We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Hotel

29/05/2017 30/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 384: English reviews
Start your review of Castle Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our evening meal served by friendly, helpful staff. Our room (a "better" room) was comfortable and spacious. The lounge with open (gas) fire was also homely and comfortable but outside was a little rough around the edges.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room lovely ,clean comfy bedding , plenty fresh towels and toiletries food plenty of nicely cooked and presented and good value . Great with the Dog also would go again and recommend to anyone any age

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stumbled upon this hotel via a Groupon voucher which we purchased for my birthday and we first used in March. Upon entering the Castle Hotel we immediately fell in love with the place. We stayed for 2 nights and we really enjoyed. The staff were fantastic, polite and helpful. We also ate here a few times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlyndavies
rugeley, england
Reviewed 1 week ago

Old fashioned inn, Decent food, friendly staff, A bit dark , carpets need a good clean. My room was near the extractor fan, so it felt smelly and noisy. Plenty of locals in, which is always a good sign.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fletchsteve
Bridgend
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent welcome from pleasant and accomodating staff, beautiful room (Lord Nelson suite ), local quality hand made toiletries, plentiful well cooked food reasonably priced coupled with a roaring log fire in lounge made this hotel a real treat for our mini break. Close to the National Botanical gardens and other attractions meant there was plenty to see and do if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbra B
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

& we will look forward to welcoming you. Thank you for your kind words.

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Castle Hotel is an old property with loads of character which we love but the room was just awful. The room needs refurbishing entirely as does the en suite. The only thing that I can say which was positive was that the mattress was comfortable so we slept ok. The cost was way too much for what was on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank i_rees1
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Room 9 is yet to be refurbished (since 5 years ago) but is on the list for the near future. I am sorry that you found it dated, it is granted a more traditionally styled room which some people find appealing.

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We bought a midweek break on Groupon for a friend's birthday so wanted everything to go really smoothly and well. We weren't disappointed. We were made very welcome at Reception when we walked in the first thing we saws was blazing fire, comfortable sofas and a range of magazines, games etc for those who wanted to stay indoors. The welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarionWalker16
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Hopefully you will take the opportunity to return on our next offer. Thank you for your kind comments.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here several times before, like to go back to somewhere where one "feels at home". It is in the centre of a Welsh market town, close to a medieval castle (hence the name of the hotel), large carpark and weekly cattle market. The hotel has free parking, including an electric car charging point, and a short walk form Llandovery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_from_Longstock
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Sounds like you'll be back - many thanks for the review.

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called on a Friday evening for a meal about 7.00. The hotel was quite busy and we were shown to a table for 2. It took 15 minutes for someone to take our drinks order although several waiters came into the room and totally ignored us. We eventually ordered our food and I specifically asked about how they cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank valitaly2016
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am not going to make excuses for this, we were busy and we did not deliver on this occasion. As regards my level of concern, I can assure you that I was utterly mortified ! Other than apologising & not charging you there was little else to be done as you were on your way out of the door....

Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were greeted by the receptionist, who was very friendly and helpful. He checked us in and personally showed us to our room, offering to carry our bags a lovely gesture. The room we booked was the castle's Best room range, we had room 6 fantastic large room with a very large bathroom. Two bottles of sparking water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birch851
AnnaReed, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review

How wonderful - a happy accident ! Room 6 is delightful and on the refurbishment list as we speak.

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
29/05/2017 30/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandovery
18.2 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
425 reviews
32.9 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
872 reviews
0.1 km away
Kings Head Inn
Kings Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Llandovery
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#6 of 13 in Llandovery
85 reviews
0.0 km away
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
The Drovers Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 13 in Llandovery
69 reviews
9.2 km away
Llanerchindda Farm
Llanerchindda Farm
#2 of 13 in Llandovery
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly refurbished Castle Hotel in Llandovery has recently been reopened, by the small family run business, Taste Inn Wales owned and managed Sean Gerrard, Glyn and Jessica Bridgeman. The rooms, lovingly refurbished and their interior is honest, friendly and welcoming to all. Whether you are planning an outdoor activity break on the mountains, water, or in the air, our facilities are ideally suited to help you rest, recharge and recover. The bar and restaurant serve high quality local produce, cooked simply and beautifully. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Llandovery SA20 0AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery
Price Range: ₹ 4,305 - ₹ 8,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
over a year ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for a best room beds are huge !”
janesD830MM, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the kitchen extractor fan! ( room 118)”
fletchsteve, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A variety of rooms, better to ask the receptionist when booking.”
Chris_from_Longstock, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was quiet,at the side of the Hotel”
indecoomb, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Treat yourself to best or the suite”
bub72, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates