We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
249Reviews
105Photos
4Q+A
47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 67
  • 62
  • 42
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I booked in to Dragonfly Hotel at Colchester as it lay conveniently between locations for my work and was enticingly cheap compared to other budget hotels. I have to say, I'm shocked at how much you get for the price! Instantly good atmosphere with friendly greetings and
Read more
Overall was a good stay while working in the area for 3 nights.so slept during the daytime really comfortable bed and didnt get disturbed by cleaners etc only thing that let it down was breakfast sausage under cooked and powered egg, should do better with breakfast would then
Read more
Response from Carolyne C, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 1 week ago
Dear si2008 Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel and that overall your stay met with your expectations. I am sorry to read that the breakfast was not up to standard on this occasion. All food is probed to ensure it has reached the correct cooking temperature so I am unsure why sausages were under cooked and we use fresh eggs at all times not powdered, however all comments are used to improve the level of service we provide and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in the area. Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900
Read more
Staff didnt inform me that I had to register my car for parking,I got there in the dark. On leaving I saw a sign for parking regulation but was in a rush so I thought I would call/email them later. I did a day later and nobody replied. I then chased them and they where more than
Read more
Response from Carolyne C, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Matthew R I’m very sorry that you have received a fine for using our private car park without registering your details. Our car park is managed through a third party for the safety and security of our guests, and the prevention of abuse of the facility, and has been in situ since 1st June 2016. The hotel itself receives no income from this agreement, nor does it have any input into the issuing of penalties. Parking remains completely free of charge for all of our customers, visitors, residents, and guests, who simply need to inform us of their car details. The system automatically records the number plate of all vehicles entering the car park, and issues a penalty unless the vehicle: a) Leaves the car park within 10 minutes b) Registers on the touchscreen tablets on reception at any time during their visit. I’m sure you can appreciate that it is not either practicable or possible for our team to notify every customer and visitor individually of this procedure, and therefore there are 17 signs to this effect displayed prominently in the car park, as well on display behind reception. There is also information regarding the parking procedures in every bedroom. Unfortunately once the fine has been paid the hotel is not able to help in the appeal of penalties. Kind Regards Carolyne OM 01206 230900
Read more
Myself, my girlfriend and my mum travelled 250 miles taking 6 hours (traffic jam) to get here. We parked up and checked in, me and my lass went to our room to find it hadn't been made from the last guests that had stayed, dirty towels everywhere and bed in a mess. We complained
Read more
Response from Carolyne C, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear rossrox182 Thank you for taking your time to post a review of your recent stay at the hotel and we are sorry to read that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations, for this I can only apologise Reception do try and capture everyone on check-in to register number plates as it is part of the check - in procedure, however If you can contact the hotel on the number below with your PCN number we can get it cancelled. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in the area. Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900
Read more
Don’t bother booking your Christmas party night here, they don’t go ahead and the hotel doesn’t bother to let people know until too late! I booked this venue months ago but did not hear anything and when I contacted them 6 days before was told that there would only be the 6 of
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementDragonfly Hotel Colchester
De kamer was verdeeld in tweeen, een slaapgedeelte en een zitgedeelte en beide met Tv
in het slaapgedeelte
slaapgedeelte
PreviousNext
1234567
No we only have bath with shower option
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes. Coffee , tea and milk. Kettle
Is there tea and coffee in rooms ?
Yes there is :)
1 vote
Show all answers
"Go elsewhere"
"The windows open and lock - so you can have a ground floor room and assume your room is secure with the window open."
"Get another hotel."
"Rooms are all away from bar & reception"
"All our rooms were good but that seems to be the norm at the Dragonfly"
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
US$ 50 - US$ 87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada colchester hotel colchestercolchester ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Hotel Colchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandColchesterArdleigh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing