We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed an excellent lunch here today, right opposite a wonderful roaring fire which was perfect given the cold and wet weather. The staff were extremely polite and attentive and the food itself was delicious - homemade chicken and leek pie with fantastic thrice cooked chips in beef dripping and an equally delicious lamb confit with creamy mash and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
Surrey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A traditional old hotel with good sized rooms although rooms at the front can suffer from traffic noise. Lots of nice little touches like complimentary bottled water and a good range of toiletries. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but enjoyed a delicious and well presented full Welsh breakfast. This is an old building with creaking floorboards but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cranside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked a mid-week bargain and were very pleased from the start: a separate sitting area in our room, good tea facilities and toiletteries, stylish and cosy decor throughout, first rate breakfast with lots to choose from, a cosy bar area to hand out in and really considerate staff. However, we found the mattress a little on the hard... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea I
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us .... but what are we going to do to surprise you next time ? More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed on my own for a few days sorting out family affairs. The room was lovely and I slept longer than normal too. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was delicious and filling. Handy having the free car park as was able to leave my car without worry.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J965IJjennyf
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you got everything sorted and it sounds like some R & R as well ! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

stayed for a one night stay very nice place full of character rooms very modern with a huge bed.had food in resturant in the evening out of this world.nice bar,also a couple of beer gardens had a snack lunchtime that was also of good quality.had a sound sleep breakfast was help yourself to cereal and you got to choose your... More 

Helpful?
Thank david d
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you - very kind words. More 

France
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Went with 2 small children for an evening meal, I can't fault the main food, but the service was terrible... booked table for 6 for early service, main menu was poor, but specials made up for it. After clearing the mains it was over 45minutes to choose desert... had to ask for service, children wanted their free ice cream but... More 

Helpful?
Thank cbcb8686
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I do have a recollection of this. We were short staffed due to illness but this does not excuse the fact that your dessert order was not taken. It was the first time that the young waiter had been "on desserts" and he was a bit stressed. I recall coming from the restaurant at around 8.00 pm and seeing you... More 

Cockermouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Good base for visiting the Llandovery Sheep Festival, which was fun, and the one dinner we ate there was good. However the service was at best poor. On a very busy weekend the staffing was woefully inadequate and the poor staff on the front line were harried and run off their feet. A misunderstanding about whether we were part of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elspeth P
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Regarding your criticism of the room, the gentleman who booked the rooms on your behalf asked for budget rooms. We have more glamorous rooms for those who wish to pay for them. The collapsed shelf has not been reported but will be looked into immediately ! Regarding the Bio Mass Boiler - I turned this off 5 mins after you... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

This is an old coaching inn, so it is not for those who want a modern building. It does however have character (including wonky floors) and very good, spacious rooms. We did not get the room that we thought we had booked though a third party website, but that was resolved very swiftly by the helpful staff. The room we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words - they are appreciated. More 

Saundersfoot
Level Contributor
308 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had half an hour and this was nearest the coach parking.... 🙄 We weren't impressed.... Perhaps we didn't have long enough to assess but first impressions etc..!🤔 I didn't take any photos... and really they wouldn't have helped any...!

Helpful?
Thank jimboSaundersfoot
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

It is rather difficult to respond to this as no problems were specified. We occasionally struggle with unannounced coach parties if they arrive mid afternoon when we do not have staff to accommodate but I have no recollection of this happening in the last week or so. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed in the Castle as we had a wedding nearby in Myddfai. The room was very large and clean, with a fantastic breakfast and very helpful staff. I would recommend the Castle to friends and family on visits to Myddfai.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christopher_owen
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We do our best ! More 

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
33.0 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
788 reviews
28.1 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
432 reviews
18.2 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
272 reviews
39.7 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,193 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#4 of 13 in Llandovery
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Price Range: ₹ 3,967 - ₹ 7,660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
over a year ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front can suffer from traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles Cranside, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wherever is furthest away from the anaerobic digester!”
 of 5 bubbles Elzzza, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“book early to avoid disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles davidmQ4970QO, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Adjacent to busy road, no rooms are particularly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Roofer59, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles Ijjohnpa, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay