We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe

Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a budget Inn that is located just 3 miles from Main Street, and just 3.5 miles from the famous Mount Mansfield.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Golf Course
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
46Car recommended
Grade: 46 out of 100
71Restaurantswithin 10 km
53Attractionswithin 10 km
123Reviews
50Photos
0Q+A
23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 33
  • 28
  • 19
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I booked this place because it has a great deal for a one night stay and I needed a close by hotel for my mom. It looked very empty and easy to get lost within the complex, which resulted in my walking in on some person who sat in darkness staring at their laptop :D The lobby is
Read more
Response from Mountaineer I, Front Desk at The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. It allows us the chance to see where our improvements are needed, and where we are excelling. First we want to say that we apologize that your mother did not enjoy her stay with us. We work hard to provide excellent customer service to every guest. As pertaining to the hot tub- this is cleaned and monitored daily. If you ever find that the standard of cleanliness is not up to par we encourage all our guests to notify the front desk immediately so that we can rectify the situation and get it fixed immediately. We are glad you enjoyed the fireplace lobby, and the axolotls. If you find yourself in Stowe, VT again we would love the chance to have you again. Kindest Regards, Mountaineer Inn Staff
Read more
Our room had a hollow core door that carried every sound from the hallway, front desk etc. The (regular key...?) lock barely worked. There was an opening between the air conditioner unit and the wall that you could see out. Totally unacceptable. I realize this is not a fancy
Read more
Response from Mountaineer I, Front Desk at The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Hello, We are sorry to hear about the disappointing stay you had. We encourage you to email us about the room you stayed in so we can have maintenance inspect and address the issues mentioned. This is not our normal standard and we are truly sorry for this inconvenience. Our email address is innkeeper@stowemountaineerinn.com and we would appreciate the room number with the dates you stayed. Kindest Regards, Mountaineer Inn Staff
Read more
We had a mixed experience with this hotel during a New Year’s ski trip to Stowe. The staff was friendly and attentive, the lobby cozy, the pool and hot tub were splendid, and the hotel is in a good location to access the mountain. The hot breakfast was adequate, if somewhat
Read more
Response from Mountaineer I, Front Desk at The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is important to us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Inn for the most part. Great customer service and affordability are something we strive for here at the Mountaineer Inn. In response to the hotel room size, if your in the area again we encourage you to call about our family rooms! We have a limited number but they offer a bit more space for families. Kindest Regards, Mountaineer Inn Staff 802-253-7525
Read more
Older hotel but didn’t mind it. Kind of added to the charm. Beautiful setting. Beds not great. Needs updated bedding & more pillows. Has pool & hot tub but didn’t use. Standard continental breakfast. I would stay again.
Read more
Response from Mountaineer I, Front Desk at The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Hello, Thank you for your recent review of the Mountaineer Inn in Stowe. We are happy to hear you enjoyed everything and hope to see you again the next time you are in the Stowe area. Kindest Regards, Mountaineer Inn Staff 802-253-7525
Read more
Great heated pool and hot tub. Basic continental breakfast. Average motel accommodations but clean. It is easy to find and easy in and out. It was close to restaurants and the food at the recommended The Bench Restaurant was very good.
Read more
Response from Mountaineer I, Front Desk at The Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Hello Roger, Thank you for your review of the Mountaineer Inn in Stowe! Reviews are a great way for us to check in on how we are doing. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us (and our indoor pool area!) We hope to see you the next time you are in the Stowe area. Kindest Regards, Mountaineer Inn Staff 802-253-7525
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementThe Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
Guestroom
Amazing view from the patio
Photo provided by managementThe Mountaineer Inn at Stowe
View towards back of property
2nd story deck overlooking the river
The walkway behind the rooms
PreviousNext
1234
"Ask for a room that opens to the parking lot if you want ease of access. If you have a pet that you want to let out, ask downstairs room."
"Rooms facing the stream aee best"
"room 121 is on the back and nice view of the stream and mountains"
"Don't visit the mountaineer lots of nicer affordable places elsewhere"
"We were in the end unit and it was quiet and we heard very little if anything of other guests."
PreviousNext
12345
PRICE RANGE
US$ 82 - US$ 388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the mountaineer inn at stowe hotel stowethe mountaineer hotel stowemountaineer hotel stowe
LOCATION
United StatesVermontStowe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing