We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Golden Fleece Inn

TravelocityUS$ 88*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 88*
US$ 88*
US$ 88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Golden Fleece Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Golden Fleece Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We visited as a short break on a gift voucher. The room was well equipped, warm and comfortable. The food (pate, scampi, steak, very sweet choc cookie pudding) and the beer were good. We found the staff did the job adequately but lacking in enthusiasm & friendliness. Perhaps management could look at more customer orientated training/attitudes.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike P
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your mostly positive review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the meals you had. I am really disappointed to hear that you didn't find our team members to be enthusiastic or friendly. This is most unusual as you will be able to see by previous reviews. A possible explanation for this (and not...

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We came here for my partner's birthday and to climb Mount Snowdon. Upon arrival we was met by the nicest gentleman who I believe was the manager, Bow. He was extremely helpful and pleasant and walked us to our beautiful Suite. As it was partners birthday they had left a birthday card for him on the coffee table which was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rosie L
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us as well as your meals and we look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Many thanks for the kind words which I will convey to our Team and Bo in particular. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Driving through village and saw the pub so thought we would ring and see if they were dog friendly, they said so and we parked up looking forward to lunch as the weather was very poor and we needed a pick me up. Nice welcome from bar staff and there was a roaring fire which immediately raised our moods. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonnyOldham
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience here. I'm surprised to read your review title which indicates you were made to feel unwelcome but then you state you were made to feel welcome upon arrival. We are all dog lovers (my self and husband have 3) and we do allow dogs in designated areas of our establishment...

Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Was really looking forward to our night away here. Staff were friendly. Very Dissapointed in the food ( nothing like the pictures on there web site) haven't got a clue how to make peppercorn sauce. It was gravy with peppercorns. Lasagne nice but tiny portion. Salad wet with dressing. hotel was musty needed a good airing and air freshener or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerensa J
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. If you would have bought any of these issues to our attention we could have resolved them for you however not knowing of them we were powerless to improve the quality of your stay. With regards to our food not looking like the pictures on our website I have added new...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Popped in for lunchtime food 2 for £12. Good selection of food, scampi was delicious and lots of it. Have since been back few more times. Lovely old fashioned pub, cave bar is lovely. Staff very friendly and cant do enough for you. Definitely will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah D
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit for lunch. We look fordwards to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Tired room, poor bathroom, small but warm and clean. Bar nice, breakfast 6/10 Good location but not good value. Greeted at reception with a notice advertising rates 35% below what we had paid online. Not available to us! Would stay somewhere else next time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MediMan22
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

We DO NOT have a notice at reception advertising rates because like most hotels our rates fluctuate depending on the time of the year etc. You arrived, checked in, then went to your room and used our WIFI to go online and check a last minute type discount site to see if our rate had been lowered. As the lady...

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

The positives are: excellent value for money. We had a standard double in the inn itself. Lovely room. Quality bedding furniture and towels. Large flatscreen tv which is rare nowadays. Windowseat with view over the square. Friendly staff. Ideally situated for Porthmadog and reasonable pub food. Frustrations were that with a few tweaks and no cost this could be even...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julie R
manchestewr
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We booked this hotel with some trepidation after reading some of the reviews on here these were completely unfounded. Check in was smooth and helpful room was spotless and very comfortable. We dined there a both nights food was excellent service first class by happy smiling staff. Breakfast was as good as anywhere else we have stayed. All in all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank philipcole3
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your positive review. I'm glad to see you have enjoyed your stay despite being weary of what other travelers have written. Like you I belive we offer a good product / service at a competertive price. Sadly travelers who have had a negative experience are statisticly far more likely to write a review than thoose who...

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We ate here one evening. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. We sat in the snug by reception where there was plenty of room for our dog. The owners were very dog friendly and she got lots of fuss. The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful. Definately worth another visit.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank harperholt
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for placing your positive review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the near future. Kind Regards Stuart, Liam and the Team

Aberdare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay. Our room wasn't in the main hotel but just across the road and was lovely. We ate in the pub both nights and food was great. We opted to pay for breakfast on the second day which was disorderly and poor I think the staff were trying to multitask by cleaning from he...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Victoria J
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for placing your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your overall stay and that you enjoyed both the room you stayed in and the evening meals you had. I was concerned to read about your experience at breakfast. We have since addressed the issue and hope that this will not put you off staing with us again. Kind Regards...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
1.4 km away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
668 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,407 reviews
6.3 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
364 reviews
8.4 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
1.4 km away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Price Range: ₹ 5,385 - ₹ 9,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Fleece Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't see any rooms in the main building but the Madoc Building has updated rooms.”
  • Comfortable bed
  • Room lighting fixture
QRooBound, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't look at web pictures”
883kerensaj, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cant offer any comments re accommodation, only used it as a watering hole!”
Ysbryd, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for back room as the flag at the front of building flaps in the wind all night and is quite noisy”
DeniseScotto, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Family room with plenty of room.”
Bethan255, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 88* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 88
LateRooms.comUS$ 88
Booking.comUS$ 89
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates