We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

River Edge Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colonial Beach
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
River Edge Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 104: English reviews
Start your review of River Edge Inn
 Click to rate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a business trip in the area and enjoyed every minute of it. There is not a lot of options for accommodations in the area so I consider myself lucky to have found this; the River Edge does not disappoint. Linda, Crystal, and Betty were always pleasant. I called ahead to let them know of my late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy28970
reicb, Manager at River Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We value our REI team greatly and we do have some outstanding ladies. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I recently stayed over the weekend at the River Edge Inn Colonial Beach. We received 2 rooms on the 2nd floor facing the front of the hotel parking area. They were very clean and included recently renovated rooms with new furniture. We had an amazing view of the Potomac River/Chesapeake Bay sunrise and the front desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dccharlie1
reicb, Manager at River Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again!

Fairfax County, Virginia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed here for the Colonial Beach Fall Fishing Tournament. It was sufficiently clean and comfortable. Not much to right home about. The are located on the beach so it wins on location, location, location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
reicb, Manager at River Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again and maybe give you something to write home about now that we are under new ownership.

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Booked this hotel mostly because of location and the price was great considering it was right on the water! I truly was not expecting much because the price was under $100, but I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised when we pulled in. The parking lot was all freshly paved and nice and bright. The check in area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
reicb, Manager at River Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again!

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Visiting in the area. Met a friend at park near George Washington Birthplace park. Much nicer beach - sandy there . Hotel was expensive for what it provided. Very local place. Breakfast included - looked like manager went to Walmart and stocked up to provide basics - cereal toast, etc. WE got one of last rooms because of some car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellqueen2014
Darien Center, New York
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed here with wife and 4 grandkids August 2016 and expected much more for the price. The weather was very hot and the ice machine didn't work. They don't offer coffee or juices like most other motels in this price range do. The breakfast was either a roll apple or hard boiled egg....coffee was powder creamer only. The owner watched...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ron C
reicb, Manager at River Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are sorry we did not live up to your standards. Now that we are under new ownership, changes have been made to the breakfast choices. We are also working on other small changes that will take some time to accomplish. We hope you can give us another chance for your to experience our quaint...

Reviewed 11 August 2016

Our crew rolled in spare of the moment to rent a room. All other motels in the area were booked thanks to an annual car show (we were not aware of). The management was extremely accomodating, the rooms near immaculately clean. The site is right on the beach. Yes, as you may read in other reviews, it is a pebble...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
Fairfax County, Virginia
Reviewed 3 August 2016

First time visiting Colonial Beach in July 2016. Although River Edge Inn is 'right on the beach", its mostly rocks/pebbles directly in front of the hotel and very small. if you walk about a quarter mile south, you'll get to a spot which is bigger with much more sand (but still somewhat rocky). Lots of jellyfish when we visited so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AverageGuyVA
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

I checked in for one night because I was in the area for two nights and one of those I wanted to stay in Colonial Beach. The hotel was sold out and the price was 150.00 per night. When pulling up to check in thought this looks pretty nice. Close to the beach which wasn't bad looking view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Therese Z
Linville, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Needed a last minute place to stay and booked at this hotel as a last resort because of the negative reviews. Some things were good but some things not so good. The location is awesome. The pool looked clean but we didn't have time get in. We should have known there would be a problem when we tried various times...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Shannon Pence G

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonial Beach
13.1 km away
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
Hampton Inn Dahlgren
#1 of 2 in Dahlgren
216 reviews
13.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites, Dahlgren
38.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in King George
33 reviews
36.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
34 reviews
39.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your cozy home away from home...Welcome to the River Edge Inn, at Colonial Beach, Virginia. We are now under new ownership and have completely renovated all 60 guest rooms, including all new furniture, mattresses, linens, carpet, paint, and a brand new Front Desk Lobby and breakfast dining area! We're only 90 minutes from Washington, D.C. and Richmond, VA; and about 35 miles East of Fredericksburg, VA. Come on by and stay in one of our beautiful new rooms soon! We'd love to have you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about River Edge Inn

Address: 30 Colonial Ave., Colonial Beach, VA 22443
Region: United States > Virginia > Colonial Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,636 - ₹ 10,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Edge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Colonial Beach-Days Inn On The Potomac Hotel Colonial Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from River Edge Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Winchester, Virginia
over a year ago
Winchester, Virginia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from River Edge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure to help yourself to the complementary continental breakfast served in the main lobby”
 of 5 bubbles dccharlie1, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away not worth the cost”
 of 5 bubbles ronc270, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor has indoor corridors.”
 of 5 bubbles ShannonPenceG, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“A/C units were quiet and first floor rooms allowed parking right in front so no stairs to climb with luggage...”
 of 5 bubbles DebJ15, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Do not choose this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles beckyb945, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5