We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn at Montpelier

Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (2)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Inn at Montpelier offers a classic New England experience, with charming accommodations and close proximity to local attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
142Reviews
81Photos
2Q+A
13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 40
  • 26
  • 15
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Convenient location in the town of Montpelier. When I checked in I was told the room was a higher price than I was quoted via website booking but they did end up honoring the lower price, even for the additional night I decided to stay. I have a nice, clean room on the 2nd
Read more
Response from JKU147, General Manager at The Inn at Montpelier
Responded 20 Nov 2018
Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your lovely review! I really enjoyed talking with you, and I look forward to your next visit! Happy Holidays, Anna-lisa
Read more
I get the rooms out east are small so I have some understanding there, but if you an HVAC system can't cool a room of that size 12' X 12' to 74 degrees in 8 hours you need to work on it! The mattress was so bad (dipped terribly in both directions) my wife and I had to sleep
Read more
Response from JKU147, General Manager at The Inn at Montpelier
Responded 1 Nov 2018
Good Afternoon, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do turn off our AC unit during the winter because with an older building we cant have two systems operating at the same time. I am sorry that you were not cool enough. Room 6 is the smallest room we have in our entire Inn. That particular room does have a pillow top mattress which some love and others don't enjoy it as much. Our linens are certainly not K-mart brand. Again I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. I hope you choose to stay with us again and get to experience a larger room and we can show you that we have lots of different options for rooms. Best, Anna-lisa
Read more
Pleasant room in a separate building from the main inn, but it needed painting and was not clean. Worst of all there was no hot water in the morning! Staff said the boiler light had gone out, and this had clearly happened before! No offer was made to move to another room to
Read more
Response from JKU147, General Manager at The Inn at Montpelier
Responded 1 Nov 2018
Good Afternoon, There are some places in the Inn that do need painting and we plan to do lots of painting in the winter now that we have slowed down. We do keep our property very clean. Yes one morning we did notice there was a problem with our boiler and we immediately had someone out to fix it. We noticed the problem at 7:00am and the hot water was back and running by 9:00am. Given both of our buildings are 200 years old things do happen. I have been here five years and we have never run out of hot water. Unfortunately we did loose hot water that one morning and we also had a full house so there was no other room to move you too. As I mentioned before we had the hot water fixed within hours. I'm not quite sure why whoever was at the reception did not greet you. They most likely we talking with another guest. We would not ignore a guests on purpose. I am sorry that this was your experience and I wish I could have been there to explain that the hot water was fixed and you could shower. Please do not hesitate to send me an e-mail letting me know how I can make your experience with us better. We do care about our guests and we always want they to have the best time here with us. Best, Anna-lisa
Read more
On the edge of downtown Montpelier, this old, giant house has been converted into a hotel. It tries to be antique-y but ends up closer to shabby. The rooms are okay and we got a good night's sleep. But there is no climate control and the screen to our windows had holes.
Read more
Comfortable bed. King size with a day bed. Excellent breakfast. Bar if you need it. Room has an outdoor patio. Great for Eve I f cocktails. We were visiting Norwich University. Convenient access to the school. Can walk to great restaurants and every morning to Capital
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Room 21
PreviousNext
1234567
"we needed a lower floor as our bags were heavy..."
"I would avoid this hotel. It is overpriced."
"Choose a room in main yellow building."
"ask for front facing room...."
"Room 1, in the front, had good ventilation"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$ 170 - US$ 210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at montpelier hotel montpelier
LOCATION
United StatesVermontMontpelier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing