We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,997 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,977: English reviews
League City, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No hot water either day ... desk did not seem concerned whatsoever. They were probably overwhelmed by the fact the A/C was on the blitz :( Very disappointed in this stay ... had been our favorite Galveston hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 934hunterh
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the issues you mentioned during your last stay. We are hope you'll consider giving us another chance. Please know these aren't typical issues.

Houston
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for the Santa Shuffle half marathon. We parked on the street since the valet was really busy when we arrived. The hotel is the best downtown property in the city, and the downtown location is great if you are not there for the beach. Downtown you can walk to many shops and restaurants, and even to the cruise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank captainmcd
WyndhamGalveston, Public Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We hope you had a good race and thank you for choosing The Tremont House for the Santa Hustle. We hope to see you again next year.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent Hotel and Service. Rooms fit for a King. I consider this a very fine Hotel. Love historical Hotels with the Luxury factor. Close to Stand, etc. Shuttle service if needed. Will be our Go to Hotel in Galveston. Scratch one of the Bucket List!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donn M
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations on your anniversary stay, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your nice review of the Tremont House.

Humble, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lawrencen971
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Herndon, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our family of 8 stayed here the night before our cruise. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were beyond spacious and comfortable. I'm a huge fan of a comfy bed and this worked out great. The hotel is close to the port so very convenient. Our only complaint was the shuttle to the port service. They gave us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hilcole
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us before your cruise, we do apologize for the mishap; with transportation. We do hope you will stay with us in the future

Houston
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live in Houston but go to Galveston about 6 times a year. We always try to stay at Wyndham properties, but we were very disappointed in our last visit, which was the weekend before Christmas weekend. We had booked 2 nights for a mini vacation. We had tickets to two events at the 1894 Grand, and reservations at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestUTraveler
WyndhamGalveston, Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for the problems you experienced. Unfortunately, we do have guests that give us invalid credit cards. Our process when this happens is to attempt to contact you to obtain a valid card so we can continue to honor the reservation. If we did not do that in your case again we apologize.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check-in was quick and easy and the staff was friendly and helpful from beginning to end! Will definitely be returning to the Tremont House!

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here and the hotel was really nice. Had valet parking which was really nice. Hotel was very clean and very spacious. We were looking forward to the rooftop bar. We paid to be close to the rooftop bar, but it was cold and they closed it. It's very close to the strand but didn't have any good restaurants, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice staff and is a well kept, clean hotel. The rooms are large with beautiful high ceiling and floor to ceiling windows. There is a restaurant (cafe) and a bar on site in the lobby. There is also a great in-room dining menu. The location is great, dozens of bars and restaurants within walking distance as well as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MHTruett
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We hope to see you on your next visit to the island.

Ladysmith,BC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A work conference took us to Galveston...never been there and never thought of going there..but wow were we very pleasantly surprised! Galveston area and the Tremont Hotel are wonderful! (even in the winter) A beautiful elegant 1839 hotel, yes this hotel is over 150 years old, but you certainly could not tell by all great things they offer. All the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandlmorgan2014
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of the Tremont House, we are pleased you enjoyed your time in Galveston and at the Tremont House.

525 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (315)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Belmont Suite (34)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Pure Air King Room (22)
Viewed
Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Tremont Suite (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.4 km away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
637 reviews
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
5.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.7 km away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Price Range: ₹ 8,186 - ₹ 21,011 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the inside have large windows to the lobby. Outside rooms have views of Galveston.”
 of 5 bubbles 380keatonf, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I wish we had had a courtyard view due to the causes mentioned above.”
 of 5 bubbles captainmcd, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“king room that was almost right above the front portico...had the amazing 20 ft ceilings... loved that room.”
 of 5 bubbles sandlmorgan2014, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All of the room floors are quiet... they don't need a view as there I nothing to see.”
 of 5 bubbles welaatsch2, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms open out to the lobby courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles The13thTraveleer, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay