We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rowardennan Lodge SYHA

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rowardennan Lodge SYHA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 157: English reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed here during our recent West Highland Way trip. We had three private rooms and had breakfast and dinner cooked for us in the restaurant. Accommodation and food all excellent value, and we even had a bottle of wine. We sat in the lounge afterwards with the most amazing view over Loch Lomond, while the children played Monopoly. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your very kind review, we will pass on your very kind review. Lorna Padden

Kolding, Denmark
Reviewed 23 August 2016

After a full day of rain I arrived at the reception - happy to be under a roof again. Then I see that they offer dinner, breakfast, packed lunch and wifi - most of this news to me after researching online - nice news though. I order breakfast and packed lunch, and ask for dinner. Dinner is all booked, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Briddie F
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to post. Please be assured we will look into all the issues you have raised as we have take all feedback very seriously. Lorna Padden

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful, picturesque setting on the edge of Loch Lomond. Wonderful staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Basic twin room with sink - that is what we expected. Toilet and shower facilities very good. Well-stocked shop and canteen facilities. We had dinner and breakfast. All more than adequate and good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmi61
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Wow, thanks you very much for this very kind review. Thank You very much, we will pass on your kind words. Lorna Padden

Darmstadt, Germany
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed there for one night along the West HIghland Way. The location and the outer appearance of the building are outstanding. The staff was friendly and the view through the lounge windows across Loch Lomond is definetely great. However, the number of toilets was quite limited, 2 of the 3 showers didn't work properly (hardly any pressure). The quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomlingnau
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to post, its very much appreciated. I have asked our team too look at the issues you have mentioned, be assured we take all feedbcak very seriously. thank you Lorna Padden

Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed here during our West Highland Way walk. The location is outstanding, right on Loch Lomand with a jetty and beaches. We went swimming in the lake which was amazing. The builing itself is a victorian hunting lodge and very picturesque. We were two couples staying in shared same sex dorms. The rooms were a little small but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marzi0000
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Wow, thank you very much, what a lovely review, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Thanks Lorna Padden

Bolton, England
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here after our 2nd day of walking the West Highland Way. Check in was easy, the room for 5 of us was of a decent size, drying room was sufficient and showering facilities were OK. The swimming facilities were awesome and definitely refreshing after a day of walking just a short walk....down to the Loch! We had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oddyball
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay, this really does mean a lot to our team and we will pass on your very kind comments. Lorna Padden

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This hostel is brilliant, very welcoming and helpful staff. Second time Ive stayed here and if i was in the area not doing the West Highland way then I would defo be staying here again. Food is good and plentiful especially the breakfast which is massive. I adore sitting in the bay window looking out over the Loch and taking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davie P
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Wow, thank you very much, we really appreciate you taking the time to post and will pass your very kind words onto all the team at Rowardennan Lodge. Thanks Lorna Padden

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

One of the best hostels I have visited. All the usual facilities you would expect from a large hostel with the added bonus of a wonderful setting on Loch Lomond and surrounding views. Staff friendly and helpful, and the hostel very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 800TonyD
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much, what a lovely review, our team will be really happy to read this. Thnaks Lorna Padden

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Brioney and joanna were lovely.very helpful and accomodating . lovely hot cappuchino on a wet miserable day cheered us up and the girls were very friendly.thanks girls. nice quiet seating area. friendly atmosphere and cheap too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LIZ H
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your very kind review. We will be sure to pass it onto the team at Rowardennan Lodge. Thank You Lorna Padden

Alva, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a fairly large group of like-minded individuals. Very comfortable, slept like the proverbial log (but that was probably helped by quantities of whisky), relaxed and enjoyed the stunning and ever-changing views. The food was good, the service was good and the showers flowed freely and were hot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnLamond
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Rowardennan Lodge SYHA, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your very kind comments, the team will be very pleased to read these and even more so by the kind commnets regarding their food. Thank you Lorna Padden

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowardennan
6.0 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.1 km away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
374 reviews
10.5 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Rowardennan Hotel
Rowardennan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rowardennan
614 reviews
0.2 km away
Ben Lomond Bunkhouse at Ardess Lodge
2.1 km away
The Inn on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rowardennan Lodge is set on the banks of Loch Lomond at the base of Ben Lomond. The West Highland Way passes directly past its front door making it an ideal stop along the way. The youth hostel is accessible by car and on foot as well as via the Loch Lomond Waterbus which operates direct from the hostel. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rowardennan Lodge SYHA

Address: Rowardennan Youth Hostel On the Banks of Loch Lomond | By Drymen, Rowardennan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Rowardennan
Price Range: ₹ 3,093 - ₹ 8,693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rowardennan Lodge SYHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowardennan Hotel Rowardennan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rowardennan Lodge SYHA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bathgate
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rowardennan Lodge SYHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want privacy book a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles 580Bob, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Take some lunch when you leave, to the north is pretty far until the next stop.”
 of 5 bubbles tychov2015, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a loch-side room.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinKersdale, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Dorms are nice and cheap, Private rooms cost more”
  • My Dorm Room
  • View from Outside
  • View of Loch
 of 5 bubbles robertsL9236BD, 12 May 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking Loch Lomond. It is worth paying more to wake up and see the reflections of the mountains above Inverbeg in mirror calm water”
 of 5 bubbles 85scottg, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5