We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Outback Oasis Motel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanderson
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Start your review of Outback Oasis Motel
 Click to rate
Liberty, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on our way to Big Bend National Park and drove as far as we could. We stayed one night at the Outback Oasis Motel. It is an old fashioned Motel that is showing it's age. I felt the room was dated but clean. The rate was $45.00 per night and we were thankful for a place to rest....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scook112301
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is a very average motel but it'll do for a night. It's old and the age shows. The rooms are small and still feel much as they did decades ago. The bed was okay, the pillows flat, and the TV didn't work all that well. The wall unit air conditioner ran all night and never really cooled the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrueTexasTraveler
Puerto Chacabuco, Chile
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Reading the other reviews I do not reconise this nasty place called outback oasis in Sanders Texts. This is one of the worst example of a Bo,teque anything. First impression the place is clean, and well presented twee bed covering removing the use of 2 of the pillows as they are not pratical with all those pockets to look like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poole C
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Spent two days at this hotel. Roy and Ruth are great. Very spacious rooms and a great cenote for reading/birdwatching. It is also very conveniently located for access to Big Bend. I highly recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chip C
Cypress, Texas
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Roy and Ruth Engeldorf run a really nice motel that was a very welcome retreat when I hit heavy rain and high side winds on my way to Del Rio. Conditions were too dangerous to continue so a very kind lady at the local gas station at the east end of town suggested I try the Outback Oasis. I had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank darrellsmithuk
Port O'Connor, Texas, United States
Reviewed 2 October 2016

In most of the small towns along hiway 90, motels (no hotels), are pretty iffy. We lucked out Big Time. The rooms are super clean and comfortable and the grounds are lovely. I had called the front desk because I couldn't find the WiFi code (ignorance on my part). Ruth's husband Roy answered and said he would find out but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Was just perfect very nice people that ran it.....we will be back. A lot to see and another reason to go back because we did not get to see everything we wanted to. The weather was also perfect. A very relaxing time and can hardly wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Hello my name is Anthony Covell I typically will visit Sanderson Texas every year to visit friends and to look for reptiles. This year I had a couple problems go on while I was staying here.The third night I was here my truck had broken down and is currently at the Chevrolet dealer in Fort Stockton. Ruth and Roy here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyCovell1919
All over
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This is a hard review for me to write. We have been on the road for 2 months now, traveling across country. I have wanted to review the places that we have stayed because I thought I would never get another unique opportunity like this again and people, like myself, read reviews before staying at places (or we try to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pass-N-Through
OutbackOwner, Owner at Outback Oasis Motel, responded to this review

We always try to help our guests have a good traveling experience. If we are made aware of issues or a problem we do our best to take care of it asap. We were never told of any issues with this guest until they checked out. We do provide refunds if guests have to leave early. The owner and housekeeping...

Wimberley, Texas
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Great little place - very unique! We had a large group stopping in for one night - the weather was threatening hail and the owner offered up the little single car parking cubbyholes and we were able to put in about 4 bikes in each one. I'm being picky, but wish they had a blowdryer in the room. The owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2wheel-navigator

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Outback Oasis Motel

Address: 800 West U.S. Highway 90, Sanderson, TX 79848
Region: United States > Texas > Sanderson
Number of rooms: 15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outback Oasis Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brackettville
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Outback Oasis Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not many other places to stay, captive audience”
poolec2015, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check the rooms before paying. Stay out of rooms 9-12 unless you are a railroad worker or transient.”
  • Window over AC - afraid to look behind the blinds.
  • The AC. Microwave & Fridge were orginally underneath it on the floor
  • AC condition
  • Behind the bathroom door is the walk-in closet that you can't see.
  • Wasted space - Fridge and Microwave were on the floor underneath the AC when we arrived.
  • Small door is walk-in closet with 1 hanger, larger door is bathroom
Pass-N-Through, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back of this little motel are most quiet.”
330debraa, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We love room 7”
86sherrig, 10 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All 3 rooms were nice but rooms 1-4 had a covered porch with chairs that were especially nice for sitting outside!”
ronnier98, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5