We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothesay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Esplanade Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 41: English reviews
Start your review of The Esplanade Hotel
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lunch was very Scottish, Mussels and Curry! both were great. The food was excellent and as I am dairy and wheat intolerant I did ask about what options were available and they could not be nicer or more helpful. Very filling and very well priced. View was excellent over the water and along the shore. Could not ask for more...

1Thank Jacquie C
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Great food from a large menu. Courteous helpful and pleasant staff. Nothing is too much trouble, even requesting a different vegetable from menu. Great views onto ferry terminal and Guildford Square. Decor a bit old fashioned and tired but clean. Staff constantly cleaning tables and crumbs etc from floor of dining room. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Gabbyt745
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We visited Bute on a very wet day. We were in need of cheering up and good food. Unfortunately we found neither at this hotel. The toilet doors are exceptionally narrow and I fell forward on a step that had no warning entering the ladies. The staff were ectremely pleasant and helpful or there would have been no star rating...

1Thank crockettmegbrodie413
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Staff very welcoming and coped well with extremely busy lunch service. Very extensive menu with good range of daily specials too. All dishes served were quite large portions but managed to eat everything - had a lovely selection of desserts but unfortunately unable to sample these. Extremely reasonably priced. Décor a bit dated but a great view from the front...

Thank 900caroleb
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Just back from three days on Bute, visited all three days, twice for late lunch / early evening meal and once for an evening meal. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much effort and they are very accommodating. The food is of a constant high standard, the building is a little tired but then the food...

Thank Graeme G
Hudson River Valley, New York
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Stopped in with my cousins while visiting the Isle. The place was busy and had a great atmosphere to it. We were seated quickly, had a nice view outside. The staff is quick, friendly and very helpful. The menu has a very nice selection of items. Very reasonable pricing. We had a special fish supper, haggis, neeps and tattis that...

Thank Sue P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We visited the Esplanade for lunch and as it was a cold day opted for the macaroni and chips. The food was piping hot which was a bonus as lukewarm food always puts me off returning. The Esplanade is a nice place for lunch. Should we return to Rothesay I would be happy to return to the Esplanade.

Thank marionweir
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Went over for the day and asked a local for a recommendation for lunch the esplanade was suggested. Well the lunch was excellent, Home made curried sweet potato soup then we had another starter scallops black pudding and bacon with salad absolutely scrumptious. Followed by spotted dick which did not disappoint. Two glasses of wine all for £33.30. Excellent value...

Thank Janice G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

This is a typical old, tired but clean establishment, the pub/restaurant is very busy and food looks good, I can say breakfast was fine! There is no double glazing and unfortunately doesn't help with the drunken revellers passing by the main square through the night which did get very noisy. The bed had a plastic protective cover that crinkles every...

2Thank Barbara_C187
figaro15, Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Barbara for your review. You are correct, the restaurant is always busy and it is where the locals eat. Yes, we are a bit old fashioned but very clean and the rooms are also reasonably comfy. What happened with the bed we do not know. These are expensive beds and we use mattress protectors (not plastic) for good hygiene...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Lovely welcome and good service. We had the haddock which was excellent but the chips were not as good. We were told that it was the type of potato. Overall lunch was very good and I would recommend this resturant.

2Thank undian

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
0.1 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rothesay
226 reviews
0.9 km away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
856 reviews
11.3 km away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
291 reviews
1.2 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 19 in Rothesay
86 reviews
0.4 km away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 19 in Rothesay
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade Hotel is situated prominently beside the harbour with spectacular views over Rothesay Bay. Offering good quality budget accommodation and excellent food, it is very popular with groups interested in fishing, walking and golfing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: 4 High Street, Rothesay PA20 9AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Price Range: ₹ 2,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Esplanade Hotel Rothesay, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only Had Lunch In The Restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 622jacquiec, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay, only ate in restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles Gabbyt745, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not sure we only had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles crockettmegbrodie413, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get the ensuite room number 12”
 of 5 bubbles Barbara_C187, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Didn't stay - only lunched!”
 of 5 bubbles LeoneCumbria, 12 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5