We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$274
Travelocity$274
Hotels.com$274
FindHotel$274
Priceline$274
Hurb$289
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (130)
360
Panoramas (20)
Room & Suite (173)

About

#6 of 26 hotels in Stowe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Children's television networks
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Skiing
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English
535Reviews7Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 285
  • 181
  • 45
  • 13
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
carohughes wrote a review Sep 2022
Plymouth, New Hampshire28 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great location to enjoy our biking/exploring in Stowe. The property is quaint so definitely expect some quirks, such as the hallway can be very noisy at all times of the night since it is wooden/creaky. We did not get the best of rest because the beds felt like old spring mattresses, so I would recommend the lodge put their money into investing into better beds. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast as it was plentiful and the breakfast room manager was very friendly/helpful. Another highlight was that there was always coffee/tea always available at all times of the day. One of the other reasons that we chose this lodge was because they have both an indoor and outdoor pool. On our last day we tried to enjoy the beautiful outdoor pool but the water was freezing. Every day we enjoyed the indoor, heated pool and hot tub. The bridge over the pool is very unique and was a highlight for my child. The location is only about a 8 minutes drive to main street and only 5 minutes to the base of the ski mountain facilities. The bathroom in our room is definitely in need of some upgrades. The sink is probably original and for my 6'2 husband it was drastically low. Very little countertop or shelves to put any personal items. We made the most of our stay and really enjoyed the beautiful gardens, especially on our last night where we enjoyed our pick up dinner alfresco. This stay certainly fit our budget and was family friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: all first floor rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wesley wrote a review Feb 2022
Worldwide3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
I stayed here with my family over February break and was sad to leave. The breakfast was amazing. The heated pool, hot tub and sauna were a perfect place to go after a tiring ski day. The innkeepers could not have been nicer, and there was plenty of space in our room. Lastly, the shuttle stop was right across the street so it was easy to get to the mountain. Would go back in an instant - highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BHM7248 wrote a review Sep 2022
Webster, New York84 contributions34 helpful votes
Our room was nice. Offseason price was reasonable. Aways from town but at the base of Smugglers Notch, so only a short drive there. Plenty of amenities including pool and sauna although we didn't take advantage of them. The HVAC system can be a challenge in the spring or fall when you it varies when you want Heat or Cool. Overall a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PSoTD wrote a review Sep 2022
Camp Hill, PA166 contributions64 helpful votes
It reminded us of the nice motel options in Lake Tahoe in the 1980s, and that's a good thing. Nice room, good breakfast, pool, hot tub, sauna. Reasonably priced. Quiet location. There were plenty of cars in the parking lot, we weren't the only ones that new it was a good deal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DoctorJoeE wrote a review Sep 2022
North Caldwell, New Jersey423 contributions430 helpful votes
It's basically a motel, but a nice one, with a cordial staff and many of the amenities found at the bigger resorts (outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, game room) at a fraction of the cost. Price includes a hot breakfast, which most hotels got rid of during COVID. No maid service during stay, but we didn't mind. Towels replaced daily upon request. Good location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth L wrote a review Aug 2022
Baltimore, Maryland761 contributions216 helpful votes
Our room with a king size bed was spacious, clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. I fully understand why it would be very appealing to many people on a tighter budget. The clientele is international and we enjoyed being surrounded with so many diverse people. We did not mind that the rooms are not cleaned. However, we very much disliked the « grab and go » breakfast. It is very simple and it may work out during ski season but not in the summer when people have more time in the morning. I would also recommend large bath towels.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tony G wrote a review Mar 2022
Palm beach41 contributions19 helpful votes
We spent a week here for some spring skiing. It is a cute little lodge and is in a great location. Room and decor could use some upgrading, but for the price point I was pleased with our stay. Hot tub/ pool area is okay and the kids loved it. Found a dirty sock in the corner of our room behind a chair which always makes me question how thoroughly they clean rooms between guests.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mark H wrote a review Feb 2022
Monroe Township, New Jersey9 contributions1 helpful vote
I've stayed at the Northern Lights Lodge on three occasions - either with my daughters or solo during ski trips. We've stayed in many other hotels, but now book exclusively here. The owners, Michael and Shannon, are around ensuring all runs smoothly. The lodge is a short drive to the ski area (or you can take the free bus that stops in front of the hotel). Breakfast is quite good, WiFi is excellent and the pool looks inviting (we never used it). The only issue are thin walls between rooms. However, with the fan running we could not hear our neighbors.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Donna wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
This place was very disappointing to say the least. From the outside the whole property was very run down. Inside was extremely dated. In our room the curtains were worn out in places, they were clips missing on the rods and curtains hung unevenly. No cleaning of room received in the 5 nights we were there. We were told to put our dirty towels out in a bag outside our door and towels would be replaced. They weren’t. Had to call for towels. The sink in our bathroom looked liked it was going to fall off the wall at any minute. Walls were super thin so you could hear everything. Not a pleasant experience. Don’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: I don’t recommend at all
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Seaberg, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Good Morning Donna, Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. We try our best to make sure all of our guests have a great stay and we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. During the pandemic, for the safety of our staff and guests, we are trying to limit the amount of times we enter guestrooms and are generally only doing housekeeping halfway through stays of seven days or longer. This has become a fairly standard policy across many hotels around the country over the last year and a half. If you had mentioned something to us, we would have gladly sent housekeepers to your room one day during your stay though. As you mentioned, we provide bags for guests to deposit used towels in and we place a bag of fresh towels in front of your door. This system usually works great, although on rare occasions we have had guests take towels from in front of another door that wasn't there's'. It sounds like that happened in your case and we're sorry for the inconvenience although I'm glad to hear that you called the front desk on this issue so we could promptly resolve it and bring you new towels. I'm also sorry to hear about any issues with your sink or your curtains. We try very hard to address any maintenance issues as soon as we learn of them, and if you had mentioned anything to us we would have gladly addressed them immediately to try to make sure they didn't negatively affect your stay. We are the very first to admit that our hotel is not super modern. There are many modern options around town, although they typically charge rates that are more than double ours (many are even 3-4x our rate). We have always tried to prioritize offering a clean, comfortable, and affordable lodging choice with great customer service over providing the most modern experience. We realize that we aren't the right choice for everyone, but most of our guests really do enjoy staying with us and we try really hard to give everyone a great vacation. We do hope you consider a future visit. We'll do everything we can to exceed your expectations. Mike and Shannon Innkeepers
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
toothboss2677 wrote a review Oct 2021
Hingham, Massachusetts7 contributions1 helpful vote
If your looking for a beautiful place with manicured grounds and beautiful gardens and fields go up the street to the Von Trapp Family Lodge. You will pay three times as much for what? Although this place was dated, it was miraculously clean. The young couple who (own) run the place were very amiable and helpful. And the price was right. Give this place a try!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We stayed in main building and that worked for us.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Seaberg, Owner at Northern Lights Lodge
Responded 14 Oct 2021
Thanks so much for staying with us and thanks for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope we have a chance to welcome you back in the future. Mike and Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
northern lights hotel stowe, northern lights stowe
LOCATION
United StatesVermontStowe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Northern Lights Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Northern Lights Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Remarkable Things at Stowe Craft (5.9 km), Stowe Recreation Path (3.1 km), and Smugglers Notch State Park (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Northern Lights Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Northern Lights Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Northern Lights Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Northern Lights Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Northern Lights Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Butler's Pantry, Stowe Bee Bakery & Cafe, and Harrison's Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Northern Lights Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Northern Lights Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Northern Lights Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Northern Lights Lodge?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Northern Lights Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tea at the Governor's House (14.5 km).
Is Northern Lights Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.