We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Riverside Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here new years eve .very friendly staff .stayed in room 8 on main road basic but very clean and very cheap .lovely bar lounge and conservatory and drinks good and cheap ..will be staying again soon

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank david k
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We hope you enjoyed your new year! Hopefully see you again soon

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

staff were so helpful and friendly hotel was warm and comfortable bedrooms comfy and warm comfy beds nice bathroom food was nice had breakfast here staff couldnt do enough for you excellent value for money great location free parking at rear other hotels in town you have to pay and display and renew fee usually early morning so theres an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank evansjanice0
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this kind review.

Penpedairheol
Reviewed 13 December 2016

stayed here en route to another destination, booked off an internet site. booked it as they had a bar and restaurant, it was absolutely hammering with rain and quite late, so did plan on leaving the hotel. we asked what time the restaurant was open to be told it does not open in the evening. we were given directions to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kwieca
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent b+b rooms lovely a cosy bathrooms spotless would highly recommend. Lovely bar lounge and conservatory if your are thinking of visiting Monmouth or nearby try The Riverside you will not be disappointed. The breakfast is lovely. The night manager Peter is friendly and helpful a credit to the establishment will definitely be staying again. Mr and Mrs Lynch from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corina L
UK
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We were booked in to this hotel by our insurance company as we had to leave our house. We had a family room and a twin room for a family of five, booked in for 10 nights. You would expect a warm welcome, but instead we were told that it was rather inconvenient at such short notice! Our rooms felt...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John W
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

This is review is from a person expecting to stay in a 5* Hotel. We are sorry to read this review at 1 star especially as the last review we received through trip advisor was a 5 star! They never got told that their booking was a little "Inconvenient" why would we say this to a 10 night booking? The...

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We had a function to attend in Monmouth and although we only live about seven miles away, we thought it would be nice to be able to walk to the function, so we could both have a drink. Read the previous reviews, a mixed bag, but we tend to take bad reviews with 'a pinch of salt'. Found The Riverside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dustydile
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this lovely review Please come stay again soon

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

If you are running a pub, don't claim it is a hotel just because you have rooms. We checked in on a Friday afternoon - OK rooms but not great. We then discovered that Friday night is Music Night in the pub. The very loud and very bad group was located directly under our room. The festivities then continued along...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John L
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here over night whilst on a horse riding weekend. On arrival very early in the morning spoke to the manager asking if I could leave my car in the carpark all day as we were out til at least 7pm not a problem! Came back in the evening to a warm welcome both by the manager and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine A
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. Please come and stay again soon

Devon
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Easy to find. Close to town. Lots of parking. Nice bar. Sunlounge. Lounge. Helpful, polite staff. Fantastic cooked breakfast. Decor is a bit tired. Bedrooms are basic. Ive given a 5* rating because at £50 a night B&B for two it was excellent value for money. If you like perfect paintwork, grey carpets and suited staff then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane C
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

We would like customers like you all the time :) Hopefully see you again soon

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Loved this hotel,staff very friendly and breakast was fantastic set us up for the,we would definitely recommend this hotel to others £50 b&b for 2 fantastic value and we will be back.Room was a good size and bathroom nice and big,walking distance from main shopping street in monmouth.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet D
Riverside418, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review. Please come back again soon

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monmouth
18.7 km away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
21.8 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
11.5 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
576 reviews
12.0 km away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
0.5 km away
The King's Head
The King's Head
#12 of 23 in Monmouth
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Cinderhill Street, Monmouth NP25 5EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Monmouth
Price Range: ₹ 4,025 - ₹ 5,798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Monmouth, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverside Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try not to have a room overlooking the main road, it tends to be a bit noisy,”
 of 5 bubbles Greypeasandbacon, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are noisy in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles K2474LDdaveb, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't even think of it! Its right next to the road, and the noise is intolerable - unless you can sleep with your windows closed!”
 of 5 bubbles CraftyArchitect, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 16, grubby, dingy and dated”
 of 5 bubbles Tiree54, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 5 and 7 are at the back so no traffic noise but these bathrooms need updating.”
 of 5 bubbles 80CarolC, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay