We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grey Fox Inn & Resort

Show Prices
#15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Start your review of Grey Fox Inn & Resort
 Click to rate
Charles Town, West Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This inn is very comfy, clean, and walking distance to great restaurants. I had the best breakfast of my life here. They have these skinny Dutch pancakes that are to die for. I was there in the off season, so we didn't see the staff often, but I have no real complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank meganf367
Rutland Ma
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Grey Fox was a great place to stay for our events of the weekend. We were nervous when told the hotel was sold out to a lacrosse group, but we never heard them. Don't miss the Harvest Market across the street if you are looking for a quick breakfast. the the Pancake Restaurant was wonderful to sit down and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleendI5148PQ
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Harvest Market across the street. I am especially please that you enjoyed the Dutch Pancake Cafe. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We...

Margate, kent. UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

having read a number of review sites I was a little concerned when booking this property for a two day ski break in March 2017 and this was furthered by the front desk clerk telling me that the restaurant was not going to open that night and probably the whole weekend However I was pleasantly surprised on going into my...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N2794UKdavids
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was pleasant and friendly. The room was clean. We enjoyed the convenience of the location. It is an older facility. The rooms do need updating/renovation, beds were overly firm/hard, amenities & temperature control could be improved. We stayed in the main building and it is obvious that they used to allow smoking as the ceilings still have yellow tinge....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank FirstTimeVisitorToVT
Wilmette, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location and nice average place to stay. Basic accommodations, nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Hot tub and sauna not working properly and staff is not available in evenings to address such issues. We loved breakfast at the Dutch Pancake house, my son said they were the best pancakes he has ever had!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALS8658YN
.New Hope
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at Grey Fox Inn twice and found the rooms to be very clean and the staff welcoming and helpful. The location is great for accessing shops, restaurants and bars on the mountain road, also, for accessing the bike path or mountain bike trails at Cady Hill. The only complaints I have are that the bar was not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank henrietta2017
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Henrietta, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and taking the time to write a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the accommodations, as well as the shops, restaurants, bars, and Stowe Recreation Path on Mountain road. I am sorry that the bar was not open and I hope that we can accommodate you again in the near...

Atkinson, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first time staying here. We were impressed! Room was clean and comfotable. Hot tub hit the spot after skiing. Our only regret, we wished we could have stayed another night! :) We'll be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois N
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Hello Lois, Thank you very much for taking time to write a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We take pride in trying to provide guests with proper amenities and exceptional services to make their stay enjoyable as possible. we hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future. Sincerely, Nicole...

Natick, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at the Grey Fox Inn a number of times thru the years, this visit was as good as any of my past visits. only a few minor issues. 1. The "fireplace" in the room was difficult to turn the heat setting down, 2. The sink in the bathroom is not located in an accessible position, one must turn...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve r
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and taking time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the size and general disposition of the room at our property. We appreciate your feedback as we always welcome the opportunity to improve and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in...

Norwalk
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great hotel with an excellent location. Great breakfast and bar. A comfortable room with great service. The only tip would be to get the hot tub working a little better. There was some weird green algae on my hands when I came out, but nothing that didn't wash off. I told James that I will recommend you to my Ski...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank petercI5764WJ
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Hello Peter, Thank you for taking time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back yo our hotel in the future. Sincerely, Nicole P | Front Desk Supervisor

West Newfield
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I wish the hot tub in the room was just a smidgen bigger. Other than that, it was great. A fridge would also have been nice, but between a cooler and the ice machine, we were good. And they have REAL ROOM KEYS, as in genuine pieces of metal. It didn't malfunction or need to be recoded a single time!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigbass76
Nicole P, Front Office Manager at Grey Fox Inn & Resort, responded to this review

Dear Craig, Thank you for taking time to review or hotel. It is very unfortunate that you were disappointed by the size of the hot tub. we could have provided you with a fridge. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the real keys. We appreciate your feedback as we always welcome the opportunity to improve and we hope to...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.9 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
9.1 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.2 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,230 reviews
0.1 km away
The Mountain Road Resort
1.3 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Grey Fox Inn is in a prime location in Stowe right on Mountain Road within walking distance to Stowe Village and five miles from the Mt Mansfield ski resort. The Little River runs through the far end of our 7½ acre property as does the popular Stowe Recreation Path. The “Rec Path” used by walkers and bikers alike is a 5 ½ mile long paved trail that winds from Stowe Village along side the Little River. Skiing & Snowboarding – A significant winter attraction is skiing at Stowe Mountain Resort. Just 5 miles up Mountain Road. Mt Mansfield skiing is accessible via the free shuttle service or by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Fox Inn & Resort

Address: 990 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4629
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: ₹ 6,418 - ₹ 11,993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Fox Inn & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grey Fox Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Fox Hotel Stowe
Grey Fox Inn And Resort
Grey Fox Resort
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stowe
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grey Fox Inn & Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
new england
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grey Fox Inn & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked room 1 which is located just off the lobby with a side view of the trees.”
VernonBirdman, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I like the building connected to the restaurant for a cozy breakfast”
Andes71, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The top floor has a very pretty view.”
michaelsT1823NE, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the Mountain View Building actually face Mt. Mansfield”
dougiesisters, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Check out the restaurant Chop down the road... they've got good food and good music. Gayle liked her salmon dish.”
orpahw, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5