter Clovise and anniversary song by talented host. Very special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Happy Anniversary. I am glad we were able to make this a memorable trip for you, we look forward to welcoming you back. Gordon Slatford General Manager

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We stayed here 2 nights in late fall when the weather was warm and sunny. The outside dining area has a spectacular view of a cove off the Rappahannock River. We had an amazing breakfast and sunset drinks here. They have fire/propane pits to enjoy after dark and keep you warm. They have numerous activities that are included in their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel560
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had fun and we have refinished tubs and caulking since your visit. Fall can be a delightful time to visit this area and check out a few wineries during the day. We look forward to welcoming you back. Gordon Slatford General Manager.

Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We visited the tides in after the peak season. It was a lovely visit. The tides Inn is a beautiful venue. We did have an interesting problem of a fire alarm at 3 AM. We all a evacuatedthe building and eventually were allowed back in after it was discovered that it was a water leak into the fire alarm system....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamA56
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I apologize again for the little whoopsie in the night with the fire alarms. This is very rare but every hotel will get its wake up call at some time and in our case it came at 3.00am. Our first priority is life and limb and we ensure no risk to anyone before we...

242 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
7.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
31.2 km away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
318 reviews
31.2 km away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 km away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
12 reviews
1.1 km away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
201 reviews
23.7 km away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Region: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Price Range: ₹ 11,224 - ₹ 18,281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tides Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Kahala, Hawaii
5 months ago
Warrenton, Virginia
over a year ago
Kahala, Hawaii
8 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Tides Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the main building.More modern. I would imagine there is no musty odor in thee rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“any of the rooms or suites have wonderful views. Main Building rooms have large windows with the best view of Carters Creek.”
 of 5 bubbles DELAWHERE58, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For dog owners, room 175 or less is good. I think the upper floors in the same building would be even better (for example, 275, 375, etc)”
 of 5 bubbles 69dude, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just have a drink and enjoy the view.”
 of 5 bubbles 294jayc, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“both times I stayed, I enjoyed my room. I don't think there is a bad room in the place.”
 of 5 bubbles katp779, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5