We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Portpatrick Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Portpatrick Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 481: English reviews
Start your review of The Portpatrick Hotel
 Click to rate
henley in arden
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

good value for the price enjoyed the walk down to the harbour and the costal walks are lovely,also had a good game of golf will be back to that course.The pubs in the town are great for food and lots of choice,recommend a day out on the water to fish for sea bass

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hnly922
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was recently on a Caledonian tour and stayed in this Hotel ,can honestly say that this was the best hotel we have stayed in over the past couple years,room was perfect ( sea view,single room), very clean, would preferred walk in shower,but was also nice having a relaxing bath after coming back from a sigh seeing. The food was exactly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank roy224
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just come back from a weekend at portpatrick hotel.with Caledonian travel.what can I say,we were met bye the manager who could not do enough for us,and works some amount of shifts,as he was there every day we were lol..beautifull location.imaculate hotel.scenery to die for.food on both nights was lovely,staff are so friendly and food was prompt after each...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marion M
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This large hotel is in an elevated position overlooking Portpatrick and the coast. Our premier room (for which we paid a small supplement) took in these views and was spacious and comfortable but unfortunately insufficiently heated for the winter weather. However, a supplementary heater was quickly found by the receptionist. The bathroom towel-rail heater was similarly under-sized and cool although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GiffLancashire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

room 118 at the portpatrick should be avoided at all costs it is a upgraded room with a sea view but the window frames are falling to bits we had to stuff all the holes with tissues and towels to try and stop the draughts we have both come home with colds and stiff necks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david s
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry about old windows. We are hoping sometime soon we can get them replaced. Being a listed building, it's not quite as easy as we would like. I'm not sure when you were here, but I'm sure we would have changed your room for you if we had known you were unhappy.

Stoke-on-Trent
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay travelling with Shearings coaches staying at the Portpatrick Hotel. Situated on the headland overlooking the sea and the village, this hotel has superb views and is only a short distance from the village where there are a few shops and pubs. We were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret Lesley B
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for the kind review. It really is appreciated. It is always good to hear when someone has enjoyed all aspects of their holiday, which you clearly did. Thanks again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have recently returned from a Shearings coach trip staying at the Portpatrick Hotel in Scotland. We enjoyed our stay in this excellent hotel where all the staff were very friendly. The views looking out to the sea and the village were magnificent as the hotel is situated on the hillside with just a short but steep walk down to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret B
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing. I will ensure all staff see your review to show them their hard work does not go un-noticed.

Stamford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Like most reviewers, my wife and I were at the hotel on a Shearings tour. We were very happy with our stay. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. A comfortable bed, chairs to sit in and a mostly good bathroom. We paid extra to be upgraded to a sea view room and that was a good decision....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jjbat35
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The views are spectacular both in the winter and summer. Are new wi-fi will be with us in the next few weeks where you will be able to use your devices anywhere in the hotel. Work starts on this on Wednesday

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our rooms had wonderful views over the quaint little harbour and at night when all the lights were twinkling it was magical.the hotel is in a wonderful setting high above the sea.the menu each day was excellent ,beautiful food always hot and always served with a smile.first rate hotel well run and lovely staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rosie361
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. It is always nice to know guests have enjoyed their stay.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, free upgrade to sea view room, excellent food , hotel perched right on headland could not have a better position. Went on a Shearings bargain break. Highly recommended. Lovely coastal walking right from the door, and a photographer's dream.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie W
PortpatrickHotel, Manager at The Portpatrick Hotel, responded to this review

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. The views are spectacular both in the winter and summer. Thanks for taking the time to write.

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (234)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portpatrick
0.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portpatrick
301 reviews
0.3 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
223 reviews
3.2 km away
Knockinaam Lodge
Knockinaam Lodge
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Downshire Hotel
The Downshire Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portpatrick
102 reviews
18.4 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
28.1 km away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portpatrick is a small fishing village set in a peaceful and unspoilt corner of Southern Scotland. The Portpatrick Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore this delightful area. The Portpatrick Hotel is a spectacular property standing on Galloway’s clifftops in nine acres of grounds, overlooking the village and its secluded harbour. The area is a haven for lovers of sports and the outdoors, with its own tennis court and 9-hole golf course. You’ll also find a variety of wonderful opportunities for birdwatching and fishing. From the hotel you can enjoy day trips to nearby Stranraer, magnificent historical sites and gardens, or even a trip by ferry to Northern Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Portpatrick Hotel

Address: Heugh Road, Portpatrick DG9 8TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Portpatrick
Price Range: ₹ 7,356 - ₹ 12,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Portpatrick Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Portpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portpatrick Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Lichfield, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Ayr, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Coleraine, United Kingdom

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from The Portpatrick Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles roy224, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's worth paying the small supplement for a superior room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles GiffLancashire, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure you see the room before accepting”
 of 5 bubbles W4728WRdavids, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with sea views would be excellent”
 of 5 bubbles margaretlesleyb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It's worth the extra for a sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles jjbat35, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5