We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

HolidayInn.comUS$ 136*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 144*
US$ 136*
US$ 144*
US$ 144*
US$ 136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 293: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area
 Click to rate
Easton, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We booked two rooms for two nights. There were the same dirty dishes in the hallway for our entire stay. House keeping brought clean towels to one room but not the other. The trash cans were never emptied. The metal bracket for the toilet paper holder fell off the wall. The toilet stopped up and when I called the desk,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nbhebry
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing this helpful feedback. We are very sorry for the problems that you experienced during your stay. I have addressed your concerns with our team leaders to ensure they are corrected. We hope you will return to give us another chance to meet your expectations.

Washington, DC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is undergoing construction. Parts of it are terribly outdated. It is not very clean. Our room was spacious but on a lower level below the lobby. The sliding class door was not secure. The small balcony railing was loose with one half of the railing unhinged from the wall. The cable on the TV did not work. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AGKim
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

The safety and overall condition of our rooms is very important to us, so we value the feedback that you have provided. Our Maintenance team is working to identify and address the issues you raised. Moreover, we have been redecorating guest rooms and will prioritize the room for updates. We do hope you return to see our improvements.

Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had plans to stay here one evening this week. I called their local phone number and was surprised when no one answered the phone after approximately 50-60 rings (I called the local 434 number, not a toll-free number) while I was in town. Thus, I checked the number to be certain I had it right, and yet again, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAmEve7
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unable to connect with us via the phone. We have checked our system to ensure there were no issues. We do hope you will give us another try.

Garretson, South Dakota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older hotel, and it is easy to see it in the walls, carpets and the common areas. The room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Checking in was smooth, and the young lady was very friendly and helpful. The house keeping staff was very pleasant and got us extra towels with a smile. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this constructive feedback. We are very sorry for your experience in the restaurant. I have reviewed your concerns with out Food & Beverage Manager. We are winding down our guest room renovations now and will begin renovating some of our public space in the near future. We hope you will return to...

Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our second stay at this location, my wife was very surprised when she found a pair of sweat pants at the bottom of the bed between the sheets. Needless to say, these didn't belong to her. When management was notified, they were very apologetic and reduced the price of that night's stay. Aside from that mishap, this accommodation are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KENTW302
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this constructive feedback. We are very sorry for your experience and I am working with our Hskpg leadership to ensure it does not happen again. We hope you will return to give us another chance.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful experience and would greatly recommend the Charlottesville University Area Holiday Inn, Anna Payne/ Vira showed great hospitality. The Conference rooms, Lounge Area and facility are always neat and clean... Great Environment and pleasant attitude makes this one of the best hotels in the Charlottesville area....A+ Driving School, Richmond VA

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itsjanicew
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thanks for the A+ feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Charlottesville- Univ Area! Our team works hard to create a great experience for our guests and your comments affirm their efforts. I will share your feedback the team members you reference. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Stafford, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stay here when we go to Charlottesville. We go there to see concerts at JPJ arena. Currently undergoing renovations, but we were not bothered by any construction noise. It's as expected but our last visit ( this weekend) the breakfast buffet was okay but first guy get the wait to be seated sign and you have to wait for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pennywmn
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry for some of the challenges you faced. We will work with our Restaurant Manager and Housekeeping Manager to correct the concerns you raised. We hope that you will return to give us another chance to meet your expectations.

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The hallways were dank and dim. When we entered our room it had a bag of garbage in the sink. The floors had stains on them and the entire room smelled like urine. The windows cannot be opened, not even cracked open, which lends to the sensation of being suffocated in urine-air at all times. The room felt like it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CNYeaters
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Del S. General Manager

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Following a great night's stay at the Holiday Inn in Bristol, VA/TN, I arrived in Charlottesville looking forward to a repeat treat. I guess it was not to be because the Check-in girl sent me down to the basement rooms whereupon entering I discovered that the room was highly equipped for the handicap. The bathroom was the very worst! In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flash680
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Del S. General Manager

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We were in town to see a concert at the John Paul Jones arena and stayed for one night here. The staff was super friendly from the front desk to the maintenance guys, to the bartender, to the housekeeping! Great location and lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance! We will definitely be coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Del S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area, responded to this review

We are glad you appreciate the hospitality of our team members and the proximity of our hotel to all the great things Charlottesville has to offer! We look forward to your next visit!

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Monticello
Holiday Inn Charlottesville-Mont...
#24 of 35 in Charlottesville
379 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
922 reviews
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
82 reviews
2.0 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville North
Courtyard Charlottesville North
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
160 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlottesville North
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Charlottesville Hotel- University Area and Conference Center. Our hotel is conveniently located on (Route 29) Emmet Street. The University of Virginia is located within one mile of the hotel. Nearby attractions include the University of Virginia, Monticello, Ashlawn-Highland, Wineries, Michie Tavern, Montpelier, and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE -Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi-Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems, and Biotage Technologies. Our newly renovated, spacious rooms include free high speed wireless Internet. We also offer a business center, fitness facility, pay per view movies, coffee/ tea makers, room service, guest laundry, free USA Today on the weekdays and complimentary shuttle service to the Charlottesville Airport. During your stay we invite you to dine at our Lobby Cafe'. We are the ideal location for your wedding, banquet, meeting or any special event. The Holiday Inn University area offers facilities to accommodate up to 300 people, with over 4,900 square feet of meeting space. Let our expert staff work for you in accommodating your every need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area

Address: 1901 Emmet St N, Route 29 South, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2814
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Price Range: ₹ 8,550 - ₹ 18,396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area Hotel Charlottesville
Holiday Inn University Area
Charlottesville Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Richmond, Virginia
over a year ago
over a year ago
Cancun, Mexico
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Charlottesville - University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Excepting a personal need, inquire if they will be staying in a handicap-equipped room in the Basement.”
Flash680, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 724 with King size bed and modern bath was lovely!”
m0_m0ney_m0_travel, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book with Anna if you are reserving a business space”
Zurixx, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go..if the English Inn has a room, try that instead. Better value, location and much nicer”
Booneboy, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors, toward the back, were very quiet”
Marti851, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
US$ 136* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 144
Expedia.comUS$ 136
TripAdvisorUS$ 136
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates