We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlebury Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Middlebury Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Middlebury Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 449: English reviews
Cumberland Foreside, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We spent an evening at the Inn while visiting colleges. We arrived in the late afternoon. The Inn was full of college swim teams but one would never have known how busy it was as the service was very attentive. We decided to have afternoon tea which was included in our room. It was very nice to sit in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz V
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. I can't guess when you were here by your weather report because we've had so many brutally cold days this year (we're expecting snow tomorrow and it's almost Easter!). Actually I do remember the Swim Team weekend because I felt sorry for the swimmers with their wet hair in this cold. I'm pleased that... More 

South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2015

My wife and I using TravelZoo spent two nights at this historic old inn. Wow. From the moment we first walked in, Patricia (at the desk) made us feel like we had come home.What a pleasant check-in process. Our room looked out on a commons and the king bed enveloped us in comfort.The breakfasts were like lumberjacks in volume and... More 

Helpful?
Thank joe d
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'll say WOW as well - what a nice review! We love our Travel Zoo visitors and for good reason. I'll make sure to let Patricia and Gloria know of your nice comments - they'll be thrilled! As a full service Inn, we try to deliver the whole experience, whether a clean and comfortable room, a satisfying breakfast or a... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 nights during a snow storm at the Middlebury Inn in a lovely room with a king 4 poster bed, WIFI and a big flat screen TV. The room and bath were very clean. Loved looking at all the antiques. Breakfast menu was traditional VT and the food excellent. We could not finish ours either day. Staff was... More 

Helpful?
Thank DEPar
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

We hope you will return in a warmer season, although we're beginning to doubt if that is actually coming this year. There is nothing more pleasant than relaxing on our veranda with a cup of Tea or a Cocktail and watching the goings on downtown. Thank you for letting our Trip Advisor customers know of your stay. Geoff Conrad General... More 

North Kingstown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We have stayed twice at this Inn. What a great location! charming building, friendly staff - but the cleanliness on each occasion was disappointing. First time we stayed we found empty condom wrapper, broken cookie and blood stained bedspread in the room and hair in bathroom - we let the staff person on duty and know and received a sincere... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry your room wasn't up to our usual high standards. You're absolutely correct that hospitality is a package deal - service, comfort, cleanliness go hand in hand and we can't expect someone to return if we don't meet all of their expectations. I hope you'll give us another opportunity - we've learned a lesson. Thank you for letting us... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2015

HIgh ceilings, oriental rugs, hallways lined with bookshelves (with actual books--I found myself reading an old Reader's Digest Condensed Books...)--the Inn is beautiful. My son and I were upgraded to a room with two beautiful four-poster queen beds and two bathrooms--very luxurious. No inroom coffee makers, but I asked the desk clerk and he made me a pot of tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. I always debate leaving the Readers Digest Condensed Books out. We have a lot of them. I was a big fan growing up and I'm happy to see someone else is as well. One of the reasons we have so many books is at one point our restaurant was known as the Open Book... More 

Glenville, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2015

I have been a guest at Middlebury Inn on several occasions over the years, and I have never had a bad experience. The overall warmth and charming New England ambiance has, thankfully, endured through the years. Each room, in which I have stayed, has been unique and comfortable, and the staff has always been courteous and helpful. I am also... More 

Helpful?
Thank PattyR63
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for returning and trusting us with your lodging needs when you visit Middlebury. What differentiates any hotel from the other is warm, friendly service and here in Vermont this comes naturally to our employees. You also touched on a few of our most frequently noted attractions - our Afternoon Tea, our great Breakfasts and our proximity to... More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015

I spent a few days at the hotel around Christmas time and found it to be a nice hotel that manages to retain it's vintage feel without sacrificing on comfort. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Only complaints would be that the room got somewhat cold at night. The in-the-window air conditioner/heating unit's operating instructions were a little inscrutable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cranky_NYC
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. Christmas in Middlebury is charming and especially cold this year. I'm sorry that our systems had trouble keeping up, but all the more reason to return in our beautiful summer season where you can throw the windows open and breath the clear Vermont air. We love to have our... More 

Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2014

We just returned from an overnight stay at The Middlebury Inn. I had booked online through Orbitz.com and checked in with no trouble. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful! I loved the Afternoon Tea that was offered. We enjoyed cider, coffee and cookies by the fireplace when we arrived. The rooms are lovely - (a bit small compared to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bazingo99 .
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

What lovely comments! You touched on all the features that make the Middlebury Inn special and even great WiFi - here in Vermont no less. I'm happy that you were able to enjoy our afternoon tea even if we weren't open for dinner. I don't think we're that far from Torrington, so no excuses for not revisiting now that you've... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay in this pleasant historic hotel. Yes, some of the bath fixtures are older. But that just added to the charm. We stayed with our two kids who loved it. All within walking distance of the perfect Vermont winter scene in Middlebury. For a similar price it easily was a better value than the nearby chain hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Merlinguy17
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

We've had some beautiful December weather and that can make our quaint town of Middlebury very inviting. We always say that we're more of what your're looking for in a Vermont hotel that our chain rivals down the street. But of course they have their fans as well. We're happy you were able to enjoy your stay here with your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

I could go on all day with a huge story of my stay, but I'll keep it simple! Rooms could use a update, Chantal was great at the front desk, the evening staff though could use some kinda management to keep these kids in line in a professional manor. Seemed to be a lot gooding off not only at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank M-mcbutter
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review

These comments certainly didn't make my day. I won't deny that this happened, because I spoke with the 'kids' involved, but I'm sure it won't happen again. I'm pleased that your stay was satisfactory other than those two incidents, although it sounds like you wanted to elaborate. Sorry that this isn't the venue for more give and take - I'm... More 

719 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (645)
Viewed
Annex Deluxe King Room (43)
Viewed
Annex Two Double Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Double Room (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Room (38)
Viewed
King Suite (55)
Viewed
Luxury One King Room (45)
Viewed
Luxury Two Queen Room (50)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Luxury King Room (34)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Luxury Queen Room (36)
Viewed
Porter Mansion Queen Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)
Viewed
Two Queen Suite (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.6 km away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
206 reviews
27.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
184 reviews
3.3 km away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
25.7 km away
Basin Harbor Club
Basin Harbor Club
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Price Range: ₹ 8,250 - ₹ 11,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middlebury Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Middlebury Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front of the inn can be loud. I would ask for a higher room with a courtyard view.”
 of 5 bubbles CJean12, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try and find a room where the sun doesn't shine in early in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles kimmie92592, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room in the newer section in the back was somewhat noisy”
 of 5 bubbles xxrrttyy, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It is a nice sall town. Not much noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get away from the street rooms if you are a light sleeper (Look Out for Mack Trucks)”
 of 5 bubbles MCP2006, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay