We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites La Porte

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites La Porte
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites La Porte
 Click to rate
Galveston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I work for an IHG property as a front desk agent, so I understand that everyone has a first week. The guest service rep that was checking me in (night audit) was new and we were having some minor check in issues, but she remained kind and calm. It didn't bother me that it took a little longer than expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arin D
CandlewoodSuitesLa, Webmaster at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m so pleased that you would stay with us again along with your family and I hope you have the opportunity to do that soon. Check inn was informed about your nice comment and was appreciated. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you....

Seabrook, Texas
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

I've stayed at quite a few hotels in IHG chain being a platinum rewards member and this one leaves something to be desired when it comes to being inviting. When I entered the hotel the two ladies behind the counter seemed more interested in continuing their conversation than in checking me in. Once the attention was turned my way, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexMcDaniel
CandlewoodSuitesLa, Webmaster at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments about our hotel here in La Porte. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways and that we did not provide the level of service you expected. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not...

Kerrville, Texas
Reviewed 3 February 2017

The room we were given had a very, very strong deodorant smell – maybe to cover up a cheating smoker. The staff offered a different room, but it was our dinner time and we had already unpacked. The temperature in the room was difficult to control. It was either too cold or too hot. I suspect the usual Candlewood energy-saving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David G
CandlewoodSuitesLa, Webmaster at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. I’m very sorry you had a bad experience and did not accept our multiple offers of a different room. There is little else we can do to improve a guest experience. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments are very important to us. We rely on guests...

Pasadena, Texas
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Candlewood Suites. The morning desk girl was rude and constantly talked back to a member of the management staff. I felt this personal episode should not have been displayed in front of guests. I was very shocked that the man would continue to put up with (her name began with a J) her arrogant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank uhcoogdebi
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

Dear uhcoogdebi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding our staff. We also regret the issues...

Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I only stayed one night. Front desk staff was pleasant. Lobby was clean and comfortable. Suite was clean and if we had to stay for a while it would have been great. Used laundry facilities which were free. Workout room was clean and adequate. Convenient location to grocery store and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

Dear Mary H, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 2 night in March due to my water heater getting fixed. I only stayed here because the rate was cheap being an employee at another hotel. I liked that I was able to get an early check in. That helped a lot. The room was ok the toilet worked when it wanted to and made noises all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
CandlewoodSuitesLa, Webmaster at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments. I’m very sorry we couldn’t meet your needs or expectations and that our staff did not seem to be productive enough for you. We take great pride in being a pleasant, friendly and accommodating place to stay, and we obviously let you down in some ways. For that, I apologize. I hope when you...

Blountstown, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The people are really nice and they do let pets stay. The rooms are ok are bathroom toliet run the whole time and the bed seaked. But it was nice over all. The have a dinner in the lobby every wednesday night free to the guests. If your planning on stay for awhile its an okay place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonya P
CandlewoodSuitesLa, Webmaster at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your extended stay at our affordable, friendly and comfortable property. I’m pleased you had a generally pleasant experience here and hope you will return when you need to stay in the area again. We take special pride in serving extended stay guests like you and hope we can consistently meet your needs in the future. Thanks...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Checked in on Thanksgiving day. No one at the desk for half an hour. She then told me it didn't show up that I was a Priority Club Member. Got up this morning to find there were no towels in my room then got a call from the front desk asking if I'd moved out of another room yesterday. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean, and superior accommodations. However, it is disappointing to know that we fell short. The situations you have described is definitely not...

Reviewed 9 June 2015

First room that was attempted smelt like a wet basement. There were 5 boxes of Arm & Hammer and a Damp X in the room and it was still unbearable. Second room was a wreck. Still a damp musty smell and dirty. Checked out the next morning. Noticed there is no room service so if you want clean towels you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Candlewood77571, General Manager at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the inconvience, the room you entered was suppose to be out of service for maintence. We are currently working on renovating the property to improve guest stays. If there is anything we can do please feel free to contact the hotel 281-471-0555. I apologize again for the inconvience and hope to see you again when the...

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Grounds and outside areas were not very clean. Guests using the grilling area were nasty and loud. Lots of construction workers stay here and drag mud into the hotel on their shoes. They also smoke in non smoking rooms and throw all their pizza boxes and beer cans into hallway. Our floor reeked of cigarette smoke every night. Room keys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nvky
Candlewood77571, General Manager at Candlewood Suites La Porte, responded to this review

I apologize for the service you received and I am truly appreciative of the feedback. Me and my staff will be more diligent on other guest behavior.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Porte
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Porte
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites La Porte
0.4 km away
WoodSpring Suites Houston La Porte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 14 in La Porte
76 reviews
2.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in La Porte
91 reviews
10.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Seabrook Nasa Kemah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Candlewood Suites LaPorte is located at Hwy 146 and West Fairmont Parkway. This beautiful property is within minutes of NASA Space Center, Hobby Airport, and Sylvan Beach. At Candlewood Suites LaPorte, we put the amenities where they count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen and relax in their recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet access. Candlewood Suites LaPorte is within walking distance of many favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to 'dine in,' a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard convenience store provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream. Candlewood Suites LaPorte provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites LaPorte is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites La Porte

Address: 1250 S 13th St, La Porte, TX 77571-4863
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > La Porte
Price Range: ₹ 6,175 - ₹ 10,549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites La Porte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites La Porte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites La Porte staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check the room first. They are doing up grades to the hotel”
tonyap359, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Not recommended at all.”
N1237PPchriss, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“We were on the fourth floor and faced the front parking lot. It was very quiet.”
TexasTraveler080, 25 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Full kitchens close to every restaurant staff friendly.”
jph418, 14 Jun 2013 | Read review
4 of 4