We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Claymore Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrochar
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,334: English reviews
Start your review of Claymore Hotel
 Click to rate
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Brilliant Value. This was our second National Holiday coach trip. The driver Alex gave us a verbal tour of all the interesting places on our trip to Oban. Coaches were comfortable and our own driver Noel was very safe and steady negotiating the narrow Scottish roads. The hotel was good, bed breakfast and evening meals were very good value with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffq71
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your terrific review of your recent stay. I'm delighted to read that this was your second stay - we must be doing something right!! We hope that you will come back for a third stay very soon. Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Brilliant Value. This was my first National Holiday coach trip. The driver Alex gave us a verbal tour of all the interesting places on route. Coaches were comfortable. The hotel was lovely, bed breakfast and evening meals were lovely. Good choice and very tasty. 4 free drinks per day. The staff in the hotel were fab, nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elainefinch
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your first National Holidays trip. They do offer terrific value for money and I can inform you that you are correct in saying that there are more bathrooms to be refurbished. There will be a number of bedrooms and bathrooms refurbished in April/May so please come...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Everything about our stay was mediocre . windy nights made the windows rattle! But for what we paid I'd expect that. Views are amazing,staff were nice. Night entertainment was boring even the entertainers seemed bored. Wouldn't revisit. Coach drivers Gary and malcolm were fantastic!! They were good fun and really made an effort. Staff at the hotel seemed rushed (maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rany k
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read that you felt your stay was mediocre. All the staff and management go out of their way to ensure that all guests enjoy themselves and that includes the entertainers. We regularly receive very complimentary reviews about the nightly entertainment and I'm afraid that you might find yourself in a very small minority indeed!! The hotel...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi I have just returned from a 3 day break to the Claymore with National Holidays and as much as I enjoyed my stay here I was disappointed with the meal arrangements. I travelled on my own and made friends with some lovely people on the coach on the way, we got on really well and were looking forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Myra H
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I find it strange that you didn't ask to be seated with your new friends when you were staying at the hotel. We regularly have requests from guests who wish to sit with newly found friends and the majority of the time we can oblige. Single travellers are always seated with other...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from our third National holiday at the Claymore hotel. We had a beautiful re-refurbished room overlooking Loch Long. (It is worth paying the extra for a scenic view.) The room was large with a comfy king sized bed. The en suite included a shower cubicle all re-fitted, but the only downside was that the shower pressure wasn't great....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R J
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I'm delighted to read that this was your 3rd visit to the hotel. We must be doing something right!! I'm working on the pressure for the showers in the old building - when the new thermostatic showers were installed the pressure decreased. Hope fully this can be rectified soon. The bay inclusive...

england cleveland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my partner have stayed at this hotel before so we knew what to expect, a lovely hotel with the beautiful view of the loch and the Alps straight ahead of you as you look out of the hotel. (Cannot get any better). Our room could have been updated a little but it was clean and the maid came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hodgson24
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay. I'm delighted to read that you had a nice break - February is always a good time to escape after all the previous couple of months festivities. I hope you can come back in the summer months and enjoy the hotel to it's full potential!! Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at the claymore hotel and had a great time. Beautiful location, good food and excellent value. Upgraded to scenic room which was worth the extra just to sit up in bed with a view of loch long. A return visit is on the cards!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your picturesque view of the loch!! We all look forward to your return. Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 3rd trip to the hotel, we got the room we requested and again we're very pleased with the overall holiday The national holiday coach driver Doug was excellent and really made our holiday We will definately be returning again in 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments on trip advisor. Doug is a great driver with plenty of charm!! Hope to see you back soon! Kind regards, Gary Watson

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 5 day holiday 3-3-17 and stayed at the claymore hotel what a fab time we had Katrina was our driver she was very helpful the staff -food-entertainment was great the views from the hotel of Loch Long was amazing This is one trip I would advise anyone to go on with national holidays the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureenraspin49
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for our 10 out of 10! We must be doing something right! Kind regards, Gary Watson.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the whole experience of our five day break was very friendly and interesting....had experience of three drivers who kept us entertained and well informed.There was a problem with the bus but it was handled smoothly and professionally . The hotel itself was clean and our rooms very warm, if there was a problem it was that the entertainment area was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joyce W
Gary W, General Manager at Claymore Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor. I'm sorry that you found the function room cold - it's normally the opposite! I'm delighted to read that you can't wait to come back. Kind regards, Gary Watson.

647 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (647)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (69)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (311)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arrochar
0.3 km away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,070 reviews
2.4 km away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
740 reviews
22.3 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
12.6 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
16.5 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Claymore Hotel

Address: Arrochar | G83 7BB, Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7BB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Arrochar
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Arrochar, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Claymore Hotel staff and other travellers.
63 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (63)

Questions? Get answers from Claymore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best to ensure a room with shower, some had baths but no shower”
 of 5 bubbles geoffq71, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room with a Loch view worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles 416rj, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the front for the views”
 of 5 bubbles maureenraspin49, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay for the upgraded rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles UTO1867, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“nice and quiet in the rooms and warm they had extra blankets in the room if you needed them lovely and clean rooms .”
 of 5 bubbles vienna37, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5