We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of PortAventura Hotel Gold River
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was a beautiful hotel, we had a family room with a view afar a stary. There was 4 of us staying there, staff were very helpful, buffet was excellent with a great choice of food, the hotel was just a minute walk from main park, the pool was a great size, only downside was the country western music was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dave h
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel on Trivago including park tickets. Trivago directed us to a site hoteling.com which was related to low cost holidays which went bust the week before we went. I called the hotel before we went and no they said our booking was fine. I then emailed them in their website to confirm the booking which they did so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adrienne M
PA_PortAventura, Gerente at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

Dear Adrienne, 
 In order to handle your booking in a personalised way, we ask that you contact our Reservation Centre at portaventura@portaventura.es. Thank you for your cooperation. 
 Sincerely, PortAventura World

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We loved the theme of the hotel. It was fabulous. Beautiful Hotel checkin staff were great made us feel very welcome. We were on halfboard and the food was yummy loads of variety.Freshly made pancakes !!! Dinner was great we went early 7.45pm no crowds we ate in peace. Staff at restaurant should be more friendly.They looked so miserable. ....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank abdulnaseemd
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This was my third visit to Port Aventura, and I was really excited to get this hotel, it was a last minute holiday with my sister for her birthday. On arrival the theming of the place had us so excited. We checked in thinking all would be good, but it wasn't! 1) The room we booked ended up having 1...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tara K
PA_PortAventura, Gerente at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

Dear Tara, We regret that on this occasion your visit to our resort failed to meet your expectations. We would like to inform you that customer service is one of our priorities. With regard to the request mentioned, while we try to accommodate all of our guests’ requests, these are subject to availability. As such, we have forwarded your comments...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Our family from Sydney (kids aged 11-15 yrs) recently stayed at Hotel River Gold at PortAventura. We all had such a fun time and really found the hotel to be a convenient, comfortable and charming (in a theme-park-kind-of-way) place to stay. The rooms were big enough for our large family and provided the base we needed. The buffet style meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bibags27
France
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I was going to put 'Average' but the Good Lady suggested I was being miserable. On balance she is right. This is our second stay at Gold River and, last year, we stayed at Lucy's Mansion so - maybe - I was being a little unfair. We're a family of six - so had two rooms they stick together. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DinFrance
Paris, France
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

The location is great for a park visit. The feeling is though that of mass production with low quality fixtures and basic rooms. For example the kitchens in the big rooms have not even a spoon or a glass. The all inclusive dinner is awful. Worst food ever.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ctv1970
PA_PortAventura, Gerente at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

We’re sorry that your visit did not live up to your expectations. We will forward your feedback to the areas indicated in an effort to continue developing our services. Thank you for your comments. Regards, PortAventura World

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We stayed in this hotel just for two nights for my birthday. Hotel and the area were fabulous. I absolutely loved the wild west theme! Also, you get a free access to the theme park, which normally cost like 55 euro per person per day. Water park cost extra, but you get discount and you pay 20 euro instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Been going to the theme park since 2001 always enjoyed out experience very friendly and family orientated stayed in the Gold river several times. But I noticed a change this year from the moment I entered the hotel queues to book in were very long and only two staff at the counter. The buffet food was poor quality burgers sausages...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darkrai4613
PA_PortAventura, Gerente at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review

We regret that on this occasion your visit to the resort was not what you expected. We have taken note of all your comments, which will be forwarded to the corresponding departments in an effort to guarantee the quality that PortAventura has always pledged to offer its visitors. Thank you for the time you have dedicated to sharing your opinion....

Reviewed 2 November 2016

we booked a twin room for an adult and child and got a double bed instead, with no blankets on the bed or in the cupboard, which was disappointing and cold as heck (we had to call down in the night for some). There was no kettle, also strange given the price we paid. BUT the location was perfect, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W

1,887 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1359)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (415)
Viewed
Room/Suite (173)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (69)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (531)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (490)
Viewed
Amenities (60)
Viewed
Cabaña (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Executive Room (32)
Viewed
Lucy´s Room (39)
Viewed
Pool (54)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.8 km away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
1.6 km away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.5 km away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 95 in Salou
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
3.4 km away
H10 Mediterranean Village
1.5 km away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Price Range: ₹ 11,302 - ₹ 25,712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 549
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel
PortAventura Hotel Gold River Salou, Costa Dorada
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#14 Family Hotel in Salou
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PortAventura Hotel Gold River staff and other travellers.
62 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (62)

Questions? Get answers from PortAventura Hotel Gold River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quick entrance into theme park,”
 of 5 bubbles tarak512, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room closer to the park entrance, as it's quite a walk either way”
 of 5 bubbles N4381QPrebeccaw, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room in the main block on a high floor overlooking the park”
 of 5 bubbles DarrenHenman, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pool view is the best option”
 of 5 bubbles grahamkendalluk, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend the Cabanas over a standard room if your budget allows!”
 of 5 bubbles alisonw98, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5