We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

856 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 856: English reviews
Start your review of The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
 Click to rate
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

While the hotel was nice, staff were lovely its the food that let this stay down for me. I went with a tour company and id never go again. We had a look at our dinner menu and i fancied the fish. It read......beer battered cod with a minted pea puree, i was imagining that as like a fish from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myramoo2
Rotherham
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a five day break with shearings. We had been before but wanted to see what a change in ownership had brought. Even though the second floor was a no go area because of the refurbishment that was going on we were never disturbed by the workmen, what they are doing is lovely. we had a refurbished room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaylovingnan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely grand hotel on a beautiful island that time forgot, Bute. Entertainment great, food okay. Bar prices expensive as you would expect. Restaurant and cleaning staff excellent, but reception staff indifferent and even after three complaints about bathroom fan not working nothing was done about it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

lovely hotel , breakfast good choice . dinner excellent. Nice and friendly staff , spotless throughout. cabaret very good.bar prices to high ,£3 ,65 .a pint. also someone opened our door with key while we were resting at 4 . 30 pm then closed it again for whatever reason , not nice reported it , they couldn't explain it .will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bigbopper2014
Management response:

Many thanks for posting your lovely review on our site. Will start with apologising for someone coming in to your room. Other than housekeeping would be no reason to enter your bedroom so a little confused. Great comments about your stay and we hope to see you back at the Glenburn in the future. Thanks again for your review. Kind...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Carpets new and soft. Bathroom awaiting upgrade but again very clean. Lovely views on third floor out to sea and passing ferries. Food delicious. Entertainment good and hilariously funny at times. Some local children came to show us Scottish dancing which was a highlight. Would recommend this trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ecoprincess24
Management response:

Wow what a fantastic review and a huge thank you for sharing your experience on our site. Great to see you got to sample one of our new bedrooms which as you say beautiful. We have more getting done at present so hopefully lots more happy customers. And thank you for your kind comments on the service that you received...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Glenburn Hotel is now having a great deal with Newly refurbished Room+ Mystery Gift. Lobby, Restaurants have been upgraded. Brand new furniture, mattresses, new toilets & All rooms in flat Screen LED TV. Make sure you call directly to get Package Deal & secure the newly refurbished rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zheng M
Reviewed 1 week ago

since the new owners arrived they are refurbishing the place. advertising and events within this hotel have rocketed. they hold tribute nights and it is great! food is now openly advertised and served and cannot be faulted. before the new owners you never heard much from this hotel. nothing advertised, no nights held for locals to also attend. what a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LMGls
Management response:

What a lovely review big thank you from the team at the Glenburn. We have lots going on and more plans for the future so very exciting times ahead of us. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again for your review. Kind Regards Debbie

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the island is beautifull but don't ever go with shearings coach travel when I booked shearings owned this hotel however between booking and and arriving for the new year break it had been sold. we was not informed about this so wasn't given the opertunity to either continue or cancel. we were not given what we was promised and on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen Lane H
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our site. We are sorry to see that you were left so disappointed with your stay. We are getting major refurbishing done throughout the hotel and it is all looking fantastic. Should you decide to stay with us again call us direct at the hotel where we will be...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Hotel in need of refurbishment, as a single traveler with National holidays, I get the usual rubbish room, literally overlooking the rubbish bins. On complaining to the not so friendly receptionist, I was offered the room opposite, but at a charge of £7 extra per night, which is on top of my extra single supplement for being a single traveler....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gazorro
Management response:

Thank you for your posting, can I explain the only other room that was available was a sea view room which is a supplement of £7 per person night. We could not offer you anything else as we were full. We do have a great taxi service on the Island and we have a free phone in the hotel should...

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017

I booked again for the last New Year with Shearings. I had a filthy room in the hotel they use in Tarbet. I complained at the time but was told no other room available. I was offered £50 off my next holiday so thought probably a " one off" NOT...I have photos of this room and previous ( 422..Single)...I once...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Charlotte331
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time post your review on our site. I am sorry to see that you were left so disappointed with your bedroom. The room is a little tired but I would say we don't get a lot of complaints about cleanliness. Thank for you comments about the staff and the food and I will pass on...

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (336)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
1.0 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
226 reviews
1.7 km away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
291 reviews
20.7 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
296 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
86 reviews
0.4 km away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exuding an air of grandeur and charm, this impressive Victorian sandstone Hotel was built in 1892. Set in an outstanding position above its own terraced gardens, the Glenburn enjoys a superb panorama across the waters of Rothesay Bay to the Cowal Peninsula. Step inside the hotel and you'll be greeted by spacious well-proportioned rooms which offer a level of comfort which should immediately put you at ease. With a wealth of outdoor pursuits on the isle, from fishing to bowling and from golf to walking, it's up to you how you choose to relax at the Glenburn... socialise in the bar, escape to the quiet lounge, indulge in a game of snooker or just enjoy the evening entertainment. The town's shops, harbour, medieval castle ruins and sporting facilities are just a pleasant walk away along the palm fringed promenade. The hotel contains some guest parking which is located at the front and side of the building. The Hotel is about to embark on a major renovation on bedrooms and ground floor lounges due for completion by February 2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Glenburn Hotel Ltd

Address: Mount Stuart Road, Rothesay PA20 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: ₹ 5,827 - ₹ 11,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenburn Hotel Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Glenburn Hotel Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenburn Hotel Rothesay
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd Rothesay, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Glenburn Hotel Ltd staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sea view, we had a generator outside our window!”
 of 5 bubbles myramoo2, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Third floor with sea view was brilliant but avoid 303 as the view is blocked to the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles ecoprincess24, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for Sea View, Stunning View”
 of 5 bubbles 557zhengm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“do not go until its been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“facing the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles gazorro, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5