We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk
 Click to rate
Martins Ferry, Ohio
Reviewed 8 October 2016

If you want to go to weed smoking friendly hotel this is the place to go.you smell it up and down hallways at night.last month when i stayed there was weed residue and pieces of blunts in the room.there were burn marks from smoking all over the tub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
Jessica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We have recently purchased the hotel, closed and are currently renovating it into a Holiday Inn Express. We are looking forward to all of the exciting upgrades! Please come see us for the grand opening!

Olney
Reviewed 28 August 2016

No surprises and good value. Clean, neat, and comfortable. We would stay here again. It was much better than the $300 per night hotels at the beach. The mattress was a little stiffer than I prefer, but it was better than those where you sink into it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
Jessica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We have recently purchased the hotel, closed and are currently renovating it into a Holiday Inn Express. We are looking forward to all of the exciting upgrades! Please come see us for the grand opening!

Reviewed 24 August 2016

We needed a room for one night only, so I thought getting a cheap hotel wouldn't be that bad but never again. I'm just going to spend the extra $$ next time. As soon as you walk through the doors you are greeted by the stench of stale cigarette smoke and the front desk area is more like a confusing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Jessica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We have recently purchased the hotel, closed and are currently renovating it into a Holiday Inn Express. We are looking forward to all of the exciting upgrades! Please come see us for the grand opening!

Reviewed 18 May 2016

This hotel is not too bad for the money. We had two beds and one of them was separated by a half wall. Kind of like two separate rooms with its own tv. It was clean. Housekeeping didn't come the second day we were there but we made due. The staff were very friendly. The location was very good in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cristi E
Jessica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We have recently purchased the hotel, closed and are currently renovating it into a Holiday Inn Express. We are looking forward to all of the exciting upgrades! Please come see us for the grand opening!

Beaufort, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I'm a non-smoker and could smell cigarette every time I walked into our bathroom. The carpet didn't feel clean under my feet. But being I was only staying for a couple of days, and didn't need to spend but a few hours there at night, it served my purpose, and was okay. Rather have paid this and stayed here, than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Audrey S
Jessica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We have recently purchased the hotel, closed and are currently renovating it into a Holiday Inn Express. We are looking forward to all of the exciting upgrades! Please come see us for the grand opening!

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed one night on the way from PA to the Outer Banks. The place is pretty run down. The pool is closed. There is no food except a vending machine. We called down to the front desk and got no answer so I had to go down and find someone. The elevator is painfully slow. The room and bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our three night stay was more than adequate while we were in town visiting family. Is it the Hilton? No, but for the price, you can't go wrong. Clean, and friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for more!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Libby T
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I found a dead cockroach (see pictures) in the kitchen and a pubic hair on the toilet (see pictures). The sheets smelled like they hadn't been washed. The sign advertised $49.99 a night and we were charged $118 with tax. The only reason my husband and I stayed here is because all of the hotels within a 20 minute drive...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MsCad
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a two night stay during the weekend of May 2 and 3. We were there for graduation week-end; and all the hotels in the Virginia Beach - Norfolk area were booked! We booked the hotel in April and I was feeling desperate. I agree with 6foot842098 I too am "not sure about all the poor reviews." I truly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ghanagirl2
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed here with my 2 children while looking for a new home after moving from Florida. The staff was awesome! They treated us like we were family. My son has autism and when he has a tantrum people tend to look down on us and make us feel very unwelcome and uncomfortable....but not the staff here. For that I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glen Y

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.1 km away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Greenbrier Circle
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
1.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Crossways Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Chesapeake Conference Center
1.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 42 in Chesapeake
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Is closed for full renovation and will open on May 16th, 2017. Centrally located to Norfolk and Virginia Beach, the Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake-Norfolk sits in the heart of the region's restaurant and shopping district. The property serves as a hub for Government and Corporate travel stemming from the Naval Station Norfolk, Norfolk Naval Shipyard, Naval Station Oceana, USCG Finance Center and Exchange, Dollar Tree Stores Headquarters, Anthem Health Insurance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk

Address: 721 Conference Center Dr, Chesapeake, VA 23320 (Formerly Cedar Tree Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Price Range: ₹ 8,446 - ₹ 12,505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Tree Hotel Chesapeake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Chesapeake - Norfolk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No scenic views from the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles andysD8063RM, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We were in room 419. There are four floors so we were on the top floor. Our room faced the front of the hotel. No real view, but pleasant. In the back of the hotel are picnic tables and a common area downstairs as well.”
 of 5 bubbles ghanagirl2, 5 May 2014 | Read review
“The front of the Tree faces Woodlake Dr which is very busy no matter what time of day, however, the rear side face the Conference Center and is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 6foot842098, 1 Mar 2013 | Read review
“The suites are just great.”
 of 5 bubbles FloydW_13, 8 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Cannot add anything , I received what I paid for .”
 of 5 bubbles JeffP267, 30 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5