We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Governor House Inn

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Governor House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Governor House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
San Marcos, California
Reviewed 15 June 2016

This place was misrepresented by Trivago as being a Comfort Inn with points when it is totally independent. It is about 8 miles from DC and not far from Arlington. My room was clean enough with a flat screen TV and vanities both in and outside the bathroom. There is no independent AC control and there was stale smoke was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xhotelcritic
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

xhotelcritic, We appreciate your review. After reading this review I have taken measures to better educate our staff on the surrounding eateries and attractions. We pride ourselves on being an independent hotel that provides a family friendly experience near the DC area at an affordable rate. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in the area! Sincerely,...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We recently stay at this hotel for two days. The first day, we noticed that the room and bathroom were dirty. Further, we noticed spiders in the room. In the morning, we noticed that window curtain had fallen down. when called for repair, it took a while to fix it. The breakfast was terrible. We were given a different room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SCIENTIST-2015
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

SCIENTIST-2015, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I'm glad we were able to find you another room and take care of your curtain that fell down the first morning. After seeing you less than satisfied with the second room we took the appropriate steps to give you a free night. Since the spring season has ended,...

Lewes, Delaware
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Very disappointed in the room/accommodation for the price. I agree with other reviews, there is a smell to the room-musty mildew. Especially when turning on the ac-which sounds like a mack truck running. I was staying for a week for business-and had to buy an oscillating fan to keep the air moving in the room. I was excited about having...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReGina G
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Regina, Thank you for leaving us feedback. I can guarantee you the concerns have been addressed for future guests. We are also looking into switching pool management companies. The condition of the pool has been rectified now, but the reason to have a pool management company is to keep these concerns for ever happening. We do hope you will try...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Quiet site a few minutes ride by the hotel shuttle or uber from the metro. 40 minutes and you are in the centre. Staff are really friendly and helpful. I'll be back with the family. Breakfast is simple but has scrambled eggs, toast, cereal and the waffle maker

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 397Joe
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

397Joe, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Governor House Inn and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Feel free to reach out to myself or the Front Desk staff for assistance booking! Sincerely, Drew Baker General Manager

Smithfield, Rhode Island
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Stayed here May 16 and 17th.This place is awful. The only thing we enjoyed was the young man with the bow tie at the front desk. He was terrific. The place smelled horrible. We had to open the window because it stunk. The pillows were 3 pillows the size of little pillows on a couch. The beds were ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammyg050
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Tammyg050, I am very disappointed after reading this review. Governor House Inn prides itself on delivering an experience that exceeds expectations and it is unacceptable you experienced these room issues. Feel free to contact me personally and so that we can try to rectify the situation. Sincerely, Drew Baker General Manager 703-532-8900

Eastern Norway, Norway
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I mean - what can you expect for $83 a night? As usual on this type of roadside Inn in US, the carpets are dirty and smelly, the AC sounds like a jet engine, the bathtub hasn't been cleaned properly for years. But - what did you expect? The bed linens were clean, pillow soft and I was in heaven....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oyvindviking
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

oyvindviking, Thank you for leaving us detailed feedback. We try to provide a guest experience that exceeds expectations for the price we charge. A few minor issues that you were accepting of should not have occurred, however. "Dirty" and "Smelly" are words our guests should not think of after staying with us. I hope you brought this to the front...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Don't believe the reviews, those who thought this was a nice hotel, never stayed at a nice hotel. This is a big step down from a nice hotel. Like a room where nothing works, where the bathtub doesn't drain and you are in standing water to shower, where the plugs are falling out of the wall, how about noise this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raymond J
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

No heat in our room, got 2 different answers on 2 different days. Holes in the walls under the sinks. Blood on shower curtain. Maid service only replaced 1 towel and left us with no clean wash clothes or hand towels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TracyDecook
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

TracyDecook, I'm disappointed after reading your comment. It is not like our hotel to have these room issues. I hope you brought it to the Front Desk's attention immediately and they provided you with a more suitable room. Feel free to contact me directly to rectify this further. Thank you, Drew Baker General Manager 703-532-8900

Reviewed 12 May 2016

It is in a nice suburban area, so is very quite. The room is clean. The people are very nice. The location is not within walking distance to the metro, but it is compensated by a free shuttle service. The only issue I encountered is the shower control, I cannot pull the switch all the way so only a fraction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wenbing Z
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Wenbing Z, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to accommodate your trip to DC. The shuttle service to the metro is one our highest regarded amenities, glad to read you were able to utilize it. Next time you are planning a trip to DC feel free to contact myself or the...

Chesterfield, Virginia
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Location: in a word, "great"; convenient to the beltway, DC, shopping and dining. (Hong Kong Palace, one of the best Chinese restaurants in the DC area, is about a mile away) Accommodations: room was spacious, clean, comfortable, bed was great, all plumbing worked perfectly and the shower was sufficiently forceful. Nice touch: unlike most non-luxury motels that have a noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank poseylives
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

poseylives, I want to thank you for reviewing our property. I will take your suggestion for a different fragrance into consideration. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have turned you into a repeat guest! We look forward to hosting you again, Drew Baker General Manager

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falls Church hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Falls Church - Arlington Area
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Falls Church
2.4 km away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#9 of 15 in Falls Church
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
377 reviews
0.9 km away
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
#5 of 15 in Falls Church
178 reviews
3.9 km away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Traditional Style 1959 American Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital located just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. Full Service Inn with three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a 30 year old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile.Shuttle Service to East Falls Church Metro now available - Mon-Fri 7am to 11am, Sat/Sun 8am to noon. Evenings 5pm to 9pm -we run by on the hour in the evenings but please call upon arrival, Mornings are first come first serve. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Region: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Price Range: ₹ 5,462 - ₹ 14,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falls Church
#2 Green Hotel in Falls Church
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Governor House Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Governor House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Further from Arlington roadway is probably better, but we were 3 rooms in, and it was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles capndrake, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the pool side”
 of 5 bubbles JerryB459, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is a place to spend the night and maybe enjoy the swimming pool. It is not a "destination" hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles thomasoK8876ZB, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the rear as they are quieter (which I did and noise was not an issue). Don't rely on hotel staff to help with sightseeing.”
 of 5 bubbles xhotelcritic, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are noisey”
 of 5 bubbles SCIENTIST-2015, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay