We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ruthin Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Panoramas (30)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,989 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,984: English reviews
Start your review of Ruthin Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I came with a friend and after reading reviews was worried about what was to come. We were pleasantly surprised, every member of staff we cake on contact with had exceptional service. We had a 2 course meal in the restaurant as part of the package, and also breakfast. The food was good and the service was outstanding. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa M
Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ruthin Castle,Set in its own grounds in a very Good location set above the Historic Town. Many many years ago the Castle played host to a group of us in the Medieval Banqueting Hall and it was good to see,that they are still entertaining guests there still. After reading a few comments I would like to say that Okay if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CUMBRIAVIEW
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here from 12 - 15 March inclusive in the patsy room (311). It was a fabulous room in a beautiful setting. The staff were all extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was fabulous, well cooked and very tasty and satisfying - had the full welsh a couple of times and kippers - all delicious. We also booked into Bertie's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather W
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading the recent reviews of Ruthin I had some doubts about my booking. However, Ruthin Castle has charm and is unique. Beautiful grounds, please explore, the sunshine helps, the peacocks made my stay, they like lemon muffins, took some sunflower hearts which they loved but beware, they are super friendly with snappy beaks, hearing their cries reminded me of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nippyems
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nippyems Thank you for your delightful feedback following a recent stay at Ruthin Castle. Your kind comments will be a great boost to our hard working team. The Spa girls are fantastic and regularly receive great praise which is well deserved. The peacocks can be a little cheeky if there are tasty treats on offer, I hope that they...

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived an hour early. Upon exploring the hotel, we met a chambermaid who told us our room was ready, and led us there. Very polite and friendly girl. We'd barely sat down, before there was a tremendous banging on the door. Opened it to find a very angry woman, telling us how wrong we were to be in our...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SergeSergiou
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SergeSergiou Thank you for your recent review. Following investigation, it's unfortunate that you chose to tell only part of what happened on that afternoon. Upon arrival, as is standard, the receptionist advised you that the rooms weren't ready until 3pm. He allowed you to leave your bags, checked you in to the system and gave you a reservation card...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice little night away with the hubby. Room was lovely and the staff extremely polite and helpful. The grounds had bags of character along with the castle itself. Beautiful town within easy walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny P
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Penny P Thank you for your kind feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the Castle in the future.

Wirral merseyside
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing weekend at a family wedding. Location stunning, Ruthin town lovely with lots of eateries and individual shops. Local people very friendly. Staff in Ruthin castle very professional and friendly ambiance inside the castle lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue W
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue W Thank you for your feedback after attending a recent family wedding at the Castle. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel itself has loads of history and well maintained grounds that were great for a walk in. Peacocks free roaming everywhere. The interior of the castle was great and a pleasant place to be. Rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. Our room however had a ceiling that's was covered in damp and was peeling and generally could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrie J
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barrie J Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following a recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies in relation to the unfortunate maintenance issues that you experienced. At breakfast, there are alternative options including Kippers, French toast, pancakes etc if the cooked breakfast was not to your liking. We hope to see you again, we would...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The leisure facilities were closed - no compensation offered. Most of the public areas are ok but the rooms etc are in need of refurbishment.. In view of a disappointing stay in February I cancelled a birthday treat I had booked for myself in April. It turns out that even though the website states "you may cancel your non promotional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c2017416
Ruthin_Castle, Manager at Ruthin Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear c2017416 Welcome to Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing Ruthin Castle to post your first review. It's unfortunate that you felt the need to cancel your future reservation. Similar to many other establishments, all booking deposits are non-refundable and non-transferable.

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the hotel for one night in February, which included dinner and breakfast. First impressions weren't great as there was a long queue at reception but staff were warm and friendly to counteract this. The room was ample with a lovely bathroom with just one problem that the mirror in the room had a speckled effect and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moira C

1,835 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1321)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (432)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (143)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
4:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (579)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (472)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Lillie Suite (68)
Viewed
Prince of Wales Deluxe Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Castle (43)
Viewed
Standard Double Room Rear (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruthin
0.2 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ruthin
335 reviews
38.7 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
652 reviews
39.9 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
39.3 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,052 reviews
32.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A magical Welsh hotel with mediaeval roots dating back to the days of Edward I. Set within acres of woods and parkland a little over 20 miles from Chester, in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Ruthin Castle is a truly romantic hotel steeped in history. The castle dates back to the legend of King Arthur with notable owners including King Edward I, Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. Book a stay in one of the many rooms; dine on award winning cuisine created using only the freshest local produce; bring a team of merry men for a themed night of fun, food and laughter; enjoy great business facilities in a secluded venue or book the wedding of your dreams within the ancient walls and picturesque grounds. Ruthin Castle is a royal Welsh gem just waiting to be explored. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruthin Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Ruthin LL15 2NU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Ruthin
Price Range: ₹ 9,025 - ₹ 17,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ruthin Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ruthin Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Ruthin
Ruthin Castle Hotel Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Ruthin Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go big and high, ask for preferences when booking, they listen.”
 of 5 bubbles Nippyems, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a suite they are an acceptable standard.”
 of 5 bubbles c2017416, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Although this is a spa, there is no pool.”
 of 5 bubbles moirac725, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have shower over bath Suggest you ask if you want a walk in shower or a larger bathroom . Rooms on three floors .”
 of 5 bubbles Penwyllt, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lovely views but higher floors require a trip in old fashioned lift”
 of 5 bubbles _hlines57, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5