We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Kings Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Kings Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Start your review of Old Kings Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went a a Sunday evening and it was absolutely delicious. I was disappointed they had run out of lamb shank but the lamb steaks were just as good. My boyfriend had pork which was also delicious. Comes with lovely vegetables. Welcoming, cosy atmosphere. The staff are friendly but not intrusive. Would definitely go again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service was excellent, from friendly, efficient staff. Pork belly and crackling absolutely stunning. Risotto starter also great. Probably the best Sunday lunch out that I've had in Pembrokeshire. Am looking forward to returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLHxxx72
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night, it was lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean and the history of the hotel is very interesting. We had lunch, evening meal and breakfast, The food is great and very reasonable, We only went to Pembroke to see the Castle and so glad we stayed here,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angie5369
Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decided on Thursday to go out on Saturday, our first 3 choices of restaurants were all full, no such concern when I phoned the Kings Arms, this scared me. Parking was easy in the Kings Arms car park. Elected to have our pre drinks at our table and study the menu/wine list. Nothing exciting on the menu or chefs specials....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel B
Lamphey
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Called in on the hop with a few freinds not booked we were quickly seated, our lunch was superb everyone enjoyed deserts were also fab good choice of ales and wine our only criticism would be the ladies were upstairs but very quirky place we will definitely be returning x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aly W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We ate here twice during a week long stay in Pembroke. the food was really nice and the menu varied and reasonably priced although £4 for one scoop of ice cream for my son seemed a bit ridiculous. the building is very quirky but i did feel it needed a good lick of paint to freshen things up as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Didsburyfoody
KingsPembrokeWales, Owner at Old Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were charged £4 for one scoop of icecream. Call and see us when you are next in Pembroke and we will rectify it. There are watermarks on the old prints which came from my husband's home and were damaged there. I hope that you will visit again. Shirley Wheeler Proprietor

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We visited the OKAH several times during our short stay at Pembroke, and found it a comfortable place for a quiet drink and also a great dinner out. We ordered tapas to start, and found all meals brought out exceptional. The beef pie was fantastic, but seemed to sell out quickly so get in there fast (we ordered the last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Food was divine and the service was equally as good, very Helpful and friendly staff. Not overly priced, and nice local beers on tap! Parking is available for visitors and they also let me park my vehicle overnight there when I wasn't even staying in their hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty Louise B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We had dinner at this hotel this evening & were very impressed by the choice & quality on the menu. Between us we had a beef & ale pie, which was full to the brim with tender chunks of beef, & slow-baked shoulder of lamb which just fell apart. Our meals were served with a nice selection of fresh vegetables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
KingsPembrokeWales, Owner at Old Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner. Our aim is to provide good quality food and old fashion service.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This hotel surpassed our expectations, and is literally STEPS from Pembroke castle. The staff is all wonderful, the rooms are nicely decorated, and everything you could need for a night or a few days. The breakfast in the morning was amazing (I'm sad I wasn't more hungry!), and they are able to assist with some dietary needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill W

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Kings Arms Hotel is a Wales Tourist Board 3 Star hotel and restaurant in the heart of Pembroke, less than 200 yards from Pembroke Castle, birthplace of Henry VII - founder of the Tudor dynasty. The 17 bedroom hotel has been owned by the Wheeler family for over 50 years. The restaurant is renowned for its locally sourced Pembrokeshire produce. There is ample free private car parking to the rear of the hotel. All rooms have BT & ESPN SPORTS and free wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Kings Arms Hotel

Address: Old Kings Arms Hotel Ltd 13 Main Street, Pembroke SA71 4JS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke
Price Range: ₹ 4,393 - ₹ 6,963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Kings Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Droitwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Droitwich, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Kings Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room at the back away from the street- it was quiet and very spacious.”
Jill0221, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Braised beef very good as were mussels ... steak ok_ish”
Cragnet, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I had a double room which was lovely, the singles were a bit small but perfectly adequate”
328jenny, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We liked 22”
hellsbells, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room that suits your needs. Don't expect a view.”
john248700, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5