We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gartmore House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Gartmore House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gartmore House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room for 3 nights in August. The best parts about the stay were the overall grandeur of the building, the spectacular views from the back of the building over whole estate, and the very friendly staff. Breakfast wasn't bad either. On the downside the facilities were a bit dated and the room was a bit small.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lovescotland1989
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the building and the stunning surroundings. We are very lucky with our location and views over to Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument. Thank you for the comments on the team too, I will be sure to pass these on....

London
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We arrived at Gartmore, a very beautiful old house in the process of slow renovation, and not very long after received news that we had to abandon our stay and return home. The staff were very helpful, even though we had paid in full they offered us a complete refund (which we didn't take because we had showered etc in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snowybennett
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed what time you did manage to get here. We were sorry you had to leave so soon but hope you get another chance to visit us again. Thanks again, The Gartmore House Team

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Very pleasant stay in a lovely old building with loads of character. Comfortable rooms, excellent service, attentive staff who are working hard to improve the visitor experience and in our opinion succeeding. Beautiful surroundings with lots of things to see and do in and around the area. We fully intend to return with friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Gartmore House and appreciate the kind comments. It was a pleasure to host the walking group and we really hope we will see you again soon. Thanks again, The Gartmore House Team

Inverurie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

The building needs some renovation but it doesn't detract from the delightful interior. We, as a walking group, spent a delightful 4 nights there. The staff are very attentive, the food was great, the bedroom was fine, no TV which was a bonus. large bathroom wait shower. I can't wait to go back and will recommend this venue to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Mac70
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate all the kind things you have expressed about your visit to Gartmore House and are glad you enjoyed the time you spent here. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Thanks again.

Ballater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Look beyond the tired exterior of this hotel and you will find a place of charm and true hospitality. The staff are so friendly and the food they produced for us, a group of around 55 people, was exceptional. Our room was large and the bathroom huge. I would not hesitate in choosing this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 37irenec
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your kind comments and are happy you had a lovely stay with us. Your group were a joy to host and we hope to see you all again in the future. Thanks again, The Gartmore House Team

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

My husband and I spent 4 nights here as part of a Network 50+ walking holiday.the hotel itself is a bit tired, but quaint and quirky--bags of character!! Our room was clean and tidied daily--the only thing lacking was drawer space but we managed fine for the short time! The lounge was full of a mix of furniture adding to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robmuriel
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Gartmore House. We appreciate all the kind comments and are glad you enjoyed your time spent here. We enjoyed hosting your walking group and are happy that you liked our "quirkiness". Hope to see you again some point in the future.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

This hotel is very old and should be closed down for refurbishment part of the establishment is a hostel the other part is certainly not a 4star hotel we are in dispute with them as they have taken seventy pounds from our bank we were told to go ahead with trip advisor we have travelled the world and ashamed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _elainesmith261
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Firstly, there is no dispute over your money as it was returned on 19th April 2016. Secondly, we do not claim to be a 4 star hotel. We have no star rating at all and have no interest in gaining a star rating. I can only assume you are referring to the 4 star rating we have on...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Arrived and instantly disappointed by old, run down and badly maintained building. Checked into room and had coffee. Left after half an hour as was a complete let down and did not meet a basic standard for any hotel/guest house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouH14
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is very disappointing that you did not stay and left within the hour. Its just such a shame that you never discussed your points when you left or we could of tried to rectify some of them. Yes we appreciate we are an old building, but we have been...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I was part of a committee organising a conference for over 70 students & staff from the University of Edinburgh. We chose Gartmore House for its reasonable prices & stunning location. Everyone at the conference fell in love with this quirky & homely hotel. There was especially high praise for the homemade food! One of the most popular rooms during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bexyxbox
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write your review. Your comments are very kind and we are all happy you had a great time. It was lovely having you all here and to be part of your event and for it to go so well was pleasing for us all. Aneta who was the chef that made all your home...

Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewed 17 January 2016

I too had the pate mentioned in the review below, it may have been shop bought but if it was it was the only thing I ate the whole weekend which wasn't home made. Just returned from fabulous quilting retreat there. Gartmore house staff could not have been better, the group I was with hunted down the chef to give...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Budsmistress
Vicky M, General Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review

We are so pleased you chose Gartmore House for your event this year and even more pleased that you all had such a great time. We appreciate the kind comments you all left on your guest questionnaires too. And even though it was a bit of a chilly weekend, your hands must of kept warm with the amount of work...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
8.2 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
2.6 km away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
573 reviews
6.5 km away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
21.0 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
17.3 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Gartmore House

Address: 1 Gartmore, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Price Range: ₹ 5,789 - ₹ 6,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Gartmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gartmore House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gartmore House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 203 great”
 of 5 bubbles davecullen6, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was small ask for the family room”
 of 5 bubbles stevendJ4268RE, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not accept room 207”
 of 5 bubbles GarethJJones, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The area is quiet so all rooms are good and there is a lift so no struggling up to second floor .”
 of 5 bubbles 845kathleena, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“best avoid”
 of 5 bubbles F5540ZHfrankm, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay