We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glendale Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glendale Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Glendale Guest House
 Click to rate
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent an enjoyable evening at the Glendale. It's located five minutes or so from the ferry terminal, and is close to the downtown area featuring numerous pubs and restaurants. It also is close to Rothesay Castle. They have an extensive breakfast selection, ranging from a full Scottish Breakfast, Vegetarian items. There was a little road noise, but not enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colonelthom
Gullane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed there with my elderly, non-English speaking parents and my children. The owners were very nice and catered to nearly every of our needs. The family room on the second floor has the most amazing view, and the sea-facing room on the first floor is very nice also. Even my parents, who are quite picky about beds, slept very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xavier D
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Decor throughout is beautiful. Room was stunning, clean, and bed was comfy. There is a gorgeous loungeroom with leather chairs and a window seat where you can sit and look out over the water. Owner very nice and helpful with suggestions for places for dinner and places to see. Breakfast was lovely, hot and very tasty. The Brioche with salmon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn D
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Great B&B clean friendly, great breakfast. Will return. Good location, great for walking at the front and nice walk into town. Room nice and bathroom good. Visit the castle and loads of places to eat out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
Damascus
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Comfortable stay as a family of 5 in this well-located Victorian B&B. The owner very bravely served us a fantastic breakfast on his own as his wife was poorly - brioche and scrambled eggs, fresh melon... The carpet itself is worth the journey!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malikamouse
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

My husband and I booked this hotel for the weekend (2 nights) we were unable to make it to the hotel on the Friday night and tried to contact the hotel to let them know, but were unable. My husband called the hotel on the Saturday morning to say that we were on our way to stay the second night...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Lady_SJ_of_Caithness
glenrothesay, Owner at Glendale Guest House, responded to this review

The only thing that I is Disgraceful is your review You booked our accommodation back in May via Booking.com, yes for two nights on Aug Bank holiday weekend, you made no attempt to contact us we had 17 guests arriving on same day as you, so the phone was maned all day, the phone we have recorded all calls Made...

Reviewed 7 August 2016

Beautiful decor, spotlessly clean and tidy, impressive breakfast menu, great location with a stunning view of the sea. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and obviously work really hard to make sure their guests have a pleasant stay. Would definitely book here again and could not recommend highly enough

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DL G
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Quick overnight stay with my 2 boys before heading to the Open golf at Royal Troon. Welcomed by the owner and offered clear guidelines on timings etc. Location is stunning overlooking the sea and we had a triple room (no 10) with the same view which was lovely. As we had to check out before breakfast started the owners kindly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This guest house cannot be faulted. The owners are incredibly welcoming, friendly and happy to assist with anything. The room me and my boyfriend stayed in on the first floor at the front of the building was stunning, a great size and a fantastic view of the bay. Loved the little communal lounge too. Gorgeous, charming place - didn't want...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Luna W
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Great wee guest house beautiful scenery good location five minutes from ferry port fantastic weekend owners nice and friendly rooms lovely breakfast nice made to feel welcome by everyone in and about this lovely wee town will certainly be back thanks glendale and rosthey xxxxxxxxx

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fishliss

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.3 km away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
884 reviews
0.6 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
233 reviews
30.0 km away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
301 reviews
0.0 km away
Howards Way Guest House
Howards Way Guest House
#13 of 19 in Rothesay
49 reviews
0.7 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Address: 20 Battery Place, Rothesay PA20 9DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: ₹ 5,183 - ₹ 8,487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Guest House Rothesay, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glendale Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Morristown, New Jersey
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Glendale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs room facing the water.”
colonelthom, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The best view is from the top floor family room.”
xavierd824, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room 1 or the bedroom directly above it for bay windows with a great view.”
peaches168, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 doesn't have a view but the bed is comfortable and the room is quiet. Guest lounge is only next door with a view.”
fi132015, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Room 1 had a brilliant sea view. We were in room 2 that overlooked an alleyway but was quiet.”
bopbops38, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5