We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Morwendon Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanaber
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Morwendon Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 387: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 2, superior room, lovely touches with chocolates and sherry, beautiful bay window to take in the beach views. Shower room adequate. Pillows were just the best! Excellent breakfast choices. Communal lounge great for drinks on arrival - small bar open to guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Our second visit to Morwendon and again we had a fantastic time. Lovely room, welcoming hosts and wonderful food. Please never stop doing evening meals. Geoff is a fantastic cook. We will look forward to visiting you again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdwinaJane
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The first time we pulled up into the car park we knew we were going to have a good stay. Such a friendly couple Teresa and Geoff, made you feel very welcome. Excellent food if you wanted to eat here and the views are something else. Our room was very comfortable. Highly recommend the Welsh Highland Railway. The Cycle Ride...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth W
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Just had enjoyable 4 nights at Morwendon House. This is ideally situated for visiting the coast and mountains of Snowdonia. Views from the property are outstanding. Our room looked straight over to sea.. proprietors were very friendly and approachable. Decor was first class. Food was excellent with plenty of choice. Will shortly be booking again for next spring.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylvia D
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Teresa and Geoff were great hosts. We felt very Welcome and had a great time. They know everything there is to know about the area (Things to see/visit transportation activities etc.) The food was AMAZING!!! Make sure you try Teresa's Homemade Ice Cream!! Overall we had a great time. I almost forgot, the View from the house is absolutely incredible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivier B
st.albans
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We were booked for an overnight stay as we were on our way to Swondonia,although we arrived later than planned,the hosts were very welcoming,the room was lovely,very clean lovely décor,jug of milk provided for tea(,no little long life cartons)decanted sherry by the sofa,overlooking the sea.Breakfast next morning was lovely,passed the poached egg test. would defineately recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mole250
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Teresa and Geoff were the perfect hosts very welcoming and friendly. Our room at the top of the house was very clean, modern and spotless with two small windows but what an amazing view wow..We had an evening meal and had the Cod Loin and the Ribeye steak chosen from a very varied menu wonderfully cooked by Geoff.The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glynistolley
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Slightly disappointed after reading all the reviews about Morwendon guest house, We stayed in the Garden room, felt like it was an over priced decorated out house, had a problem with the shower flooding due to blocked/slow drainage, did mention it to owners and they tried to rectify it, but no luck!.... Car parking was an issue due to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dekka96
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us what a pity you didn't say anything to us while you were here. We did attend to the shower drainage and found it full of sand and we thought we had solved the problem, you didn't say it was not improved! It is worth pointing...

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Room was bright, well decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The service from the owners was second to none, they gave us home made ice cream upon arrival at no extra charge, served on the patio over looking Cardingan bay. Food was well cooked tasty and served hot. Nothing was too much trouble and we even had an anniversary card waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Daventry
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The food, especially the evening meal, was outstanding and one of the best features of our holiday. Our room (#3) had one of best sea views we have experienced. Our daughter’s room (#4) was fine but rather cold. The parking was adequate – but not more. A message in the car park to remind guests to front into the rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaventryMan
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay especially the sea views and the food. Our heating is not on in the middle of August and we are sorry your daughter found it cold, you perhaps should have mentioned it. With regard to the parking we send every guest an email or letter in which...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanaber
1.7 km away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
353 reviews
3.3 km away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
170 reviews
2.2 km away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
303 reviews
3.2 km away
Bryn Melyn Guest House
Bryn Melyn Guest House
#1 of 24 in Barmouth
246 reviews
2.9 km away
Richmond House
Richmond House
#3 of 24 in Barmouth
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Morwendon House (meaning "white wave of the sea") is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay; an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the delights of this beautiful part of Wales. Teresa and Geoff are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. For a taste of quality living in superb surroundings Morwendon House fits the bill perfectly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morwendon Guest House

Address: Morwendon Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Price Range: ₹ 7,576 - ₹ 7,661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Morwendon Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very close to train stop - ideal to pop into Barmouth,”
 of 5 bubbles S2722BIstevej, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a sea view room!”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“all rooms have fabulous views..”
 of 5 bubbles glynistolley, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 has a fabulous view”
 of 5 bubbles nataliejayne27, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have the best view of the bay”
 of 5 bubbles 34JulieB34, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5