We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Love this historic building! This is my second time here. Such beautiful architecture and design. Love the hot, breakfast buffet. It's one of the better complimentary ones. Real restaurant quality unlike some other free hotel breakfasts. The rooms are always clean, comfy, and very spacious with a living room and bar area. Love the bathtub with water jets. So relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Justin R, Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at the Historic Ben Lomond Suites, Ogden. I am delighted that we met your lodging expectations. Also, thank you for being a returning guest with us. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to seeing you this fall. Safe Traveling, Susan Cross...

Fernandina Beach, Florida
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Just love this hotel and our room. Very comfortable beds, spacious suite (excellent price), lots of amenities, clean looking and smelling, unique building and restaurants within walking distance, beautiful mountain scenery and more. They don't rent out the 10th or 11th floor unless you are staying one month or longer because they are condos. It is such a lovely property....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boomer_babe_travels
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear boomer_babe_travels, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Historic Ben Lomond Suites, Ogden. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. Being the 2nd Oldest Hotel in Utah, we are able to offer guests charm and a uniqueness that other hotels can not. I thank you for the comment on the WIFI, we are looking into...

Tempe
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Seattledirtbag gave nearly exactly my experience / impression. Lovely place, accommodating staff (we needed to Wifi-Skype meetings until 2pm, after checkout) plus constant coffee ;-) and great breakfast that surpassed our expectations. Fun to walk around and look at the high-res images all over the Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackemeyer
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jackemeyer, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Historic Ben Lomond Suites, Ogden. I am glad that we were able to meet your lodging expectations. Being the second oldest hotel in Ogden, we do have a lot of history. We had the bootlegging, prostitution, and corrupt cops all within the doors of...

seattle
Reviewed 27 March 2016

i'm so glad that places like this still exist. that the Ramadas and the Westins haven't completely taken over, and we can have just a teeny little sense of some history and culture while we go about our daily business. or pleasure. we came to town to ski, and would rather spend less and be in town (especially when Powder...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seattledirtbag
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Historic Ben Lomond Suites, Ogden. I am delighted that you enjoyed the history and ambiance that the hotel creates. Being the second oldest hotel in Utah, we definitely have plenty of history to share. In the future, we would appreciate your choosing to stay with us again when...

Reviewed 26 March 2016

We stayed in a suite for a dance competition and when I booked it I didn't know the historic/haunted nature of this hotel. I loved the vintage feel of old time music playing over speakers as we walked in (back in time), the old post box, mirrored elevators, and detailed ceilings, decorations and ornate assembly area. The elevators were like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chasingparis
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChasingParis, Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the Historic Ben Lomond Suites. We appreciate your comments and have taken them seriously. I have forwarded your review onto our owners so that they know what the guests are feeling. Because, things are constantly changing within a hotel, we would ask that in the future, we...

Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Let me say to start off that despite my feelings about this "historic" hotel, I really didn't have any complaints. It just was not what I expected. I used to be in the antique business and LOVE staying at historic hotels, but something was lacking here if you are looking for an authentic historic place to stay. While there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelly12364
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chelly12364, Thank you for your responses concerning your recent stay at the hotel. I have forwarded your review onto our owners, so that know what the guests are experiencing. Things change constantly in a hotel, and we would appreciate your choosing to stay with us again in the future. Safe Traveling, Susan Cross AGM / DOS Ben Lomond Suites...

Reviewed 16 March 2016

We were really excited to stay here and close to home for our anniversary. After reading reviews we had high hopes and went with recommendations of staying in a corner room because the views were good and the rooms huge. The room itself is very large with a sitting area, and separate bedroom. We knew it would be old but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather F
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the hotel. I can only re-iterate to you as I have done on the other social media sites that you commented to; that we are sorry that we did not meet your lodging expectations. Your feedback is extremely important to us. As I have stated, your review has...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Historical hotel, interesting lobby, music playing, lots of history throughout the hotel, Free parking in the garage, central location in Ogden. The room was spacious, it is a suite, but inside it was outdated. And even though no complaints on the cleanliness, everything WAS Clean, but is did not Feel clean, because toilet, shower are quite old, and showing signs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Odessa J
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Odessa J, Thank you for taking the time to respond to TripAdvisor concerning your recent stay at the Ben Lomond. We appreciate all comments and suggestions that our guests leave for us. I have forwarded your review onto our owners for further information. I have also spoken to our Breakfast Team so that they know where improvements need to...

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed last night for a mini getaway for Valentine's Day with the boyfriend. Staff was super nice, the rooms are to DIE for, and the breakfast was tasty and had a wide variety of goods. The beds are so comfy and they have a great selection of channels on the tv. We had a queen suite with a sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra C
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cassandra, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your recent stay with us. I am delighted that we met your expectations. You are correct, are rooms are BIG!! Being the second oldest hotel in Utah, being built in the 1800's all hotel rooms were made large. This is a major selling point...

Decatur, GA
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Our family planned a large New Year's Eve wedding here at this historic hotel. I loved the spacious "room suites" The suites are very large and oh so comfortable. I haven't ever enjoyed a hotel suite as much. The "jacuzzi" whirlpool bathtub in my bathroom was a wonderful addition. I had snowcapped mountain views, city park views in the cozy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reelmind
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reelmind, On behalf of the Historic Ben Lomond Suites, Ogden we thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor concerning your recent stay with us in December. We are delighted that we met your lodging expectations. Being the "2nd Oldest Hotel in Utah," we have so much to offer our guests that more modern hotels cannot. We...

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
272 reviews
8.1 km away
Alaskan Inn
Alaskan Inn
#8 of 21 in Ogden
109 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Price Range: ₹ 5,430 - ₹ 9,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher elevation gets some nice views- also take a walk down the high street.”
 of 5 bubbles Seahorse-JOburg, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Close to Christmas Village”
 of 5 bubbles 75tracieh, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher the better if you a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Y5889CEstevem, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner room will not disappoint.”
 of 5 bubbles Lookylou8, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you inspect the bed in your assigned room before you you accept.”
 of 5 bubbles MountainCyclist, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5