We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

A fantastic hostel, staff were welcoming and helpful even with our check-in at midnight. Rooms are clean, and shared areas are lovely. Great location, walking distance to lots of eateries and bars. Only downside was the walls are quite thin, so you can hear everything but didn't affect us too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessP0
dallas
Reviewed 19 October 2014

HI Houston Hostel is located 1 block off of the major happening street in Houston. Hostel is on a oak tree lined upscale street with mansions built in the 20's. Minutes from downtown, really in the center of where you want to be, close to bus, bars, restaurants and grocery stores. The hostel had been an upscale hotel, common areas...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dtx75220
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 October 2014

I am always very sceptical about staying in hostels in the U.S. The main reason is poor quality of facilities, and owners trying to make money giving nothing in return. Hi-Houston The Morty Rich Hostel is an exception from this general opinion! I was really impressed by, the quality of this place. Great first floor design, very welcoming and home...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARM-RK
Grace D, General Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your fantastic feedback! We are always happy when our guests enjoyed their stay. If you are coming back to Houston after November, come and check out our newly renovated kitchen. Happy and safe travels. Grace Dodier, General Manger

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2014

The grand hall of the Morty Rich hostel was a great respite from the summer Houston heat. We were struck by how great the reception area of the hostel looked and it was possibly the nicest general hostel area I had been in. Unfortunately that's about as good as it got for this hostel. We were checked into the "back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank baddler
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Please allow me to start my review by saying this was my first Hostel experience and based on the prompt follow up with the Manager regarding my concern; this was clearly a rare instance. That said, I stayed in room #7 (the attic) and the first thing I noticed was the filthy carpeting. As a New Yorker, I've seen worse...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordyn B
Grace D, General Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Renee. While it is always hard to read a negative review, we appreciate the feedback so we can improve our facilities and services. Since your stay we have been able to make some small improvements to the bathroom and the room and have others planned for later this year. I apologize that our hostel was not up to our...

Cardiff
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place is the business. My husband and I are travelling a lover the USA and have stayed in a lot of random accom. BUT this place is hands down the best place for the price! Wee stayed in the double room in the back guesthouse and it was big! The staff are awesome! We had fresh out of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jesswashere
Grace D, General Manager at HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for you feedback! I am glad you had a great time at our hostel and that the staff was friendly and helpful. Please come back and see us on your next stay in Houston! Grace Dodier, General Manager

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I spent three days at the hostel, was very well treated by the very nice and efficient staff. I got to meet people from different parts of the world, hang out and have fun with them. Not to mention the place is very well located, close to westheimer and Montrose.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank José Luiz l
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hostel is amazing, spotlessly cleaned, really well designed, nice decor, library/pool room which we used a great deal, nice pool area. We booked a private double with ensuite, for this we were given a whole floor of a little outhouse in the garden area which was lovely - probably nicer than most hotels we stayed in. The hostel was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank charchie12
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This Hostel was really well presented, clean and the staff were friendly and approachable. There was a large outdoor area beautifully landscaped complete with a pool and hammock, perfect for summer lounging. The interior was lovely, no complaints here. the Kitchen was fully stocked and was able to make tea/coffee at any hour which was nice. Houston, because of its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CateRose
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Helpful staff. I got my own private tour in the hostel when I got there :) breakfast was good, basic and for free. Nice room with own balcony. Area is really nice and one of the safest in Houston with lots of restaurants close by. I really enjoyed my stay there. A that is a minor thing for improvement is,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henriette B

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#3 of 499 in Houston
298 reviews
Modern B&B
#62 of 499 in Houston
186 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 499 in Houston
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 499 in Houston
1,577 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the best hostel in Houston! HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel is the only hostel to offer 24 check-in, outdoor swimming pool and a full-sized pool table. We also offer free WIFI, computers with free internet access, onsite laundry, free parking, 24 hour access to all common areas and the fully equipped kitchen and an extra special complimentary breakfast every morning from 7:30-10:00am!! HI-Houston is located on a beautiful tree lined boulevard in the diverse and funky neighborhood of Montrose. We are surrounded by some of the most popular restaurants, bars and coffee shops in Houston! We are also conveniently located just 2 blocks away from a 24 hour Walgreens and a 24 hour grocery store. Coming to Houston for a conference at the George R. Brown Convention Center. We are 1 block away from #81 & #82 bus lines that will drop you off in front of the convention center. Want to come shopping at the Galleria or get a visa in the Post Oak area, we are located just one block away from the buses that will get you there! HI-Houston is also conveniently located just 1 mile away from the famous Menil Collection and Rothko Chapel and just 2 miles away from Houston's amazing Museum District and Hermann Park! Whether you are coming to Houston to work, play or just relax...HI-Houston is the place for you! Never stayed at a hostel before! Hostels mainly consist of dormitory style rooms, where you will have the opportunity to interact with guests from all over the world. Hostels are a great place to make new friends and save a little money while your traveling. Come and try us out!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel

Address: 501 Lovett Blvd, Houston, TX 77006-4020 (Formerly Lovett Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Price Range: ₹ 2,078 - ₹ 4,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from HI-Houston: The Morty Rich Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a room with an outdoor balcony. Very pleasant to sit out and have a nice beer/wine.”
 of 5 bubbles M8690BWdavidp, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a 4 bed dorm-- the others are mostly smelling badly -”
 of 5 bubbles Shimano2013, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel or bring your broom”
  • More dust
  • Beautiful flowers in the room
  • It was dirtier than it looks
 of 5 bubbles kathyas2013, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“I would request a room that housed less people.”
 of 5 bubbles kevins482, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The rooms get hot at night, but Im sure if you ask for an extra fan, they wouldn't mind giving you one.”
 of 5 bubbles 185chantellem, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5