We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Palmer House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palmer House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 294: English reviews
Start your review of Palmer House
 Click to rate
Wilton, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is excellent! You can walk to town for shopping, food and drinks. We were about 25 minutes away from Stratton mountain. The room itself was clean and large. The decor was a little outdated; for example, we had some problems with the thermostat getting stuck and the room temperature exceeding 80 degrees, but my husband was able to...

Thank dbott42
Madison, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We spent a long weekend at the motel. The rooms are nice but DO NOT let them put you above the pool. You can hear everything. Screaming and yelling from people playing all day and the pool closes late at night. My tow kids could not sleep due to the screaming. Plus their rooms have no pull outs beds in...

Thank duffysbar
Curitiba, Brazil
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was great staying at Palmer House! It was exactly what I was looking for! Amy, from the front desk, was super helpfull. The hotel has great location in Manchester: it is close to restaurants, pharmacy, supermarket, gas station, stores and to Stratton Mountain (where we went to ski). Cozy room - clean; enough space; every time I opened the...

1Thank damarist436
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review of our property. We work very hard to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again Have a great day

New England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here unexpectedly during a snowstorm. Room was much larger and more nicely appointed than expected Rutland a 50's style motel. Very clean. Desk person was quite welcoming. Nice place for a reasonably priced overnight stay connected compared to other prices we checked in Manchester.

1Thank ILoveHospitality
Management response:

Thank you for writing a nice review of our property. We feel that we are a great value and work very hard to exceed all of our guests expectations. We feel very fortunate to have such a great team. We look forward to welcoming you again

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I was here for a family vacation! Clean and spacious rooms, clean bathrooms, wifi connection and a beautiful view! The owner, Tina, was really nice and courteous and was really helpful with any doubts that we had!

Thank Pau I
Management response:

Pau, Thank you for writing a review of our property. We work very hard to make this the best place for a family on vacation and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Alan. General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Overall this place looks wonderful, has very friendly staff, nice grounds, nice rooms and comfortable beds. It looses one star for lacking reliable Internet access (it worked for no more than 30 minutes then stopped working with no recourse as the front desk closes by 9pm). For business travel requiring reliable Internet, this is very disappointing and frustrating. It looses...

Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of increasing the reliability of our internet and we are investigating the outside light situation that you described. We are glad that overall you had a good experience at the property and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Alan General Manager

Reviewed 16 December 2016

On our dream trip to the US which included the magical Vermont, we were fortunate to choose this beautiful little gem in Manchester. Absolutely chocolate box perfection from the cupolas with weather vanes to the extremely generous rooms. Clean and quiet and breakfast included was fabulous. We will definitely return on our next trip to The States.

Thank Samantha W
Management response:

Samantha, Thank you for writing such a nice review of our property. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and are glad that you had a nice vacation. We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in the States. Alan General Manager

Reviewed 8 December 2016

The Palmer is a very nice facility. The suite was very spacious, the grounds beautifully kept, and included a variety of activity options. Available during Winter ski season as well, the PALMER HOUSE offers you an "any season" option at very reasonable mid-range rates.

1Thank Dave N
Management response:

Dave, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write such a nice review of our property. We work very hard to make our guests comfortable and are glad that you had a nice stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Alan General Manager

Southport, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 December 2016

The grounds are really quite beautiful with excellent views of the mountains. "Palmer House" seems to be a bit of a misnomer as the rooms are a series of outcrop buildings NOT a historical inn. The whole lot was recently purchased and they intend to upgrade and modernize the dwellings. However, we found our stay to be incredibly quiet, private,...

1Thank Nuevodive
Management response:

Nuevodive, Thank for for sharing your thoughts and experience with us. We work very hard to exceed our guests expectations and we apologize that you had expected a more upscale breakfast. We will certainly take your comments to heart and incorporate them into our future planning We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Morrisonville, NY
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We spent one night at this "resort' on Thanksgiving Day Weekend. The Palmer House building in the front of the complex is very handsome and inviting. However the string of motel room that we stayed in was dated and the run down. The walls were thin and joint buckles abound. I made the mistake of booking the room through Global...

3Thank xcitableboi

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (74)
Room/Suite (12)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
View from Room (7)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (1)
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (25)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
View from Room (3)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (10)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.3 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 15 in Manchester
542 reviews
2.4 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 15 in Manchester
237 reviews
2.6 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
2.9 km away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 15 in Manchester
216 reviews
0.9 km away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#8 of 15 in Manchester
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palmer House is a 4 season resort located in Manchester center, only a 1/2 mile from the center of town. We offer a variety of rooms and suites with either a king bed or two double beds. Our suites offer a king bed, fireplace, two person jacuzzi and a private balcony with views of the trout pond and Equinox Mountain. During the summer and fall months enjoy our 9 hole par 3 golf course, two tennis courts and our own stocked trout pond. In the summer take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool with attached jacuzzi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palmer House

Address: 5383 Main Street , Route 7A North, Manchester, VT 05255
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Price Range: ₹ 7,776 - ₹ 15,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmer House 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Palmer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmer House Hotel Manchester
Palmer Hotel Manchester Center
Palmer Motel Manchester Center
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#7 Green Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palmer House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
5 months ago
Swampscott, Massachusetts
7 months ago
Randolph, Vermont
Easton, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Palmer House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The facility has a substantial set-back from the road. We found it quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveN519, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rm 38 is remote, quite, very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles Nuevodive, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have good views.”
 of 5 bubbles fasteddie7772016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good but the ones to the rear of the property have two doors, one to the car parking and one to the lawns.”
 of 5 bubbles 702catherines, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Many rooms allow you to park your car at the door.”
 of 5 bubbles PamKullo, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5