We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Stowe Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Stowe Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Stowe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 363: English reviews
california
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I was very disappointed with our stay at the Stowe Inn. We stayed in a large room on the ground floor in the main hotel. Not necessarily the fault of housekeeping due to lack of time to clean each room, but our room was absolutely covered with dust. The lampshades and lamps were absolutely filthy. I have asthma so was...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank sweetpea100
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your stay and if you could give us some feed back on what we could do differently for your next stay that would be really helpful. Also if you could please go to our adviser trip and put in a good review that would be really grateful. Thank you and hope to see...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

we arrived at the Inn after a long motorcycle riding day. 4 people behind the desk and no one acknowledged our presence, not a hello we'll be with you or just hello. Absolutely no acknowledgement. After a wait, we were directed to our room. There were 2 working electrical outlets and both were in use for the alarm clock and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dmman150
TheStoweInn, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest. We are not sure why no one said hello to you. Our staff is always very friendly. We are sorry you did not like your salad. We did take off one of your salads that evening off of your bill as you are aware. $12 is an average price for a entree salad. Our shirley temple drinks do...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Rude staff! Did not feel welcome at all! Got one set of towels the whole weekend. No turndown service. Their bar was closed at 8pm on a Sunday. Our air conditioner was so loud and barely worked. Aviod

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank tanktatum
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your stay if you could let us know what we could or can do differently that would be really helpful for the next time that you come and stay with us. Also if you could go to our ad visor trip and give us a good review that would be grateful. Thank you...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Don't ever go to this place. This place is a scam. Your reservation doesn't mean anything. You paid for your stay here? Doesn't mean anything. You paid for your stay and all the taxes right here at the hotel? Doesn't mean anything. Me and my wife paid for our stay and paid the state taxes here at the counter and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Greg N
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel and that we were over booked so you had to go to another hotel hopefully the next time that you come it will be a lot different and also if could think of anything that we could of done better please let us know. Also if you could...

Bayfield, Canada
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We booked this Inn because it was recommended by AAA –and I have to believe that they assigned their rating based on the rooms in the Inn proper and not in the Carriage House Building behind which was where our room was. First of all, don’t book based on pictures because really, the images on the website bear no resemblance...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JLSBHC
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you stay was not a good experience and you could let us know what we could of done differently please do so we can fix it and make it a better experience for the next time for you. Also if you could go to our trip ad visor and put a good review...

Kirkland , wa
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

It started at check-in - the person clearly did not know what she was doing - we asked her if covered bridge were around - her response was a covered bridge was - it turned out to be a covered walkway. The "superior" suite was rundown, did not have a lock on the door, had gauges in the room, the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Chester4709
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chester. We are sorry you felt the covered bridge across the street was only a walkway. The Town of Stowe rebuilt the covered bridge which has a charming river flowing underneath it. This is the first time I have heard that it was not beautiful. We did refund some funds on your 2 room main inn suite when you...

rocky point,nc
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I booked through the hotel directly and was told that I would be given a King Deluxe room on the second floor in the main building. While I was on the phone making my reservation, the woman on the phone had me connect to the internet to show me the room that I would be staying in for 2 nights....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CMXI
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest. We apologize that the room you reserved was not satisfactory. You reserved a motel room and we confirmed that the confirmation was sent to you and that this was the room you had reserved. We would have loved to have given you a room in the main inn which are our best rooms and have the updated furniture,...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Our dissatisfaction started on trying to check in. There were two people in front of us and we had to wait half an hour. The guy at the desk obviously didn't know what he was doing. He even gave the person in front of us keys to a room that was already occupied. When we got to our room we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jdandar42
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) I am very sorry to hear about your stay at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am very sorry about your experience while you were here if you could let us know what could of been different please let us know so the next time you stay it will be a lot better. Also if you could go to our trip Adviser and put in a good review...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed here on our way home from a weeks vacation. The check in staff was friendly and the room was fine. We booked a deluxe room and found it to be slightly lacking in some areas - no glasses, towels were not particularly plush, one soft pillow along with two firmer pillows. Still a comfortable room and was enjoyable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Euroguy66
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in an economy room --- it was in poor condition and badly in need of updating. Plus, the room was hot and I was unable to turn off the baseboard heat. The staff generally was nowhere to be seen. I did not eat a meal here, but there was *no one* in the dining room at 8:30am. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary B

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.2 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.5 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Mountain Road Resort
0.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#2 of 24 in Stowe
1,747 reviews
2.0 km away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: ₹ 5,770 - ₹ 12,413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stowe Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
lancaster
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Stowe Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay inside the inn. The rooms are nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles erinlawwill, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find a room inside the main house”
 of 5 bubbles 652AmyN, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in main building very charming, perfect for couples. Carriage house comfortable, perfect for ski crowd or those with 4 legged friends.”
 of 5 bubbles ahryb22, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Fireplace room is very large with its own deck, but make sure to bring/buy your own firewood and lighter.”
 of 5 bubbles allisone805, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the second floor rooms towards the back of the property, views ample and easy parking and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NEKTraveler2016, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5