We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Prospector

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Prospector
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Prospector
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I had called to ask for a fireplace in my room... was called back quickly and told they would do their best, Upon my arrival my room was wonderful - with fireplace~ Clean, comfortable and cozy! Will be booking again next year and would highly recommend to others! Close to everything but still quiet!

Thank PK3333
sharon f, General Manager at The Prospector, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments we hope you visit again soon.

New York
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This was not my first choice for business convention but everything else was booked. This place was near the convention so the location was convenient. The room was noisy with a parking lot in front and bus stop. The room heater raddled at night. This place did not have a business center, the internet did not work properly with a...

Thank GrisGrisNewYork
sharon f, Manager at The Prospector, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, however we do offer front desk service and daily housekeeping service. You may have booked your unit through an owner directly or another management company that owns units here. We would be happy to offer you a discount on your stay if you book directly with our property. 435-658-3030 Thank you, Sharon

Page, Arizona
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We found this hotel on Expedia.com and it was a fairly good rate for being so close to town and for having a kitchen in the room (suite). The property was nice, nothing luxurious but nice. However, they seemed overwhelmed. Our check-in time was delayed 1.5 hours because they hadn't cleaned our room. We were told it would take only...

Thank AzChica33
sharon f, General Manager at The Prospector, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the late check in and the fact that you had trouble reaching me. I am on property throughout the week and the staff is able to reach me by phone when not. I appreciate all of your comments and assure you they will be addressed. We hope that you will consider us again in...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is the FIRST TIME I have EVER felt compelled to write a bad review about anything!! I stayed in a room that had NO HEAT during a snow storm. I had a late arrival, and the night desk is unmanned. So, when I got to my room I had to sleep in my coat. Ordinarily, I wouldn't have minded...

1Thank GAIL C
sharon f, Manager at The Prospector, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the heater issue that occured while you were here on property. It is our goal to provide great customer service. We did offer two choices for you a discount or a free night to return and the discount was chosen. I understand that you are not satisfied so I would be happy to discuss...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My wife won a contest from the Park City Visitor's Bureau that included 2 nights at The Prospector. We already had a room outside of Park City for the week, so this was a nice change of pace for us. Our room was nicely furnished, with a huge log frame bed, comfortable sofa and chairs, a kitchen area, and cable...

Thank Shane W
sharon f, General Manager at The Prospector, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments. We just took over the property in August 2012 and are making some great changes. We hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you, Sharon Fuller

Fremont, CA
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stayed here for the weekend to snowboard at Park City Resort and the Canyons. I chose it basically because it was the cheapest spot in Park City. Ok location, the free bus line stops in front. This hotel is old but clean and had good service. Very basic but served its purpose. I goofed on the hotel dates but we...

Thank islandgirl80
sharon f, General Manager at The Prospector, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologize that your stay was not perfect we hope you will give us another opportunity. We are making alot of changes to the property but will still remain a condo/hotel with individual owners of each unit which is the reasons for the hard keys and different decor in each unit. Thank you. Sharon Fuller

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Prospector is more of a condo complex rather than a hotel, and different rooms/units most likely belong to different owners. I guess that explains the mixed reviews. My husband and I stayed there during our skiing trip, end of February - beginning of March, with another couple. Our room (building 5, room 532) was excellent. We were on the...

3Thank MariaZ011
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This place has nothing to be proud of. The front desk said the hot tub would be open until 8pm so my fiance and I scheduled our evening around their time line. We tried to go to the hot tub around 6:45pm and low and behold it was closed. There was no one to help us or open it. absolutely...

1Thank Ola G
Colo. Spgs.
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed in Unit 625 in building six. I have stayed in two other ski towns in Colorado and thought I would find it disappointing. It was clean comfortable and fairly spacious as the ceiling was vaulted. There was a ceiling fan and a deck. The bed closest to the kitchen area was uncomfortable to me as it was too soft,...

Thank mosqrd
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I'm at The Prospector for the third year in a row, and this time we're staying in one of the 3-bedroom units on the 3rd floor. Each unit is different, and this one is beautiful. The master bed/bath is huge and comfortable; the two other bedrooms share a newly rennovated bath with a platform tub. Park City is an easy...

1Thank travel-hawthorne

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (9)
Room/Suite (7)
Hotel & Grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Park City hotels
0.3 km away
Prospector Accommodations
Prospector Accommodations
#55 of 60 in Park City
28 reviews
2.5 km away
Treasure Mountain Inn Hotel and Conference Center
1.7 km away
Chateau Apres Lodge
Chateau Apres Lodge
#33 of 60 in Park City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Newpark Resort & Hotel
Newpark Resort & Hotel
#9 of 60 in Park City
672 reviews
1.7 km away
The Lodge at the Mountain Village by ASRL
0.4 km away
Club Lespri
Club Lespri
#3 of 3 in Park City
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Park City like a local and enjoy breathtaking scenery, unparalleled skiing, mountain recreation, fine dining, and so much more. The Prospector Lodge and Convention Center, an official venue of the Sundance Film Festival, has ideal corporate meeting space and lodging facilities conveniently located within the heart of Park City. With ski resorts and Main Street only 5 minutes away, The Prospector Lodge is the perfect place to stay. Our privately owned condominium style accommodations offer a real Park City feel. Guests can choose studio accommodations with either one or two queen beds, a loft with 1 queen and a sofa sleeper, or a 3-bdrm condo that sleeps 8. Most units have full kitchens, many have fireplaces and some even have a washer and dryer and dishwasher, and all are within a block of the Silver Mountain Sports Club and Spa. We have a 24 hour Front Desk for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Prospector

Address: 2175 Sidewinder Dr, Park City, UT 84060-7483
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Park City
Price Range: ₹ 4,210 - ₹ 15,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Prospector 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prospector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Prospector Hotel Park City
The Prospector Park City, Utah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Prospector staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Prospector staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on the second floor, no noise from those above.”
760andyd, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not rent”
paulaS3131XW, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Steer clear of this dump!”
TracyF681, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a patio in the summers.”
  • New patio's to your room.
A9211XKthomask, 6 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Go to the Holiday Inn Express out at the junction”
peterballantine, 1 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5