We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St. Mary's Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
St. Mary\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely surroundings.went ere for my partners 60th birthdaymeal we had a table layed out upstairs as there was a wedding there lovely room but itwas very cold in there .my partner had steak and i had the barbecue chicken hardly no sauce with it and it was served with fries which let the meal down my partner ask for is... More 

Helpful?
Thank liamellie
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review after your recent visit to our Restaurant for your partners Birthday. We are sorry to learn that you were not completely happy with the service you received and I wish the points you mentioned were raised directly with me on the evening. The heating was on and had someone mentioned that... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Thank god for GPS...desperately looking for a place to stay and was referred to St Mary's Hotel Golf Club. Stuck in the middle of nowhere but what a pleasant surprise. Our room was lovely. Spacious, lots of character and comfy bed. The restaurant was closed due to a wedding but dinner was still available in the bistro. Went down well... More 

Helpful?
Thank triparound10
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a pleasing review. The staff really appreciate feedback from our guests, especially when, like yours, it is so positive, We really hope that we are able to welcome you back to St Mary's in the future. More 

Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Played the golf course Sunday and it is dreadful. Worst course I've played all year. Fairways hadnt been mowed for at least a week. Greens were shocking. Unrepaired pitchmarks on nearly every green. Tee conditions were embarrassing. They were not dissimilar to my back garden and that has a dog and 2 kids trampling over it most days. Will never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Merfyn81
stmaryshotel18, Owner at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Hi We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your game of golf with us at St Mary's. It is a shame you did not call into the golf shop on the day to inform us of your complaint but instead you decided to finish your round regardless. We would like to invite you back for a game... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Thank you so much David & Carolyn for reuniting me with my handbag after a guest mistakenly picked mine up from a wedding venue 20mins away. You really did save the day by using my emergency contact details to get in touch. Thank you so much!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carly A
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Just glad your items were returned safely. Happy to help :-) More 

Pencoed
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We just visited for lunch which was very nice but sadly the staff let the hotel down . The waiting staff need retraining in how to work a restaurant dining room. My mantra was never walk in or out empty handed!!! . I would have liked another drink but no staff paying attention to the needs of the diners. Sadly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela V
stmaryshotel18, Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this review

It is very disappointing to receive a comment this this. We work very hard to offer good food & friendly service and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I really hope you do return in the future so we can demonstrate this. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Nice big rooms and bathroom, whirlpool bath nice added touch, plenty of coffee and tea in room, floors very creaky, we ate in the bar at night had to go in small room has a wedding was on, nice food at a reasonable price. Plenty of parking space.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark3k
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Stayed for my grandson's wedding. Excellent service and my room was very comfortable. All staff were helpful and friendly and helped to make the wedding a very happy and memorable occasion. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank W-Pheby
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night for a wedding. The staff were welcoming and accommodating from the moment we arrived and we were really impressed with the service we received. The day ran smoothly and was well organised and catered for. The bar is well stocked and the prices are very reasonable. The hotel side of things... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rinne23
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Huge room, charming hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. No noise can be heard from others which is great during weddings taking place. Food was great and service with a smile. Breakfast was challenging when busy there was not enough to feed all in the dining room, self service was poor based on the price paid. £90 for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate W
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

The food is first class and reasonable. The staff are charming and attentive. The beds are comfortable and you can actually open a window. Super modern bathroom. Supper in the bar was great pub food just what I needed at the end of the day Will happily stay here again

Helpful?
1 Thank Abergele2014

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
6:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pencoed
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel
6.0 km away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
374 reviews
7.0 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
3.1 km away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
347 reviews
7.2 km away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about St. Mary's Hotel

Address: St. Mary's Hill, Pencoed CF35 5EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pencoed
Price Range: ₹ 6,498 - ₹ 10,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mary's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your St. Mary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marys Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St. Mary's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No lift , so ground floor if not good with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles W-Pheby, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“overlooking the golf course as if parties or weddings on, the courtyard can be a bit noisier”
 of 5 bubbles Ness666, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The east and south rooms have a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 927karlj, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely No. 8 looks onto the golf course others open onto a sunny court yard . very quiet- bliss.”
 of 5 bubbles LizR892, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms overlook the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmm316, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay