We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
See the most recent reviews
Showing 448: English reviews
West New York, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 December 2013

i went here in late october to drive the skyline Drive. I stayed 2 days and my stay was excellent. The room was clean and large. The beds were very comfortable. They even had a restaurant in the hotel. "Houlihans". It was very convenient. The people at the desk were very nice and very helpful. I would stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francis123456
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

francis123456, We are always very happy to heard from satisfied customers like yourself. Thank you for leaving your comments here and thank you for your business. Safe Travels, Brent C Jackson General Manager

Street, Maryland
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The room was very nice and the people were a great help. Wish we would have stayed another night. But we only had two days to go. We would use them again. Also a restaurant in Luray name Sonny's was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri S
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

Sherri S, I am not sure about Sonny's in Luray, but our restaurant, Houlihans, is amazing! We hope you will try Houlihans next time you stay with us. Thank you for your business. Safe Travels, Brent C Jackson General Manager

Telford, PA
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows was quiet, clean & comfortable. Good restaurants were nearby...they also give a discount coupon for the restaurant on site. it was worhth driving a few miles from I 81. We would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CDinPA
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

CDinPA, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We could not be happier that you selected us from the local hotel options. We hope you will choose us again for all of your future stays. Have a happy 2014! Safe Travels, Brent C Jackson General Manager

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The drive from upstate New York took me six and a half hours to get to the Holiday Inn. What a pleasant surprise I got when I arrived. The lobby was warm and friendly and the front desk was very caring. My room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was king size with a choice soft and firm pillows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alawishes8
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

Alawishes8, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. This is certainly appreciated. I am very proud of our entire staff for a true team effort to provide you with the experience you expected and deserved. I will also share your comments with the Houlihans staff and management and I would invite you to share your...

Front Royal, Virginia
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Rooms were very clean and the beds extremely comfortable! The front desk was extremely helpful and very professional. They were able to recommend wineries, hiking trails, and superb restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area. The coffee in the room was awful......but that's the only thing that was unsatisfactory :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sbrown58
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

Sbrown58, Sorry to hear about the coffee. We understand that finding delicious coffee in a hotel room is a challenge, so please do not forget that we also offer complimentary gourmet coffee in the lobby 24-hours a day and it is always fresh. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Safe Travels, Brent...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We drove from Mooresville, NC to Front Royal with a stop at Monticello and Carter's Orchard in Virginia on the way. So it was a long day of travel and we were looking forward to dinner and a good night's sleep. Attached to the hotel is a restaurant named Houlihan's which was very good and I will review that separately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TakeAPicture-PaintIt
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

TakeAPicture-PaintIt, Thank you for this very thorough review of your recent visit. We love to know that we are providing a great location for weary travelers who are exploring the Shenandoah Valley. We look forward to your next visit. Safe Travels, Brent C Jackson General Manager

Tampa
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After driving the 105 mile length of the Skyline Drive, we were ready for a good meal and comfy bed. We found both at the Holiday Inn and Suites in Front Royal. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant, Houlihan's, ( which we've visited in other areas) was excellent for both dinner and breakfast- the portions were huge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank islandturtle
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

islandturtle, Thank you in advance for your future business in the fall. We are excited to know that we were able to provide you with a hotel that is worth returning to. Regarding the toiletries, while we are required by Holiday Inn to provide the coconut lime verbena scented products from the Signature Collection of Bath & Body Works, it...

Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for two nights recently at this property. Asked for, and received, a room on the top floor rear overlooking the golf course. Fine view. Front desk personnel were accomodating and cheerful at all times. Only down side was a very noisy heating system and a bed lamp that did not work properly. Excessive dust inside the lamp when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedSox1938
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

RedSox1938, We appreciate your recent business at the Holiday Inn Front Royal. Thank you for your visit and for your TripAdvisor review. I apologize that you had minor issues with the HVAC system in the room and the bed-side lamp. I will make sure to put a high priority in inspecting these items during our routine room inspections. If you...

Hanover, Maryland
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to check out the Skyline Drive during the fall. We live in Hanover, Maryland, so staying at a hotel was a must for us. There was a staff of one person when we arrived but she was nothing but friendly. They offered us a 1st floor room and I thought that was cool. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akiko C
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

Akiko C, Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. This is greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and I hope you enjoyed your Skyline Drive trip. This is such a great time of year for a drive on Skyline Drive. I am glad that the staff was accommodating and friendly and...

Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Convenient location for Skyline Drive. Friendly efficient front desk. Spacious suite. Lobby coffee machine was awful. My wife and I each took one sip and poured it in the sink. Bathroom is one of the better hotel bathrooms I've seen recently. Elevator a bit slow to arrive considering there are only 5 guest floors. Personally I think this hotel should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikonGlass
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review

NikonGlass, Thank you for choosing our hotel to be a part of your recent Skyline Drive trip. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the staff, the efficiency of check in and the guest room. I would also like to say that I agree with you that our bathrooms are very nice and provide a clean, well-lit area for...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
724 reviews
7.9 km away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#7 of 9 in Front Royal
262 reviews
14.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
66 reviews
13.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
8.6 km away
Scottish Inn Front Royal
Scottish Inn Front Royal
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2014 IHG Quality Excellence Award and the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Address: 111 Hospitality Dr, Front Royal, VA 22630-6928
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Price Range: ₹ 6,585 - ₹ 9,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a Golf Course view room.”
 of 5 bubbles benahere, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It does not matter”
 of 5 bubbles jimmym73, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“hotel offers rooms with adjoining doors”
 of 5 bubbles brutus313, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I am always a fan ot the top floor away from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles 472michaellw, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“north facing rooms had little noise from the street”
 of 5 bubbles HikingTom, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay