We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
433 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$196
Travelocity$196
Hotels.com$196
Official Site$196
Priceline$196
Vio.com$196
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (352)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 25 hotels in Stowe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Skiing
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Croatian, Portuguese
417Reviews13Q+A76Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 279
  • 75
  • 35
  • 17
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Varda V wrote a review Nov 2022
Yavne, HaMerkaz, Israel7 contributions2 helpful votes
Excellent location, clean, looks great, pleasant space, tasty breakfast .wonderful restaurants all over. Friendly staff. Must be there in winter time when is snowing.looks great for skiing areas around
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hey Varda, Our team is warmed to have impressed you so fully with our breakfast offerings, location, hospitality, and other qualities that make our inn one-of-a-kind. Thanks for stopping by. We look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hodork wrote a review Feb 2022
Albany, New York360 contributions122 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
I have to be honest, I wasn’t expecting much as the room rate here is no where near what is being asked at other places in town. We booked last minute due to snow, and I requested a larger room. My request was honored, with a living room and fireplace off of the bedroom, and a large bathroom as well. Furnishings were current and comfortable. Even though the lobby was a walk through the parking lot, there was a welcoming vibe there. Board games and free breakfast…which was not a throw away. Overnight oats in a mason jar, hard boiled egg and hummus on toast…it all summed up the thoughtful details we experienced throughout our stay. Minor quirks, a stained shower curtain instead of glass, and not enough caffeinated coffee pods. I would still stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Hello Hodork, Our team was elated to welcome you to Stowe and are glad that your last-second scramble for accommodations brought you to our thoughtful, value-packed grounds. Thank you for complimenting our healthy breakfast offerings, spacious rooms, and all-around awesome vibe! We were glad to share that with you and look forward to blowing you away even further the next time adventure brings you back to town. Until that day comes… Happy travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Devin H wrote a review Nov 2022
9 contributions
Aiden did an amazing job making sure that everything we needed was taken care of. The room was exactly as we expected it, just as pictured. My wife loved the soaking tub with the sweet addition of the bath salts. We made a reservation for the hot tub and it was nice to be able to enjoy it by ourselves. The "Apres Only" Bar was a neat getaway and the bartender was awesome! Bagel - a restaurant across the street has great breakfast! NOTE: There is NO elevator. This didn't bug us, and it's mentioned in the hotel description but it is worth noting. #floorislava
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: The staff will help make sure you have everything you need.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hey 859devinh, As we noted on a separate platform, we were glad to impress you and your wife so thoroughly during your visit. Anytime you’re looking to pass through Stowe again, know that you have a home with us. Wishing you all the best!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wyndorf wrote a review Nov 2022
Burlington, Vermont1 contribution
Field Guide is simply fantastic. From the amazing rooms, the dozens of cozy sit spots around the lodge, the superb apres vibe in the bar, and outstanding food, this place is a must if you find yourself in Stowe. Really enjoyed the 80s ski vids in the bar with pickled fiddleheads, flights of Vermont bourbon, and an awesome beer list. Breakfast was phenomenal as well. Five stars all the way!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hey Wyndorf, Your 5-star feedback warms us! Glad to know your stay was awesome and that perks like our classic vibes, drink offerings, and more all blended to make your stay one to remember. Here’s hoping we see you back in Stowe very soon. Cheers until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carrie J wrote a review Oct 2022
Rome, Italy40 contributions37 helpful votes
Our first stay in Stowe did not disappoint. Thank you to AIDEN and MIKE who are the definition of helpful and hospitable and really are the best part of the Field Guide Lodge experience -- such hard workers and kind-hearted people. Breakfasts were a little bland/disappointing (but looked adorable in the setup), coffee was delish and was pleased they had milk-alternatives. Room was as pictured + anticipated, bed was super comfy and reserving a room with a soaking tub was SO worth it. ps-Maple Creemees @ Red Barn Ice Cream are NOT to be missed (way better than Ben & Jerry's, sorry not sorry) and we were happy we caught Vermont Artisan Coffee on the way out of town, a must try with a maple flavor shot!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Hi Carrie, Aiden, Mike, and the rest of our team were glad to have you with us, and thank you for your feedback! While our breakfast spread tends to be a hit with guests, we’re sorry it didn’t resonate with you. Still, it seems our comfortable beds and rooms made up the difference. There’s always something new to enjoy here in Stowe, so please, mosey on back to Vermont as soon as you can. We’d love to welcome you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DunderMufflin565 wrote a review Oct 2022
Chicago, Illinois38 contributions5 helpful votes
Visited mid-October to do some leaf peeping. Friendly staff at the lodge. Pet friendly. Breakfast included, but Restaurant not open for lunch or dinner midweek. Hot tub closed. Tv too small for the size of the room, but you can hook up to the Apple TV. Poor lighting. No shelf or counter space for my makeup. Dim bathroom, no makeup mirror. No elevator. Sexy design in the lobby complete with fireplaces. Good location to walk to shops and restaurants. This lodge was pretty basic, but I might consider staying here again if the price was right.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Mid-week restaurant is closed. No spa here. Good restaurant across the street. Walkable.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Hi DunderMufflin565, You’re right in that we value keeping our spaces minimalist, comfortable, and in line with our overall lodge theme. While it’s clear aspects of that aim didn’t resonate with you, we’re glad others did and that you found value in our flexible po9licies, included breakfast, memorable location, and more. We’d love to welcome you again and want you to know that our rates flex with demand so do check back to see what’s on offer ahead of your next Stowe adventure. Take care until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rea F wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
After a massive road trip that ended in Burlington, my family got a wild hair to check out Stowe. I googled "best places to stay" and Field Guide kept popping up. A DAY before we were supposed to arrive, I booked us a suite, and when we arrived, I was BLOWN away by the modern, yet 1980s nostalgic interior, the friendly staff, and the adorable accommodations. Once I arrived, I realized I wanted to stay longer, and the amazing Operations Manager, Aiden, put me up in a suite for the remaining days. The environment facilitates great conversation, cozy hanging by the fire, and the rooms are some of the nicest I've stayed in. Not to mention, the location is AMAZING to everything in town and beyond walkable. I loved every moment of my time here and can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ask for the Trail House suites (room TH202 is the best)!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 19 Oct 2022
Hi rbfrey7, What a wonderful review! Our team is glad your last-minute inspiration to check out Stowe brought us together and that we didn’t disappoint with our facilities, great team members like Aiden, location, and more. We’re constantly improving so we can’t wait to impress you even more fully when we have the opportunity to see you again. Wishing you well until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen S wrote a review Oct 2022
20 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed in a cottage suite. There were three of us for four days. It was perfect. Loved the devor, loved the breakfast each morning. It was the perfect home away from home while we explored the surrounding area. the pictures are from the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 12 Oct 2022
Hi O5034PBkarens, Reading that Field Guide felt like a home away from home to you put a smile on our face! Thanks for that note and all of your other lovely comments celebrating our breakfast and more. Our team can’t wait to see you back in Stowe!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mgvaillant wrote a review Sep 2022
Freeport, Florida84 contributions17 helpful votes
What an awesome find. The Field Guide Lodge is centrally located in Stowe with access to all the awesome restaurants and merchants. The Staff at the hotel were so friendly and customer centric. The manager Ayden went the extra mile by personally, with one other staff member, assisting us carry our heavy luggage to our room. The entrance looks like you are walking into a 5 star Scandinavian hotel. The room was nice with a nice, firm mattress. Very clean. Breakfast was also provided and very European. Love this place and the leadership offered by Ayden since all of her staff were so helpful and pleasant. Thank you Ayden for making our stay so wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 30 Sep 2022
Hello mgvaillant, Ayden and everybody else that made your Field Guide experience shine were glad to achieve that end. Thank you for all of your kind feedback! It warms our team to know when guests enjoy our ambiance, location, and all of the other details we put time into mastering. Expect your future stays with us to be equally special and know that we hope to see you back in our wonderful community soon. Take care until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olivia wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you like TVs that don't work, windows that don't open, and breakfast that was prepared 12 hours earlier, you'll love Field Guide. Unfortunately, that wasn't what we wanted on our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the Cottage Suites, which were more expensive and supposedly more private, but we felt like we were in a fishbowl. There were no sheer curtains, only half-broken blackout curtains, so you had to choose between blocking all daylight or having the entire hotel see your every movement. Our room was spacious but filthy. There were little hairs in the shower and in the sheets, a puddle of sticky coffee that had been there for who knows how long, old crumbs stuck to the kitchen table...it felt wholly unclean. The TV in the bedroom didn't connect to any of the promised streaming services, and when we asked a staff member to fix it, he said yes and promptly ignored the request, so nothing worked for our entire stay. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. We tried it the first morning and were greeted with old deviled eggs and a bunch of grocery store melon in a bowl on the bar counter. We knew not to bother with it the next day. The location and lobby were nice at least. The whole place was decorated like the owner watched Portlandia once and didn't realize it was satire. Overall, this place is overpriced and under-cared for. As I should have expected, the feedback email Lark sends doesn't even work -- the code is broken and doesn't let you submit it. We will not be staying at a Lark hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Field Guide Lodge
Responded 20 Sep 2022
Hello oliviabE4429BS, First and foremost, congratulations to you and yours as you embark on this new chapter in your lives. We were grateful to be a part of your honeymoon experience, even if it turned out we weren’t the perfect fit for your tastes. Comments you’ve shared regarding things that we’re typically exceptional at like keeping our grounds tidy and providing an exceptional breakfast experience is feedback we’ll explore in-depth. We’d also like to apologize for not being more receptive to the TV concerns you noted as offering a proactive helping hand, we’re sure, would have been welcome. While we appreciate that you may weigh other options during your next adventure in Stowe, know that if ever you’re in need of a centrally located home in the area that cares about its guests, we’re here for you. Here’s hoping we can impress you more fully when that return manifests!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVermontStowe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FIELD GUIDE LODGE (Stowe) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Field Guide Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Field Guide Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Blessed Sacrament Church (0.4 km), A.J's Ski and Sports (0.2 km), and Stowe Cinema 3 Plex (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Field Guide Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Field Guide Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Field Guide Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Field Guide Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Field Guide Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doc Ponds, The Bench, and The Bagel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Field Guide Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Field Guide Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Stowe.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Field Guide Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Portuguese, and Croatian.
Are there any historical sites close to Field Guide Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tea at the Governor's House (14.6 km).
Is Field Guide Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.