We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The West Arms Hotel

Expedia.comUS$ 145*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 149*
US$ 145*
Great Deal
US$ 149*
US$ 149*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The West Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The West Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 479: English reviews
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2015

This was our second stay at the West Arms and we were not disappointed. The accommodation is full of character and very comfortable, with lovely cosy areas to sit in including the formal dining room and the lounge bar. Lovely friendly and helpful staff, fantastic food, great location, what more could you want ! A big thank you to Steve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

Lovely little hotel with lots of character. Very peaceful and beautiful spot. Room nice ,cosy and spotless. Evening meal was just fab and breakfast didn't disappoint .staff very pleasant and helpful, especially Steve with his lil tip and his map of what to do and where to go. 👍 had a lovely stay and then a great day. Would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kezkeg
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We were so lucky with bright warm sunshine to be in such a superb location! All staff were pleasant, welcoming and helpful, hotel full of character. Dinner was excellent, clean spacious room and ensuite (separate shower and bath), large comfortable bed and great breakfast in the morning. All-in-all a great night, loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review - we are really pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future...

Liverpool
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We negotiated a deal by telephone for 2 nights B&B during the week of good weather at the end of June 2015. It included one evening’s meal consisting of first and main courses plus complimentary glass of Prosecco. Some dishes on the menu attracted a surcharge but there were plenty of alternatives to choose from without having to pay more....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RayLiverpool
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Ray for such a detailed review - we are really pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Recently stayed overnight at the West Arms. It has loads of character and great food in lovely surroundings. Steve and his staff did all they could to make our stay an enjoyable one. Would definately stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulo1959
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! We really do appreciate everyone's efforts in posting a review - especially the positive ones!

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Stayed one night at this great hote situated in an undiscovered part of Wales. Staff friendly and obliging, food superb and room excellent. Shower massive and a bath as well! Best bacon ever tasted for breakfast. Older Worlde excellence. We were in room 15 which had a great view. Only problem, ran out of Timothy Taylors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great comments - so sorry we ran out of Timothy Taylors - obviously you have great taste! We can always offer cask alternatives but if you visit again, (which we hope you do - such lovely guests), please let us know in advance and we will make sure we have abundant supplies......

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Lovely location and characterful property. Creaky floors and odd staircases abound and just add to the enjoyment if you appreciate individuality. We enjoyed the evening meal (some unusual items such as delicious duck samosa) and freshly cooked breakfasts with top quality ingredients. The room had a large and comfortable bed with nice linen and was very clean. The bathroom unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traveller_B33
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. The room you were allocated is slightly cheaper than our standard rooms, due to the fact it has not got a country outlook . However it is a comfortable room as you state in your review. On noting your comments, we are now bleaching the grout...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

One of the worst I have ever experienced.Not at all like brochure photos,must have been taken on a very good day.Scruffy and badly in need of a total make over.Don't be fooled by the celebrity chef advert,got to have been some of the worst food we have ever been served,with extremely over the top prices.Even faulty towers would beat this...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Denise R
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It is hardly surprising that our reaction to your comments was one of complete shock - especially when so many reviewers post such praise about The West Arms: its ambience, its location and its food. It seems such a disappointment that anyone could dislike absolutely everything about our establishment, especially when the majority of visitors find it so agreeable. However...

Llangollen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2015

It says on the door 'hotel since 1670' and they have managed to preserve much of the charm of this beautiful building. Llanarmon DC has a Cotswalds quaint village feel with a stream running through and plenty of traditional buildings. The hotel exudes a homely feel, with open fires in most of the public rooms and well furnished bedrooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crabbycontroller
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

Had a fantastic romantic stay. The willow suite was superb massive room, clean and very comfortable, the hotel ambiance was great and the food exceptional. The best point was the staff, they made the stay from good to excellent. Just wish we stayed longer. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CB020806

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.1 km away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
390 reviews
12.6 km away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
244 reviews
8.8 km away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
518 reviews
11.3 km away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
744 reviews
17.7 km away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Price Range: ₹ 5,039 - ₹ 11,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The West Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
North of London
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The West Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms very individual...”
Honley2017, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in the Willow suite”
  • Suite
  • Suite
ShirleyValentine60, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms offer excellent facilities and really good value for money.”
MichaelB652, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“We were at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden. Very peaceful but all of the rooms I would think were quiet as the location was.”
royandjean447, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Both rooms we've stayed in were lovely”
Ruthhughes1, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 145* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 149
Booking.comUS$ 149
Hotwire.comUS$ 145
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates