We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
See the most recent reviews
Showing 886: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Really enjoyed this time awaywith shearing holidays great food good room pity about the view walk out the front doorfantasticview of mountains great friendly staff wet cold and windy driver Simon went out of his way to please

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen W
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely posting and as Simon the driver is here again this weekend I will pass your comments on to him. As you say great view from the front of the hotel just a pity the sun did'nt shine you would have got to see the bay in its full glory. I will pass your kind remarks...

Reviewed 29 March 2015

From the outside, this hotel looks amazing and sets a tone that speaks of grandeur. Unfortunately, once inside, things get a bit disappointing. Our problems started when we walked into our room. I instantly felt like we'd been put into what must once have been a stationary cupboard. The room was tiny and poorly heated and no matter what, we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mahanon
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Many thanks for your posting it was myself that you spoke to on your departure and as promised I informed customer care of your complaint. Again my apologisies for the problems you had with breakfast the member of staff in question has beeen spoken to. Thank you again for your comments.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Having spent 3 nights at this hotel I have to agree with many others, from the outside this hotel looks splendid but unfortunately the inside doesn't match. We only went once to the evening entertainment but the singer wasn't very good but then again some of the older people were singing along. The meals were just fine as were the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyafk
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Thank your for taking the time to write your review. Its a pity weather was so awful it would have been nice for you to see our lovely island at its best. The small bakery you mentioned is where we get our rolls and bread from and yes indeed very good. Thank you again for your comments.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Brilliant 4 day break. The hotel was comfortable but in need of a make over. The staff were brilliant, James provided some great entertainment. The bedroom was spacious and the bed was comfortable the seats in the room were odd a tubular metal chair and stool??? The food was Ok but someone should tell the chef what veg they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bri J
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great comments about the staff we really do appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on our site. James is on tonight so I will make sure I pass your comments on to him. Hope to see you back at the Glenburn

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2015

This is the second time we've been so it can't be bad,it's true the hotel does need some attention,creaky floorboard's,slightly worn carpet's,the place is over a hundred year's old,think of it as an adventure.The hotel is in a fantastic position with view's that are second to none.The people who work there look after you great,though we did have a problem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank royjphillips
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great posting so much appreciated as you say views from the hotel are second to none. My apologises your waitress seemed to disappear but will look in to this and also the issues that you had with the shower. Big thank you for lovely comments about the staff and the entertainment I will be sure to...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Have recently stayed here with a Shearings coach trip. We were amazed how cheap the trip was, so probably should have expected a poor experience. The hotel, as stated by many others was in dire need of decoration and maintenance. As also said by others the staff were all pleasant and obliging, they must get so embarrassed by the complaints....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stantonbybridge
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but sorry to see that you did not enjoy what the hotel had to offer. I will certainaly look in to all the issues that you had with the bedroom my apologisies once again that you found your break not to your liking. Many thanks for your comments about the staff.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015

The Hotel has very good staff Bayview hotels require to spend a lot of money to Refurbish this hotel from the 1970s time period is what most of the rooms resemble the best of the rooms are the superior rooms , windows are filthy paint work required every where.Investment by the company better lighting the hotel has the most stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spartcus
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on our site. We actually do have refurbishment going on in both inside and outside of the hotel which is ongoing but it is a huge building and this takes time. Thank you for great comments about the staff they are a great team and also the entertainment I will...

Reviewed 22 March 2015 via mobile

Booked into glenburn hotel on bute , yes room rate was reasonable, but Iam afraid it was dated and no help to find our room. Took us a while to get there. When we went for breakfast it was made before we where asked what we wanted to eat , very poor , maybe good for the bus tours that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kenneth J
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

So sorry to see that you found your break not to your liking. But we do appreciate you taking the time to psot your review on our site.

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel is dark needs a few more lights in certain areas. Our room 212 was dark but did have a sea view, bedside light needs attention wires loose. Unable to open window very stuffy. Shower was either scalding or cold no in between, bin in bathroom broken, towel rail never worked looked burnt out to be honest. Waiting staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlietango147
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Thank you for your posting and your lovely comments about Krysztof who is still waiting for his eye operation. I have looked in to the issue you had with the towel rail and it is working the green light actually has to be turned off for the rail to come on. My apologisies you had problems with the shower but...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2015

After reading some unkind reviews We were not expecting very much of the Hotel but what a lovely surprise from the efficient booking in, the spacious, spotless twin room with excellent bathroom. Room 102 which has a wonderful sea view and very comfy beds with pristine white bedding suited us perfectly. From the large airy dinning room with helpful friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mary B
The-Glenburn, Deputy Manager at The Glenburn Hotel Ltd, responded to this review

Great posting great comments so thank you for that. We do believe that we provide good value for money breaks so thank you for mentioning that. By all accounts you really enjoyed what the hotel had to offer and I will pass on to all concerned your kind comments. Many thanks again hope you will return to see us again...

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (389)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.9 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
233 reviews
0.5 km away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
83 reviews
1.7 km away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
2,072 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
91 reviews
0.4 km away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: ₹ 6,058 - ₹ 11,951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Burntwood, England, United Kingdom
Leeds Yorkshire England
Preston
22 days ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views r beautiful but other members of our trip got a view of the gardens and got some visitors inc baby deer and rabbits”
422jemmad, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were at back of hotel but still had a great view, sea views have supplements but we were very happy with what we got.”
Coachtourer, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to have a sea view - it'll cost you though . Oh yes and it needs to be a re-furbished one . That might cost you too .”
johniej2017, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms have excellent sea views.”
dennydee22, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ASk for one that has been refurbished!”
winnie44, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5