We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 21 Hotels in Ogden
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 333: English reviews
Start your review of Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
 Click to rate
Middletown
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great lodging option for downtown Ogden. Hotel still has most of its 1920s charm. Hotel is going through a major renovation, so most of the rooms have been updated. Rooms are Suites, so there is a sitting room, with a small fridge & microwave, and a separate bed area. Reasonably priced, and only a few blocks from bars and restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jed P
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 18 December 2016

This is a 3 star hotel if you just look at the rooms. They are old but VERY clean. I felt fine letting my baby crawl on the carpet. The bed was comfortable and we had a great view of the Christmas lights. The rates were great and the room was as expected. The customer service here is amazing! My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marci H
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marci H, Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor concerning your recent stay at the Historic Ben Lomond Suites Hotel, Ogden. We are glad that you found the rooms suiting your needs. We are all very excited for the remodel of this hotel and look forward to serving Ogden with it's only Full Service Hotel. We...

Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

They have refurbished most of the rooms in his classic old hotel - redone rooms are tastefully done in the classic retro look. Breakfast is made to order and is included with the room. Location is ideal in top of the hill overlooking downtown- whenever I stay in the Ogden area I always stay at the Ben Lomond

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel M
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Young Lady that check us in approx. 6pm didn't know much of anything! She didn't NOT explain the voucher for breakfast, didn't explain how to hook-up internet, she didn't know when the dining area open for breakfast. Asked for a city map & general questions about Ogden...she didn't know nothing! This young lady needed to go back to basic training!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobVera
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RobVera, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. We apologize that you incurred issues and were not given proper information. I have forwarded your review onto our front desk manager so that further training can be done with our staff. We would appreciate your choosing to stay with us again for a stellar experience. Sincerely, Susan Cross...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife, 1 year old, and I stayed in a two-bedroom guest room. We got the two-bedroom so we could put our son in the other room and hopefully give everyone better sleep. The room was perfect for what we needed. The price was great, setup was great, and experience with staff was great. I would absolutely recommend this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ando3252
Towson, Maryland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We spent almost a week at this historic hotel right on 25th street in Ogden. The good: beautiful period ceilings, marble floors, brass and beautiful chandeliers, and many friendly and enthusiastic young staff. The not so good: the rooms are a little long in the tooth (though they are updating carpet and some furniture), the HVAC seems to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beegirl2016
Fishers, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed 7 nights while doing volunteer work in the area Pros: My recently renovated room was huge, exceptionally clean, and comfortable. On-site restaurant was good - see separate review for Bigelow Grill. One block from 25th St historic district with many restaurants Cons: As you enter the front door, you have the immediate pleasure of lugging your bags up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herestoadventures
Tucson
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not take the breakfast option....they charge you for it anyway. They are very confused due to the change of management. My understanding is that both the hotel and the restaurant manager quit in a dispute. They charged us for breakfast and charged more for the room that we were confirmed for. This hotel has a lot of potential. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
NH
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are actually here for 3 nights. Received a great rate. Their website instructed to call for a better rate for 3 or more nights. When I called a very rude young lady told me to call the 800 number for a discount. I explained what the website said and I finally dragged a discount out of her. She was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SandpiperNH
Cross S, Director of Sales at Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SandpiperNH, Thank you for taking the time to respond on your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. However, we appreciate your comments and I have sent them on to the various departments that impacted your stay. You are correct, we are in the process of a total renovation on the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This elegant hotel features large rooms and mountain views. The in house restaurant and bar are superb! The location is easy to walk down 25th street where there is an assortment of bars and restaurants - however no one compared to the food at the hotel restaurant! We skied Powder Mt., and the bus picks up at the hotel. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogden hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ogden
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Country Inn
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ogden UT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 21 in Ogden
276 reviews
8.1 km away
Alaskan Inn
Alaskan Inn
#8 of 21 in Ogden
109 reviews
0.5 km away
Courtyard Ogden
Courtyard Ogden
#7 of 21 in Ogden
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in Utah's second oldest hotel. It is rich in history including the gambling, extortion, bootlegging and corrupt cops. Step back in time and have the Grand Dame of Ogden welcome you. Just like Mae West in the 20s and 30s, the Historic Ben Lomond Suites ran the city. She was big and boisterous and ran the town her way. The Ben Lomond is the only all suite hotel located in downtown Ogden. Ben Lomond Suites is located in the epicenter of Ogden. All within walking distance of numerous independent restaurants and bars, shopping, night life, theaters, Ogden Eccles Conference Center, Ogden Amphitheater, Egyptian Theater, Salomon Center. All rooms are suites with microwave, fridges. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel with separate living rooms and bedrooms. Free wireless internet, and free covered parking. Ben Lomond Hotel has a business center, fitness center, and coin operated guest laundry. Ben Lomond Hotel also has 6 event spaces that have capacities of 25 to 350 guests. Ben Lomond Hotel has two great restaurants and a bar. Breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as room service are available daily at the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Bigelow Grill. Fine evening dining can be found at Restaurant 1107 located on the hotel's 11th floor. Come and enjoy Ogden's history and find out why Al Capone said, "Ogden is too rough a town for me!" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 2510 Washington Blvd, Ogden, UT 84401-3137
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Ogden
Price Range: ₹ 5,146 - ₹ 8,729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Lomond Historic Suite
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ogden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogden
#3 Family Hotel in Ogden
#6 Business Hotel in Ogden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ben Lomond Suites Historic Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms ending in "10" are located in the corner of the building and will have windows on two sides”
 of 5 bubbles JedP, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be place in the recent remodel rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles RobVera, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The King's suite are the best rooms”
 of 5 bubbles jaytS8737KB, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we were in room 403 and it was huge and comfortable!”
 of 5 bubbles 911geoffs, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“higher elevation gets some nice views- also take a walk down the high street.”
 of 5 bubbles Seahorse-JOburg, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5