We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tailrace Inn

12 reviews
Save
Traveller (1)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (4)
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good16%
  • Average16%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible8%
2 Oct 2017
“The place was fine”
31 Jul 2017
“Traditional pub food at good prices”
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (12)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
5
2
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
5
2
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great pub on the West Higlighand way! Friendly bar staff and a GREAT pint on Heineken! Couldn’t ask for more if you are after a real highland experience friendly locals and tourists could not complain!

1  Thank Ashley P
Response from Christopher M, Owner at The Tailrace InnResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Ashley, hope to see you next time you guys are up. Chris

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The Tailrace Inn is a fine place to stay. The staff was friendly and the bar was nice. It was however compared to the other places we stayed at along the West Highland Way a little overpriced compared with what we got. The shower is...More

Thank Joost_vanPN
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Sitting in Kinlochleven on the second last night of our West Highland Way walk where we had hiked and carried our camping equipment for 125km. What better way to fuel our last day and last 24km than a full cooked breakfast and according to the...More

3  Thank melzyq17
Response from Christopher M, Owner at The Tailrace InnResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, We are sorry that you were unable to have breakfast with us last summer, it certainly wasn't that we no longer cater for non-residents but unfortunately on that particular day a full breakfast room of residents eating at the same time saw us unable...More

Reviewed 19 September 2017

I could go into chapter and verse about all that we found bad with this place but will summarise by saying if you are going to work in the hospitality industry please learn to be hospitable. Also, cats and dogs, cute as they might be,...More

3  Thank William S
Response from Christopher M, Owner at The Tailrace InnResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, We are extremely disappointed that your visit to the Tailrace Inn left you with such a bad impression. None of this was brought to my attention at the time, as if it had I would like to think we could of rectified the situation....More

Reviewed 5 August 2017

My son and his family had a one night stay in this lovely friendly hotel ,the service was excellent,brilliant food and cater for kids if required and affordable prices.would definitely go back and will recommend to family and friends.

Thank Pauline M
Response from Christopher M, Owner at The Tailrace InnResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Pauline, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. Hope to see you again.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 117 - US$ 161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 117 - US$ 161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (4)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Tailrace Inn staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Family room was great"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing