We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rowardennan Lodge SYHA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

A fantastic place to recharge your batteries after a big day on the west highland way. As with most shya hostels this place has absolutely everything a hiker needs from a hot shower and cooking facilities to a comfy sofa to relax on. This one, though, has awesome views of Loch Lomond too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abby C
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for taking the time to review, we really appreciate it. And yes, the views from that lounge window are the best. Thanks again for posting. Lorna Padden

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

The hostel sits on the east bank of Loch lommond. In a stunning setting overlooking the Loch. The hostel is well run. Very busy in the Peak season. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The hostel provides everything I needed for my stay. It even offers evening meals and breakfast at an additional price. The rooms can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C_R_A_S_H77
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to post and let us know about your stay, we appreciate all feedback and we will pass on your kind comments to Aaron and his team. Thanks Lorna

ayrshire
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Stayed here January 2016, we rented whole hostel as a gathering for family and friends to celebrate a special birthday. The hostel is in a remote location which adds to its charm as it is so unspoilt, it sits right on the bonnie banks. This also made transport to and from in January weather quite an adventure . Had communicated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainekean
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks very much for such a great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to post, and we will be sure to pass your very kind words onto Aaron as well. Lorna

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Clean, great food (the best on the WHW). About a mile away from Rowardennan hotel. Bad signage when you're walking up to the hostel as you do not realise how far it is. No wife and internet/phone connection strength is poor. Good for a night along the West Highland Way. Communal showers that clogged quite a bit so inconvenient but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherrypd
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for posting we really do value your feedback. We will ask our Property Manager to look into the shower issues as that should not be happening. Thanks Lorna

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

We arrived and discovered we had mixed up our booking, but the manager, (man with red hair from NZ?) was incredibly helpful and sorted it out for us - we were very grateful for this. We then went for a meal in the kitchen and had a fantastic two course dinner of delicious food. We had some issues in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katriona H
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for your review. We will pass your kind words onto Aaron, the Youth Hostel Manager, he is from OZ, but he fits your description ) Thank You Lorna Padden

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Nice clean accommodation, a bit cramped for three adults with baggage. Bed lights questionable! Bit fed up to be advised that as we hadn't booked dinner, we couldn't get any and that the hotel was just down the road! However, they redeemed themselves with their cooked breakfast in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ColinN2412
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to post. Glad you enjoyed tour stay and the breakfast. We have evening meals available all evenings generally up until about 2000 each evening, so I am not sure what has happened here, but we will investigate and ensure it doesn't happen again. We do have a small...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

A bit further on from the car park than expected, but clean, good food, excellent range of emergency supplies available (chocolate, fuel, beer). Breakfast was good too. Prices at youth hostels are on the high side for what you get but then your really helping keep the place going.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grumhelden
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your very kind review and for taking the time to post. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Thanks Lorna

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Although I have stayed in many bunkhouses and hostels across Scotland though this was my first visit to an actual YHA hostel. We stayed for one night as we passed through during our trip along the West Highland Way, as I'm sure many other guests do. Overall I was very impressed with the hostel. Possibly my favourite part was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiamRichards
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, What a lovely review, thank you so very much, we will pass your kind comments on, by process of elimination, we think the Australian Lady is Kendall, so we will let her know. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again. Lorna Padden

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

A great stay. We stayed one night in a private twin room as part of the west highland way. The position and views over Loch Lomond were incredible. An unrivalled position. A great communal room with huge windows to enjoy the view. We had a 3 course evening meal for £12 which was delicious, really good. We also had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for taking the time to post and what a lovely review, thank you so very much. We will pass all your kind comments onto our team. thanks Lorna Padden

London
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Absolutely no complaints here... Stayed 1 night, walking the West Highland Way, and couldn't have asked for a better place to lay out weary heads. Took a twin room for just the two of us for £45 (half what some other places charged along the route). Was comfy and very clean. We paid £12 each on arrival for 2 courses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvieWonder78
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to post and let us know about your stay, we really appreciate you taking the time. Thank You Lorna Padden

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
6.1 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.1 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
406 reviews
10.5 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,102 reviews
15.8 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
1.0 km away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rowardennan
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rowardennan Lodge is set on the banks of Loch Lomond at the base of Ben Lomond. The West Highland Way passes directly past its front door making it an ideal stop along the way. The youth hostel is accessible by car and on foot as well as via the Loch Lomond Waterbus which operates direct from the hostel. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rowardennan Lodge SYHA

Address: Rowardennan Youth Hostel Rowardennan Youth Hostel On the Banks of Loch Lomond | By Drymen, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Price Range: ₹ 2,407 - ₹ 13,860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Rowardennan Lodge SYHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Rowardennan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rowardennan Lodge SYHA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bathgate
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rowardennan Lodge SYHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want privacy book a private room.”
580Bob, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Take some lunch when you leave, to the north is pretty far until the next stop.”
tychov2015, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a loch-side room.”
KevinKersdale, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Dorms are nice and cheap, Private rooms cost more”
  • My Dorm Room
  • View from Outside
  • View of Loch
robertsL9236BD, 12 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking Loch Lomond. It is worth paying more to wake up and see the reflections of the mountains above Inverbeg in mirror calm water”
85scottg, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5