We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

31.0 km from Galveston centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 20%
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,003: English reviews
USA
Reviewed 31 December 2015

This was our first stay at Tremont House. It was a good stay in regard to friendly staff from valet parking staff all the way to housekeeping. The unexpected disappointments included debris on the floors (even in elevator) that was finally seen being cleaned the next afternoon. When we arrived at our room (6pm) there was a dirty glass outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cristal D
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. Please know that we appreciate your insight and will share with appropriate staff. We hope that you'll give us another try in the future.

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We booked this hotel for one night prior to sailing on a Disney cruise out of the port at galveston. This hotel was close to the port and we were promised free parking and a shuttle to the cruise port. Overall, I would say that it fell short of our expectations and I would never use their shuttle service again....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nataliems3
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience on your return transportation from your cruise. Please know that this is good feedback and will help us address this issue on future busy cruise days. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and will address with staff.

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed on a Sunday night. Made reservations over phone with hotel directly. Did not receive an email confirmation. Parking is on street. Good luck finding a spot. There were dirty dishes outside room door at check in that were left from breakfast of previous guests. I called and asked for them to be removed. They were picked up at 8:00...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 444robing
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear about the issues that you mentioned during your stay. The hotel offers valet parking or, as you mentioned, there is parking on the street. The hotel is located in a safe and busy part of town located in the heart of The Strand District and there typically isn't any safety issues. Thank you for...

Reviewed 28 December 2015

I had a great time at the Tremont, I ordered via Hotwire, the front desk wanted to give me a King Bed room but I ordered two queens, he said that I will get whatever was available, he finally gave me a two queen room. The room was clean and big, I had a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maximo i
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Tremont House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Booked hotel in advance based on recommendations from trip advisor.The hotel had a good location on the strand The room was large ,but very noisy. The bathroom was small and poorly arranged . When we arrived there were dirty dishes just outside the door on the floor. I nearly trip on them, and was hesitant to go in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twggl
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the hotel. Please know that the issues that you mentioned are not typical for the hotel and will be passed along to room service. Also, know that our exterior facing rooms may be quieter if there is music or guests in the atrium. We hope you'll consider giving us another try in the future.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rsttavel
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Pearland, Texas
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D6265HRlindak
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Enjoyable, relaxing and great bars. comfortable rooms, polite staff. Easy access to the strand and post office street.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark m
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for naming The Tremont House the "Best Hotel on the Strand." While we are the only hotel in The Strand District, we appreciate your compliments and we look forward to your return.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Huffman, Texas
Reviewed 23 December 2015

The only problem I had was the toilet was messed up when we first arrived. The chain was off in the back of the toilet. I fixed the problem myself no big deal.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about the toilet. Thank you for be handy and fixing it. Despite that, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

539 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (329)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Belmont Suite (34)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Pure Air King Room (22)
Viewed
Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Tremont Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.4 km away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
644 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
5.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.7 km away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: ₹ 8,446 - ₹ 28,087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
over a year ago
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
4 months ago
Ft Worth
4 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suites are very large and quiet in a separate part of the hotel. We worth upgrading from a King room.”
 of 5 bubbles 925kateg, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would go for the 4 floor rooms with a view of the Harbour (and oil rigs)”
 of 5 bubbles jowen637, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the inside have large windows to the lobby. Outside rooms have views of Galveston.”
 of 5 bubbles 380keatonf, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I wish we had had a courtyard view due to the causes mentioned above.”
 of 5 bubbles captainmcd, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“king room that was almost right above the front portico...had the amazing 20 ft ceilings... loved that room.”
 of 5 bubbles sandlmorgan2014, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5