We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
104 E 12th St, Shamrock, TX 79079-1820
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$85
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$80
View deal
Travelocity$86
Hotels.com$86
Priceline$89
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 12/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Western Motel
Updated 12/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 9 hotels in Shamrock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Western Motel Motel is conveniently located off Route 66 and Interstate 40 providing easy access to many local points of interest. This Shamrock, TX hotel is across the street from the historic Tower Station and U-Drop Inn
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
ATM on site
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
159Reviews2Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 35
  • 9
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Will Marsh wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
I was so fortunate that Western Motel had a room available. The night clerk was very pleasant. I was overjoyed to find the key was real just like in the 60's. The entire Motel has kept the Route 66 era alive. Our room and the property were very clean. Our room was very adequate. Upon checking out the General Manager shared info of the area and was obviously very proud of the motel. I definitely will stay there again and spend time as a tourist.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chris Briley wrote a review Aug 2022
Joplin, Missouri37 contributions
We stayed here during a Christmas Route 66 trip. We wanted to stay close to some of the more iconic attractions. The room was very clean, comfortable, and the staff was very nice. We have recommended this motel several time and we plan on staying here again next month.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Hello Chris, Thanks for the stay and your continued patronage. As a premier hotel along I 66, we strive to provide a guest experience that serves a variety of traveler preferences. It is really nice to note that you liked the room,amenities and hospitality. We'll continue to provide you with a great stay when you need it, and you're sure to enjoy it again. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MLE0904 wrote a review Jul 2022
Las Vegas, Nevada623 contributions205 helpful votes
WE arrived here late on July 4th. We were assigned a second floor room but there is no elevator so we switched to a first floor room. It was facing west and the sun had been pouring in all day so the room was about 90 degrees. I immediately closed the drapes and turned up the AC. The room cooled very quickly and we went to bed. All night the firecrackers seemed to be right outside our window. When we got up the next morning we found out that the windows had been left open all night hence the noise. What a credit to the AC system that it kept the room cool even with the windows open. The room was comfortable but basic with a very small bathroom. It was clean and had everything we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Dear Marcia, Thank you for staying with us and appreciating the amenities. I regret the noise trouble you had due to the fire cracker issue as the windows were open,but still hope that you are satisfied with our hotel and hospitality. We are a preferred choice of tourists along I-66 and hope that you will be back again whenever you are in this area. Guest satisfaction is our priority. Looking forward to welcoming you soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ladyoflux wrote a review Jul 2022
Melbourne, Australia255 contributions105 helpful votes
We had a lovely large room overlooking the Conoco Tower. Only downside is lugging suitcases upstairs. Air conditioning was good but loud. Beds were comfy. Would have loved somewhere to put our toiletries in the bathroom. Not much to do in Shamrock, probably would have preferred an extra night in Amarillo instead.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Hello Mr & Mrs Weinel, Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and the feedback.I hope you liked the overall stay. At the same time I understand your concerns with the AC noise. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we are doing everything possible to address them.I am confident that you will give us another opportunity to offer a great experience which you will cherish. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Priscilla D wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Was traveling back east and stopped here for a night. I found it to be clean and had everything you could ask for in a room with a great price too. I would recommend this place to anyone and the staff is very friendly. I wish I had time to visit the Sunoco station across the street but just did not have the time. This is how Route 66 should be.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Hello Priscilla, Thanks for helping us by offering this review. We thank you for appreciating our services and staff members. Lot of guests leave our hotel happy each month. Nothing means more to us than showing our guests that we're the very best hotel in this area. We look forward to having you with us again. Thanks again for saying what you think. It's very helpful. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jwalker506 wrote a review May 2022
Springfield, Missouri47 contributions8 helpful votes
As travelers of Route 66, my husband and I, as well as our Roadie friends, love staying here! The owners are very friendly and accommodating; they also make sure their rooms are clean and comfortable! The owners know most Route 66ers LOVE neon, so we usually get to stay upstairs, facing the U Drop Inn and it’s beautiful neon. The owners recently repainted the rooms, which were already nice. The beds are cozy and comfy!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 2 Jun 2022
Hello Judy & Richard Walker, Thank you so much for your stay and gracious remarks! Taking care of our guests is our highest priority and it's so good to hear that our guests are satisfied with the stay and our hospitality.I am quite glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We are proud to be the prime choice of travelers along Route 66. Looking forward to continued patronage and visits. Warm Regards, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LuvIreland wrote a review Apr 2022
Montana109 contributions44 helpful votes
I really wanted to like this motel but it was just ok. I knew it was an older place when I made the reservation but aside from a few cosmetic touches it is still pretty basic inside. The furniture is outdated and I’d guess the carpet and drapes have been there awhile. The a/c ran continuously which was actually ok as it helped drown out the highway noise. With our dog and tax we paid $117 (with AAA), so it really wasn’t a hot bargain. The upside was being able to park right in front of our room. The people who helped check us in were very friendly and the room seemed clean. We gave it a try but doubt we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Hello Rebecca Miller, Thanks for the stay and the feedback with your likes and dislikes. Most of our guests leave highly satisfied and appreciating our service. However,guest comments are valuable inputs for us to better our services. Your observations will definitely be checked and improved wherever required. You can expect a further improved stay next time. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OutdoorsyTypes wrote a review Apr 2022
Midwest26 contributions39 helpful votes
After a long day of travel, we were warmly welcomed. The front desk even remembered us from when we had to cancel the previous year due to Covid. The room we had was very spacious, and very clean. You can't beat the location to see the beautiful Route 66 Tower Station across the street, both day & night! Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Hello Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and the wonderful feedback. Your generosity in appreciating our hotel staff and the dedicated services is very much encouraging. It is our privilege to host guests like you, who makes us run that extra mile towards guest satisfaction. Guests like you are the real ambassadors for our hotel. We will be really excited to welcome you again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joshua R wrote a review Apr 2022
Yuma, Arizona1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. Fantastic bed (Mattress is kinda firm), super clean, great decor and paint scheme in the room. Staff was friendly and attentive. Also, super high pressure shower with a nice wide curtain bar in a very clean bathroom. 5 out of 5!!! Would love to stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at our property. It has been a great pleasure having you as our valued guest. We are immensely grateful for your positive comments. Our team is delighted to read that you enjoyed the friendly service of our staff. Please do visit us again for an awesome experience. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith George wrote a review Mar 2022
Killeen, Texas3 contributions2 helpful votes
This is my "go-to" place to stay when I am traveling around Texas- The local history of Shamrock is amazing. Staying at the Western Motel makes these visits so much better. The owners ensure clean rooms, and great service every time. I am never disappointed, or surprised. I will always stay here when Traveling Texas and the heading North to other adventures.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for room 223 or 222, you will have a great view of the "U-Drop Inn" across the street.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, General Manager at Western Motel
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at our property. I am happy to read that you had a nice time during your stay with us. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and experience has always been our mission! We truly value the opinions of our customers. I look forward to seeing you back again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$78 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasShamrock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Western Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Western Motel?
Nearby attractions include Tower Station and U-Drop Inn Café (0.06 km), Shamrock Water Tower (1.3 km), and Blarney Stone (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Western Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Western Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Western Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Western Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Western Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mesquite Canyon Steakhouse, Hasty's Restaurant, and Rusty's On 66.
Are any cleaning services offered at Western Motel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Western Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Western Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shamrock Water Tower (1.3 km) and Conoco Tower Station (0.05 km).