We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great little Travelodge. Easy to get to and once there had plenty of parking space outside whilst it had Burger King, Costa, Greggs and WH Smith on site, so it was ideal for us and our young children as a last minute booking. Hotel staff were friendly and our room was very clean and comfortable. Only 15 minute drive from... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank 800edwynr
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their time with us and we are really pleased to learn that this was achieved and that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the service from your staff. It is also our aim to offer accommodation in convenient locations and we... More 

Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bed not made up despite request so has to wait with tired young child for reception staff to come and make it up. Bathroom very unclean - remnants of previous occupiers shave all round sink. Water cold

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank rubyrock79
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have passed on your comments to the hotel manager and we do apologise for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us. We aim to provide the best service possible to our guests and we will continue to do so by making the most of customer feedback such as yours. We hope that... More 

Travellers are raving about these Pontyclun hotels

Lichfield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a little while ago and were a little concerned after reading some reviews, after we had booked and paid, but as this was for just one night we took the decision to run with it, and we are so pleased that we did. The hotel is a little out of Cardiff, around 10 miles, we used a park... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberry1967
wrexham, north wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every staff member was polite and really helpful, cannot praise them enough, location good and greggs bacon sandwich for brekkie just outside the reception area was brilliant! Rooms were tired, I've been in a lot nicer Travelodge's and hearing a dog barking in one of the rooms was a bit off putting, with a bit of an update this hotel... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank jolovesholidays
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found the staff to be friendly and that you were happy with the location of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide... More 

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

being a service station you think it would not be ideal but for me it was. in the eveniungs it was not too busy so traffic noise was low. there were no rowdy guests or noise from a city centre bar eg cardiff central. on site is greggs (for breackfast), coast for afternoon tea/coffee and in the evening burger king.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank David N
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The double bed was very comfortable as always but the additional bed was not fit for sleeping upon. You can feel every spring, it tips over when you turn over and it is very narrow. (I had actually asked for a twin room so we would get 'real beds'.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 980sandyt
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It’s great that you found our Dreamer bed to be comfortable however, we apologise that you found our truckle beds to be uncomfortable as we aim to provide a comfortable stay to all of our guests. We will be sure to pass your feedback on and hope to have the chance to welcome you again. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel, more like an old butlins block, is in the services. It has a small filthy Burger King and a costa onsite. The rooms are along one long shabby corridor from the reception. The reception is a window in a wall. The corridor has noisy banging fire doors along it. The rooms are in 80s decor but were clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank On_travels_together
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we... More 

Chafford hundred
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stayed room 25 Cardiff west travelodge Tired shabby reception and corridors- wifi useless, 1 toilet roll generally shabby hotel looks tired and in need of a good clean - carpets were filthy stained and in need of hovering from reception area to my room . Very depressing accomadation . Have had many good stays at travelodge but wouldn't use this... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Taylortays
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves. May we thank you again for your... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Stayed here for an overnight stay before a long drive back to manchester. Rooms and hotel itself is ok, but the sleep factor is very poor, the noise from the M4 is constant through the night. Did speak to manager in the morning and accepted his explanation that a few rooms had problems with the vents causing the noise to... More 

Helpful?
Thank craigharris
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff M4 Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Really great place to stay excellent location just off the M4 staff really friendly and easy to get hold of. We had a Comfortable room clean and tidy and child friendly. We would definatly stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahtC3936HY

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
26.1 km away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
131 reviews
5.0 km away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 75 in Cardiff
1,646 reviews
3.8 km away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel

Address: Moto Service Area, M4 Motorway, Pontyclun CF72 8SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff West Hotel Pontyclun
Travelodge Pontyclun
Travel Lodge Pontyclun
Pontyclun Travel Lodge
Pontyclun Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Waterford, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cardiff M4 Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unfortunately as this hotel is so close to the motorway and you need a good sleep i wouldnt chose this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles craigharris, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the car park if noise is an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles AikaterineXXVI, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 100Jeanjeannie, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid anything on the M4 side ( we were 118)”
 of 5 bubbles Teddybug84, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Location itself is just too noisy for light sleepers”
 of 5 bubbles paulgB6639RS, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay